Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Story Of GANI FAWEHINMI ,Nigeria's Most Jailed Human Rights Activist

Saturday, December 02, 2023

The Story Of GANI FAWEHINMI ,Nigeria's Most Jailed Human Rights Activist

When Chief Gani's 14-year old first child asked for his dad's support to go to the Nigeria Defence Academy taking the NDA's form to his father to sign, Chief Gani left the form, reached for the cane and flogged the young man for planning to join his tormentors.

From Kaduna prison to Jos prison, from Gombe prison to portharcourt prison, from Kuje prison to Ikoyi prison, Chief Gani Fawehinmi was the most jailed human right activist
For raising his voice against injustice, his books were confiscated, his library set ablaze, his house and chambers were always raided and he was assaulted on Mobolaji Bank Anthony Way in Lagos by Naval officers.
His travails from security agents never dissuaded him from defending the poor and the weak in the society.
"I defended the students of University of Ibadan in 1971 when one of the students, Kunle Adepeju, was shot dead by the police under Gowon’s regime and the government of the day set up a Commission of enquiry headed by Justice B. O. Kazim and I represented the students for 5 months in that tribunal of enquiry. In 1976, I defended the students of University of Benin against the wrath of the military government.

In 1983, under Shehu Shagari, there was a peaceful demonstration by more than 4000 students of the University of Maiduguri against the misdirected high handedness of the leadership of Professor Jubril Aminu, (former Nigerian Ambassador to the U.S.)

Several students were expelled and their education illegally truncated. I fought to the Supreme Court to obtain victory. This is just to mention few of my struggles for justice." Gani recalled.
They always came for him. He was arrested on his 50th birthday. "I witnessed one of the times they came to arrest him in the house. They were about armed 20 policemen. It was as if they were coming to take a criminal and they brought a big Black Maria.

He told them, ‘Gentlemen how are you? Are you ready?’ He told my mum to take care of us and he followed them" His daughter, Idiat recalled. Due to incessant arrest Chief Gani always kept a bag with toothpaste, toothbrush and the Qur'an with him-always ready for jail.

When he was asked the possibility of defending Ralph Uwazurike he said: "If am approached by Uwazurike to take up his case, I will fly straight to wherever he is or, if I cannot go there by air, I will go there by road.

If I cannot go there by road, I will trek to defend his right to hold an opinion because freedom of speech is a fundamental right. Because he has the right to pursue any objective and if they feel that his objective is criminal,

then he has the right to defend himself in the court of law and we shall defend the issue of his fundamental rights". The incorruptible Chief Gani was able to speak truth to powers because he had nothing to hide. He once said;

"I have never got any contracts from any local government, state government or from federal government. I don’t even know the house of ministers. I never met any Head of State in my life. I’ve never met any minister in my life.
I’ve never submitted any application for contract anywhere in my life. I have never submitted any application for contract at any level whatsoever."

Chief Gani was Unbiased, detribalized and unsentimental patriot. When his own daughter was working in his Chambers, she either resumed before/at 7am or be locked outside the gate like any latecomer.

Chief Gani's lung began to deteriorate while doctors were busy focusing on his heart and blood pressure. It got so bad that he called his cardiologist, Dr Mike Fadayomi, his childhood friend from the age of four.

He is one of the best cardiologist in this world. He directed Chief Gani to a radiologist to do the X-ray first. When he (radiologist) came with the wet X-ray and showed it to Gani and Fadayomi, the cardiologist shouted;

"Gani something dangerous is wrong with your left lung. You must run to London. I don't understand this" When Chief Gani got to London the doctors told him that he was among the 5% patients in the world who don't smoke or drink and yet had lung cancer.
Gani narrated his ordeals to the doctors in London and one of them hinted that his "horrible detention" must have triggered the lung failure.

The human right activist was asked to prepare for the worst and Gani wept. To prevent politicians from "hijacking" his burial, Gani bought his casket while alive and made cash available for his funeral with instructions to his children about how he liked his funeral to be.

Chief Gani Fawehinmi literally lost his voice to the ravaging lung cancer before his Sun finally set on 9th September 2009. And Nigeria hasn't been able to find a replacement for that voice of justice and courage till date.

