Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Minister Of Interior Tunji-Ojo Announces When Automation Of Passport Application Will Begin

Wednesday, January 03, 2024

Minister Of Interior Tunji-Ojo Announces When Automation Of Passport Application Will Begin

The Minister of Interior, Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, says automation of passport application process will begin from January 8, 2024, and Nigerians will be able to apply and complete their passport application process online without human contact.

“We are good to go live,” Tunji-Ojo said Monday in Abuja during an inspection of facilities of the Nigeria Immigration Service (NIS) alongside the Comptroller General (CG) of the Service, Wura-Ola Adepoju.

“We are starting the training and on January 8, the solution will be live and direct for Nigerians to have a good feel, a sweet experience based on the Renewed Hope of Mr President.

We have been able to reduce human contact in passport acquisition to the minimum,” the minister said, adding that the new initiative will enhance the security architecture of the country as well as the comfort and convenience of Nigerians.

34 comments:

1. Candy, this is new year. Pls be optimistic. 2 of my colleagues, filled the online application forms, and paid online, chose where they wanted to go for capturing. All from the comfort of our office. I was even surprised when i saw this, cos they have started na, except he meant even the capturing will be online. It’s a good development.

2. Anon, I am hoping it will work, cos going to their office is really stressful.

3. Milkshakes God will shame some people that want know good for this nation.

1. Is it the same procedure for renewal? Mine has expired and I want to renew it.

2. Same process for renewal. I did it online for my beloved wife.

1. Yes, he's trying, i just collected my passport today. Captured on the 8th of November and received a call from the passport office, this morning to pick it up, I spent just 30 minutes there. The process is improving & I hope it gets better...

4. God bless you sir. Good work

5. It's about time.
    A very welcome development👌

6. Good one oooo but what about if one make mistakes how will it be resolved?

1. Aren't you putting in your own personal details?

Read over before you click submit or is that also too difficult for some of us?

2. The same way it is resolved now, just online.

7. I hope they can do this all over to reduce the human contact with undisciplined staff embassy staff. Very unruly staffs in our embassy.

8. Well done. Make I get ready to apply.

9. What if you need to make a correction on your passport

1. Now that it is done manually, how do u make correction when mistakes are made? It’s the same thing. Just online.

10. 😂🤣🤣 Naija🙄dey play

11. Chika(hello iya boys)3 January 2024 at 20:59

Wow
    This very Niceeee

12. will it also be the same for those in the diaspora? I have not renewed my Naija passport for decades because of the wahala involved, I no get that kind strength. I know I will have to do a new one, got my birth certificate and everything, but anytime I think of the Nigerian embassy strength, I just fashi jo. If this is true, it will encourage me try again.