Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu's Special Inestigator Indicts Ex President Buharis Officials Of N17.3 Trillion Fraud

Monday, December 25, 2023

President Tinubu's Special Inestigator Indicts Ex President Buharis Officials Of N17.3 Trillion Fraud

Jim Obazee, President Bola Tinubu’s special investigator trawling the books of the Central Bank of Nigeria, has accused Ibrahim Gambari and Zainab Ahmed of involvement in mismanaging over N17 trillion in public funds in connivance with Godwin Emefiele.

The two officials, who served respectively as chief of staff and finance minister under former President Muhammadu Buhari, were blamed for a series of questionable use of ways and means instrument of the CBN that left the country unable to account for N17.3 trillion.

“Stealing of public funds through advances to government, otherwise known as ways and means, constitutes a criminal offence,” Mr Obazee said in a memo to the president believed to have been delivered on December 20. “The sum of N17.369 trillion remains unaccounted for, as neither due appropriation nor approvals exist to support the diversion of public funds through this medium.”
“This constitutes an offence under the penal code as applicable in the Federal Capital Territory to which actors and conspirators, in this instance, are liable,” Mr Obazee added.

Mr Gambari declined comments when reached on Saturday. The former chief of staff appeared to be facing his first public controversy since Peoples Gazette reported how his son Bolaji Gambari was emerging as a top influence peddler following his father’s appointment. The October 2020 story infuriated the chief of staff, who was a top diplomat at the United Nations for decades, prompting him to order a protracted tethering of our website in Nigeria a few months later in January 2021. The Gazette has continued to fight the matter in court.

Between Mr Gambari and Mrs Ahmed, who was finance minister until the expiration of last administration in May, trillions of naira went unaccounted for after unauthorised appropriation, Mr Obazee said, adding that nearly N23 trillion in illegal spending was suspiciously authorised to be covered through conversion of Nigerian assets by the National Assembly. Mrs Ahmed also declined comments on Saturday.

The special investigator said the exploitation of ways and means was a criminal offence that should be severely punished under existing regulations of the central bank.

“The Supreme Court should be approached to nullify the approval that the 9th National Assembly gave to securitise the ways and means of N22.7 trillion,” Mr Obazee said, noting that it contravened Section 38 of the CBN Act, 2007.

President Bola Tinubu is yet to comment on the findings of the special investigator, whose report this week was the first from his office since he was appointed in July to look into years of corruption at the central bank and other federal institutions.

from peoples gazette

22 comments:

1. I’M NOT CONDONING CORRUPTION BUT UNFORTUNATELY IT IS WHAT IT IS IN NIGERIA FOR POLITICIANS TO BECOME A MULTI BILLIONAIRE ONCE THEY TAKE OFFICE. NONE OF THOSE POLITICIANS INCLUDING TINUBU HIMSELF IS INNOCENT. HOW DID TINUBU BECOME SO RICH AND HIS SON’S WIFE WITH NO SOURCE OF LUCRATIVE BUSINESS IS BUYINg A BAG WORTH N130,0000 MILLION AND SHE HAS NOT ONE BUT FEW? WITCHHUNT NONSENSE

2. Too much much money, is that why no December salary God abeg oh

3. That Zainab Ahmed was the woman receiving the humanitarian money from the CBN governor for poverty alleviation in the north. I read she was receiving 500billion monthly. Yet nothing could be shown for it.

These people empty the treasury. Diezani Madueke dey learn work where these people dey. To even think people still believe Buhari was the one in charge of last administration still baffles me.

At the end of it nothing will happen to the both of them. They will walk free.

1. The woman that feed children who are on lockdown during covid 19.
      The government that had snake and monkey swallow money.
      EFCC make una collect una own share and drag the matter small then everything will die naturally.

2. It's most likely around 5 billion monthly. The yearly national budget was around 17 trillion so 500 billion to one ministry would have made it impossible to run government.

After Buhari became paranoid about Osinbajo, created this ministry to remove such funds from executive oversight of the VP office. The ministry was never scrutinised and a proper culture of appropriation or auditing not established. No checks and balances so many senior civil servants worked their transfer there and bathed in the rain of easy money.

3. I said it then, that the ministry is just an avenue to siphon cash & defraud Nigerians. That ministry should be scrapped!

4. Hell fire awaits anyone who doesn't change from their evil ways !

5. I wish the Chinese law can be practice in Nigeria. Omo na firing squad get these ppl

1. You will be shocked about the level of institutionalised corruption there. Did the death penalty reduce the rate of armed robbery in Nigeria? It made criminals more brazen and eager to kill anyone so as not to be caught.

6. Until I see serious arrest ( not EFCC charades) prosecution, and the culprits imprisoned, I am not taking this investigation serious. What about Hadi Sirika (Nigeria Air) and the then Ministry of humanitarian affairs woman that spent money on school feeding during the COVID pandemic, even though schools were shutdown?

1. 😅😅😅😅😅😅

7. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
    We are pighting kwaraption.
    Kikiki

All these APC wallgeckos wont comment here.

8. What about Hadi Sirika?

What about the former CJN etc?

9. Chika(hello iya boys)25 December 2023 at 20:30

Na waooo
    Chaiiii
    Kaiiiii

10. And why haven't all these people been arrested like they did Emefiele?
    If Tinubu is serious, all of them should be arrested including the oga at the top as the buck stopped at this desk.

11. Tinubu you are not serious. Buhari's failure is your failure too. You both are from the same party, APC. And ever since this party took over the helm of affairs, Nigeria has gone from grace to grass, growth to ruin and manageable to uninhabitable. Your party destroyed Nigeria completely. You fested Buhari upon us, not because of his competence, ideas or policies but for your own selfish interests, because you wanted him to hand power to you when it'd be your turn. This mess is your creation. Fix it.

1. Your comment is 💯% on point.

*foisted*...not... 'fested'