From Nigeria Stories on X

29 comments:

1. Continue to rest in peace chief Gani

2. There can never be another Gani Fawehinmi or another Fela . These 2 were a torn in the heart of the Nigeria military. I grew up in the ‘80s and goosh , no one dared say a word when a military man in uniform is talking . They we the voice of ordinary people with absolutely no appetite for material things. Tai Solarin deserves a notable mention too but he was more of an education reformist than human right activist . They could have been billionaires but they chose to stay with the peoples conscience and be their voice. They shall forever be remembered.
    Permit me to say the likes of Wole Soyinka, Femi Falana fluttered in the middle and they took sides with the ‘democrats’ , forgetting that these same democrats are military in agbada .

3. 😞 too sad.
    May his soul continue to rest in peace, Amen.

4. Chief Gani voice of the voiceless
    The only true fighter of the masses
    May your soul continue to rest in peace.

5. The legendary Gani! Continue to rest in power sir πŸ™Œ
    Thanks Stella for refreshing our memories with this timeless history

6. Chika(hello iya boys)2 December 2023 at 14:27

Rest well SirrrπŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―

7. A selfless and brave icon!Keep resting Chief Gani.

8. I remember festus keyamo used to be somewhat of a superhero back then but today... It is well

1. I remember festus was a young lawyer under Gani then but alas, Fawehinmi would would be turning in his grave right now.

9. Wow this is my first time, reading so much about this man.

10. The real "soldier"✊. May his soul continue to rest in peace πŸ’™πŸ™

11. A real patriot. May his soul continue to rest in peace.

12. He came, saw and conquered. What a great man. May his soul continue to rest in peace.

13. Chief Gani, our freedom fighter! Rest In Perfect PeaceπŸ™

EUM Cali

14. Continue to rest on voice of the voiceless,chief Gani
    Stella thanks for bringing memories back.

15. The Great Icon, continue to rest in peace...

16. Wow! Continue to rest in peace

17. Yes ,Nigeria had yet to see another Gani. He came to this world for a purpose.

18. I love this history lessons..he was a great man..very rare

19. Gani & other progressives partnered with Nigerian university students to fight the brutal military back then. Kunle Adepeju was murdered in 1971. You all think End SARs was the ultimate, we had years of sustained fights against successive military regimes led by Gani, Beko his brother, Tai Solarin, Soyinka, etc. Fela dealt with them through defiance with excellent meaningful music while WS & some professors were the progressive wing on the campuses back then, like US campuses are the bastions of progressivism these days. That was us. Even up until the early 80s as an undergrad in UI, students were incorruptible partners to the likes of Gani, Tai Solarin, Fela, Beko Ransome Kuti, Soyinka, Chima, Balarabe Musa etc. As a young teenager I remember singing “ we no go gree o” with UI students in one protest or the other & as it’s happening in UI, be assured that Ife, Nsukka, Benin, Unilag , ABU are doing it, in Unity! I will never forget the night news broke in UI that Awo had died… Almost all the students of all ethnicities from Queens Hall to Zik to Idia to Mellamby trooped out singing “Babangida NA goat o, omo eran, Awo NA hero, Awo NA hero, great UITES Awo NA hero”! That was the intellectual level teenagers & 20s operated at back then. Not yansh or bbl or yahoo. We were not poor or rich but incorruptible. Millionaires were rare a $:a naira! There was no billionaire in the world at the time! The invention of the internet by the US military unleashed wealth creation on a global scale later on. This generation of university students are fighting with guns at their convention while looters are ruining their commonwealth.

These historical clips are good but todays youth should learn from them. American school children are taught their history all through grade school(February is black history month) but Nigerians have no solid objective well researched history books for grade school detailing 1950 till 1999 when the 3rd republic began hence the abuse of heroes by ignorant people. The person insinuating WS detoured does not know history at all. IBB offered him FRSC which was one of his ideas, tthinking he will compromise. Accidents were becoming very common and WS was for road safety. He gave conditions and left to avoid mud. He never stole. Look up his simple home innAbeokuta for a man who won $1m Nobel when millionaires were few decades ago. BAT fooled progressives as many who studied abroad are still fooling many like the “oncologist” who was recently jailed for molesting his niece did. He was never an oncologist in the UK, was about to be in trouble for the same offence but he ran to Naija & rebranded in Nigeria like some musicians did. There are no questions asked and no background checks. When IBB annulled June 12 Abiola victory, Soyinka formed NADECO with the likes of late Rear Admiral Ndubuisi Kanu, Ezeife, Adesanya, Fasoranti, and Tinubu pretending to be a pro-democracy, US educated progressive joined them, for his agenda. The rest is history.

