Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Fake Product Market Exposed On X

Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Nigeria's Fake Product Market Exposed On X

There are threads on X which show that almost every household in Nigeria has been buying fake products to eat and wash with...........In fact almost anything you can think of has about five imitations in Nigeria...Haba!!!
Even close up toothpaste has an imitation called Open up..hahahahhahaha
How many people discovered fake product after going through the post on X?

104 comments:

1. Seriously this is becoming worse every day, if the imitation is of standard and have good quality it would have been better........ Just last week I know how many fake products that have entered my household.

1. I just examined the peak milk sachet I have now and its the fake in my possesion 😱

2. Waouh!
      Sorry about the fake peak milk.

Maybe people start snapping items from home before proceeding to shopping malls and open markets.

Bv who advised me to avoid a certain mayonnaise, God bless you nyafu nyafu.
      Stocked real mayonnaise finally,yeah that one B 😉😂
      🥗 Salad cream is an issue iny homezone every effing Christmas so we load up.
      Normal prices or a bit higher but we're trusted for availability.✌️

3. It is like a wildfire,it's really spreading
      Even down to babies stuff

My baby started with kisskids diapers, it was bad and we moved to softcare. We enjoyed it for a while before I noticed it has started giving rashes and soaks within few hours. Went to the supermarket and met the lady at the babies corner. She said they have got a lot of complaints and that fake is out there. How can a big supermarket be supplied fake diapers. Even SMA gold has different versions.

4. I just discovered that the one that I bought this morning is the fake peak! chim o na person advice to be taking milk because of ulcer o

5. OmG this is scary, meaning we have to even know the original to spot the fake. God help us

6. @Ebeano 1 milk doesn't like ulcer o! Stop taking milk except its plant based milk like soya milk. Google more on it and u will see that milk is bad for ulcer.

2. It's worst with drinks now especially wine and carbonated drinks. Shops have turned to factories. May God help us.

1. Thank God I don't drink wine and all this carbonated drinks.

3. Why are some people this wicked? Why?

This country don tire me, abeg.

1. E tire me since sis, God na your hand we dey o🙏🙏

2. its because the regulatory agencies has not been doing their job, it allowed them fester.
      I don't think Nigerians appreciate enough what Dora Aknyili did for us

3. Dora was the best

4. God rest her soul. Dora Akunyili did so much to clean up the mess.

4. We have an organization with the sole responsibility of tackling things like this but then, it's a business as usual for them.

In Nigeria, anything goes.

Now you begin to wonder and see why the rate of people slumping and eventually passing on is increasing. People suffering from cancers and all manner of diseases.

1. Talk to Nigerians that make money off poisoning people instead because of greed.how many people do they want to catch or you don’t know that these people mix these fake products with original and that makes it almost impossible to detect ?

2. Teejay, most of these fake manufacturers are in the backyards of your villages and glorified cities of Aba and Onitsha. By the time these government agencies descend on them, your people will be the first to start shouting victimization and marginalization. If not, most of your people know where these fake companies are. You all support them. Even Dora Akunyili was attacked severally by your people for bringing down their fake drugs companies. So no, it is not business as usual in Nigeria. It is about your people and their greed.

3. Anon 15:49 God bless you.

4. Bitter truths

Evil people make fake products

5. Which is fake between the 2 cans of Malta Guinness shown above?

1. Both are real please.
      It's just the sun reflection on the side can because of position that left a lighter shade of the quality assurance vitamin tag.

I stocked thousands of Malta Guinness Nigeria and some other items,that's my Christmas in the hinterland hustle.
      The phone calls and emails I've received since Friday night is deafening.
      Some families want 10 cartons for burial as from 4th January 2024 when I'm not sure stock will be enough for events within the end of year timebelt.

6. This is mind boggling, sad and all shades of crazy

7. My God! Even close up toothpaste? We're finished in this country.

1. Virtually all products,shine your eyes while shopping.
      Pepsi not POPSI.

Hennessy not HENNESSEY.

Stute juice not STUTÉ or STÙTE.
      (Watch the cranberry pack,some are CRAMBERRY)😭

Snickers not SNIPERS.

Oraimo 2A fast charging not OROMA.

Four Cousins not NICE COUSINS.

Fanta Orange not FANTA REDDISH ORANGE.
      If too orange colored . RUN o.
      Except you want to use as flavor for Chinchin because it's good for that.

