Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Spyro Defends Performance In Church Amidst Loud Controversy

Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Singer Spyro Defends Performance In Church Amidst Loud Controversy

Nigerian singer Spyro, has reacted to controversy surrounding his performance at the Harvesters International Gospel Centre’s Christmas carol service in Lagos.

Spyro had faced backlash for performing his hit song “Only Fine Girl” during a drama presentation at the carol service.

Responding to the criticism in a post on his official X, Spyro wrote
 “Just saw myself and Pastor Bolaji has been getting dragged because I did a drama ministration in church. Let me make something very clear.
“I have been a member of Harvesters for over 7 years, and I serve in two departments. The video making rounds on the internet is off a drama I took part in at our annual carol service called Fantasia.
“The Carol was completely FREE for everyone. The tickets were free. Because I’m a celebrity doesn’t make me human? I can serve God like the rest of you. So please understand that I’m human, a Christian and I serve in a real church. Thanks.”

35 comments:

1. Thank God for your life Spyro

2. Thank God for your life Spyro

3. Evil hypocrites who alwaus have an opinion when it comes to the church.

4. God bless you
    Celebrities are also human, blood run through their vein.
    Abeg free them

5. Spyro attends harvesters church n he’s even a worker @management team.He join others to sweep n arrange chairs in d church every Saturday

6. Thank God for your life

7. Revival fire has left the church hence some of them pastors looks for entertainers or comedians to spice things up,some even results to doing jazz! Instead of the them to go back to the place of prayers,the secret place to commune with God, they're searching out in the world..Even if it's drama,why sing a circular song in the church? I saw the video and that if Portable own,I just SMH

1. Abegi
      You want us not to have fun jn church
      You lie

2. Paris let them continue...They forget that God does not change his standards

3. *resort* to... not 'result' to.

Your point is 💯% valid.

Sypro and Pastor Bolaji CHOOSE YE THIS DAT WHOM YOU WILL SERVE GOD MOST HIGH or the world.

8. Don't explain yourself to the hypocrites.🙄🙄🙄

9. Ok, I actually read they paid for tickets, good that they didn't pay.

1. And what if they did
      I just paid for Christmas concert in another church. Nothing wrong with it
      Don’t attend if you don’t want

10. Why are all these "Christians" complaining when secular musicians are invited to perform in church? Is it not the same "Christians" that abandoned the solemn mode of worship for the razzmattaz American gospel preachers style of preaching and worship, saying it's more in line with modernity. So why stop halfway?
    Last time Portable and Pasuma insisted on performing at a church, it was a full house with the worshippers singing along to these secular abi immoral songs.

1. Our Naija worship is bolder and louder than all America.

11. This comment has been removed by the author.

12. I watched the video and I don't think there was anything wrong or vulgar with his performance and the message that was passed across.

However people only see what they choose to see.

13. How markets Roman Catholic faithfuls, your Pope says gays union can be blessed now. I know so many ladies that are stranded now all because they wanted to marriage Catholics like them.
    One of my friends has five kids in this Tinubu times because they don’t use contraceptive.
    Pope dey eye one alter boy I guess .

1. How many do you know

2. You guys like to mock others and fir what

3. It's not mockery.

It's even heart-wrenching, imagine the same Pope leaving a standing order he shouldn't be buried in the Vatican when he dies.
      Something isn't right.

Read up the comments following the sack of the Democratic Aide filmed having anal sex in the US Senate building,the back lash from the Christian communities eh.
      Watch the video if you can.

Pastor Bolaji,side eyes at you o.
      If you know the guys Spyro wines and dines with,he won't mount your Diaz. Tufiakwa!

14. The way some Christians carry church matter, you will think they even live up to expectations. I know we expect church to have a standard, but let’s allow those who want to be saved come close. We like playing God always. Some will condem some songs sang in church, but will later pay to watch it outside.

15. Chika(hello iya boys)19 December 2023 at 15:30

Thou
    Shall
    NotJudge...
    As long As The song does not say anything immorality
    Thou
    Shall
    Not
    Judge
    Nah God know who dey serve him ooo

16. Christians are the most judgemental lots I've encountered. After Sunday service, some go visit boyfriend, knack, n later raise hands to pray at night.

1. It still doesn't make it right , there must be a line somewhere

2. But you judged portable when you saw the flyer that he will be performing in a celestial church.. nne rest

17. The business they are running needs good marketing.

You are the one deceiving yourself if you think the actor on stage is any better than you.

18. Supporters club the Day of the LORD will be like days of Noah and the fiery judgement of Sodom and Gomorrah. It will take you UNAWARES.
    Keep supporting ungodliness.

Jesus Christ said that the devil disguises as an angel of light.

CHRISTIANS ARE ALLOWED TO JUDGE ANYONE OR ANYTHING IN CHURCH.

1 Corinthians 5:12-13
    For what have I to do with judging those also who are outside? Do you not judge those who are inside? But those who are outside God judges. Therefore “put away from yourselves the evil person.”