He knew him during that fight for June 12 when they trekked or hopped on okada to Benin Republic to escape assassinations in the fight for June 12 while western embassies waited with decoys handing them passports to escape a brutal dictatorship of Abacha.

Not a BAT fan but he did join the June 12 fight & could have died like Kudi Abiola but looking back I hope he was not a mole. It’s a shame that there is no comprehensively researched history books and no business minded person among the youths in the arts is thinking of recording audiobooks by these actors still alive. It’s not as easy as comedy skits. Abe Lincoln, Benjamin Franklin, MLK Jr died centuries and decades ago but the West knows the importance of history we do not. Thanks for this tribute to late Chief Gani Fawehinmi.

1. πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

2. Hmmm πŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏthis is a legend talking

3. Thank you for the lessonπŸ‘πŸΌ.

Mystic

20. Hmmmn ... with all these names you reeled out, some ignorant children are fond of referring to the Yoruba people as cowards ... and we are yet to see true human rights activists from their tribe.

21. …. Continued by Anon 06:36. Yorubaland got educated first, it’s not debatable, tasted the only western style governance under Awo, a true hero with US style school lunches being served in grade schools as at 1959 & the 1st of every progressive institution in subsaharan Africa. Abeokuta, had the 1st high school & produced the Funmilayo Fela, Beko Kutis, their cousin WS, a Kuti maternally. Yorubas are very far from cowards, try the intellectual route 1st, understood that the problems created by the military were not ethnic & always looked for allies in other parts of multiethnic πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬. A great hero I omitted was late Chief Anthony Enahoro, from the then Midwest. Aminu Kano from the north & J.S Tarka from the middle belt. The struggle against wickedness is not ethnic. It is the age old fight since the garden of Eden, someone wanting more than God wants them to have. The military was brutal. I am saddened that those who claimed they understood as students back then are not bothered by the plight of today’s πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ who has no “connection”. Our parents, uncles, etc studied in the UK & US in the 60s on government money sometimes & returned to Nigeria. Even up until late 80s you rarely find people who studied & stayed back. It’s the opposite now. Why are we not concerned about each other? Hispanics in the US have a saying, “La Raza”, meaning for the race or for their people. They have become the 2nd largest population in the US, overtaking blacks. They look out for the good of all, never shy of fighting for new immigrants rights.

Nigerian youths amaze me when they hail & “oooh” & admire those we would have booed out of campuses years ago. The fight is greed vs contentment. After stealing the funding for all the public universities, (ASUU salaries, funding for maintenance etc) they opened mostly glorified high schools with the recycled laundered loot to make profit. It is very concerning. Then they create artificial ethnic fights on who owns delineated geographical areas instead of using their loot over decades to develop & actually use the ports in PH, Calabar (the 1st capital), create land ports similar to Chicago land port in the Midwest of the US.
    The worst looting of any country in modern history happened in Nigeria & Congo (theirs by the west) but my issue is that the youths should go & record versions of authentic history from the remaining players before they go. Ndubuisi Kanu, Enahoro, Gani, Beko Kuti, Fela Kuti are gone but WS is alive & sharp, someone needs to book an appointment & record him for an audio history book. The arguments over the only truly commercial city/slum is depressing. Many countries have multiple developed cities so that political stories that do not align with geography & cartography do not get peddled as facts. Instead demand development of multiple ports that work thereby creating multiple “Lagoses”. Google the amount of containers handled at the land port of Chicago! Why not a land port in Enugu or Onitsha or Kano?
    College (university) youths should be UNITED as we were against the brutal military & can be. They have been impoverished with high school fees by the very people who got subsidized education from Nigeria with bursaries to go for summer & free food among others perks back then. Figure out how to overcome this among yourselves, contact successful Alums of your old University. Universities here are always raising funds (Endowments) from Alumni. UI, Ife, Nsukka, Unilag, ABU, etc have no reason to be run down. A school that produced a Nobelist, was a Campus of the University of London has no reason to lack endowments & Alum contributions. Many we know will gladly give back in scholarships to brilliant indigent but talented students, with Corp like PWC, KPMG etc as auditors of course. Sadly the structure of the current Alum association is more social than intellectual. The same goes for the oldest public universities. Organize, tap into it for books, scholarships, repainting, renovations, of halls & classes. Don’t let the inmates keep controlling the asylum.