Stute I stocked only 8 cartons abeg. Fake plenty.
      😂

Too many fakes out there.
      If I start generator own,this page won't contain it. Aarrgghh!
      thank God for WhatsApp live videos.
      Saving investors wella👌
      La oju e🥺

8. Replies
    1. Fear not.
      *differentiate

The 2 up there 👆 are okay except you bought the Malta Guinness Togo or Ghana.

Togo version has sorghum leaf on body.
      Harp logo in light shade and NON ALCOHOL DRINK isn't boldly written on it.
      Font lettering is not Tahoma on silver border and not capital letter M.
      Ink is not bold red.
      The vitamin assurance tag bearing B1 to B6 isn't on it.
      People imported them and Nigerians are screaming fake.

Guinness Malta has short supply errors not quality assurance errors. Naaa.

9. Who are these fake producers?
    This is scary
    God have mercy.

1. Check Aba and Onitsha.

2. Check your backyard @Anon 15:51.

The fake wine and bottled water factories in Ikorodu are manufactured by who?

10. But who are the people producing these fake products for goodness sake?

1. Greedy and wicked igbo people mostly.Their greed knows no bounds and they don’t even care that the stone they are throwing into the market might hurt their family members.

2. Really? I thought they were rich businessmen because they claimed to work hard.

I heard about one who produced fake drugs and was caught by the police. he is from that tribe too but I did not think much of it then seeing this comment now is scary.

3. Mumu lazy, ritual tribe, don't go and work . Fools

4. You won't see them Charly boy, Obi and his female counterpart (Oby) react to this
      Hypocrites!!

5. They killed a lot of people with fake Beecham ampiclox those days and people didn’t even know.what haven’t they done?how can anyone even be making fake medicine,that’s the height of wickedness.medicine ?no be only una like money na.

6. Obviously, Igbos have been ruling Nigeria for the past 50 years and they are the presidents, ministers, civil servants that looted Nigeria into halting poverty.

Your tribes are not greedy and wicked yet most of you are clustered in Lagos and Abuja leaving your villages behind in STONE AGE.

7. Make u dey ask questions dey answer yourself there you hear!
      Na so madness dey start.

8. on today's episode of how to ask and answer myself. elo ajoka!

11. This is wickedness and these people are heartless 💔💔💔💔💔

12. Some Nigerians are very wicked..this one is not government again ooo this ones are fellow wicked people killing innocent people..Only God wilĺ save us all.

1. God bless you jare.one fool was blaming the govt up there

13. Ojuwoye mushin,95% of the provisions they sell there are fake.

14. Kai. That's why everyday people are falling sick.
    May God protect us all.

15. Hf_beddings/fiber-pillows/honey/English-fabrics IG: hf_emporium_ 0907230039119 December 2023 at 14:16

This just confirmed my thought on the 1 litre hollandia yoghurt I bought yesterday.
    First of all, as I was pouring into my glass cup, I noticed it was watery. Then, I tried testing it and couldn't understand the taste.
    God help us oooo

1. Fake Hollandia Yoghurt the fake has no membrane seal on top,once you drag out the tag ,you're seeing the Yoghurt.
      Check that the remaining packs in your home are real.😁

16. Lord have mercy! Wicked people are on the lose to kill Nigerians with this fake products ..the love of money is the root of all evil

17. Scary. Even some major supermarkets don't buy directly from the producers, they depend on middlemen, so where can one be sure to buy original from?

18. It's only God that'll help us in this country.

19. It actually crazy what the Nigeria has turned to now. Nowhere is safe anymore. Reading through product packages shouldn't be seen as a chore anymore but as a self-care, if you live in Nigeria. It actually ludicrous to see people fall for those fake brands because the manufacturers were actually not subtle with their packaging. I saw one food product package that has "witchcraft" boldly written as one of the ingredients used in producing it. Yet people are buying it . I won't call that an oversight but laziness. Imagine the audacity of the manufacturer but they are assured no one would actually read through.

I hope this will actually make people pay more attention to what they buy. If dem no sell, dem go close down.

1. Please this has been happening for decades.Talk to your igbo brothers,they are the ones in this business.

2. Talk to your yoruba lazy brothers to sit up and not allow one tribe dictate to them, also talk to your yoruba tribe to stop selling human parts and using people for so called rituals.

3. Anon 14:42 who is the head of NAFDAc? When an Igbo woman was the head of NAFDAC you can never hear of such but since you guys have been in charge, HMMMMM

4. So you fools think the tribe of who heads NAFDAC dictates how much fake whatever is being made?because it is your tribe that is involved you won’t say the truth.buffoons

5. Your lazy Youruba brothers that do rituals up and down nko? Killing innocent people.. shame on una

20. This is so sad na
    who do us like this?

It was when olawealth talked about it in sp this morning that i knew it trended on x yesterday.

The dark oyster sauce that i have at home is obviously fake with the S added at the back of the name.

And i even divided into two and gave the other halve to my little brother who came visiting to be making noodles with it.

I give up olorun.Nigeria can never be better again.No be curse.

1. Yes Amoy soy sauce.mine turned out fake too. Its called 'amuys'

21. Hmmmm i weep for my country which one make we fight now?

22. TASTE BLISS CAKES AND PASTRIES19 December 2023 at 14:44

I believe the cans of malta Guinness are original and they are the same, i just bought it from Roban few hours ago and the can is exactly the same with the one above, or does it mean that roban sells fake also.

1. Fake fit Dey anywhere.People that work at these supermarkets have a racket where they bring in their own fake goods and take out good ones to sell to other people and make more money.

23. These people make one miss the late Dora Akunyili, please, I'm not sure of the surname. God rest her soul.

Man's inhumanity to man as seen in 'Violence' by Festus Iyayi

1. It happened in her time too,she did her best but these people are very smart as well.You would walk past their factories for years and not notice

2. Greed and Evil mindedness making people slaves to money

3. Greed and Evil mindedness making people slaves to money

24. Na who do were offend for this country.
    Some Nigerians are heartless 💔 😢 and evil 😈 😢
    Just negodu

25. This is terribly disturbing and the worse is that, with this present government in 9ja, nothing will happen. absolutely nothing will happen cos they are all busy looting and relooting the country's wealth

1. This has less to do with the govt and more to do with how evil the human race has become.When people become so selfish that they don’t care if others die in their pursuit of money, humanity is at its end.

2. THIS HAS A LOT TO DO WITH GOVERNMENT.

1. EXEMPLARY LEADERSHIP

2. NOBODY SHOULD BE ABOVE THE LAW

3. CREATE AN ENABLING ENVIRONMENT FOR LOCAL MANUFACTURERS AND FOREIGN INVESTORS

4. IMPLEMENT THE SANCTIONS AND JAIL TERM FOR CRIMINALS FAKE PRODUCT MANUFACTURERS

3. how can you say it has nothing to do with government? the way some of you guys myopically absolve the government.
      Law and order is the sole responsibility of the government that is why these agencies were founded, when things like this thrive (and it will because humans on average hate doing the right thing) then it is because the agencies responsible for checkmating them has gone to sleep.
      so yes the government is 100% responsible

26. That's why whenever I want to drink malt I buy bottled malt not can or plastic one

27. Closeup the blue pack is fake.

1. By the time we enter level of "checking out poisonous additives" in products the way smart oyibos do, Nigerians won't buy anything anymore because that's where the main killing is going on.

28. Omo the Vaseline lip therapy I bought beginning of this month sef na fake. I was applying it one night and decided to read it and na Vaseine Lip therapies i saw on it , I googled it immediately and now saw the difference. Sumone even snapped the he/she bought and uploaded on X and na Frankbee dem write for am. Na God dey save us for this country honestly

29. The other day I bought idole soap and it happened to be the fake of all fakes. The smell alone is story for another day,smelling like akuraku ncha.
    99% of baked beans are fake with maltina as the sauce.

1. Freshglow soap I'm sorry for the makers,I doubt they'll have turn over this period.
      Their pink pack 2 in 1 formula Apricot and Milk,the 🧼 soap is half white,half pink.
      Wicked adulteration is ongoing.

30. Chika (hello iya boys)19 December 2023 at 15:17

The Malta Guinness is so difficult to deficiate ooo
    Ahhhh
    God help us oooo

31. I bought things from lekki, (supermarket) and lekki market, I came to Enugu I bought same things, men I ran mad, East for now is flooded with fake, I know what am saying and way expensive with the fake things they are selling.

1. The igbos are more involved in the fake products thingy
      Some of them are just greedy and wicked

2. They won’t condemn it na because na the money their uncles and brothers Dey use feed them.i just hate it when we are blinded by ethnicity when it’s time to say the truth as Nigerians.

3. 18.37, you'll be fine. You and your shadow up there be jumping upandan like mantis. Igbos don do una something sha, considering the passion in your comments. Abi una wives na from that side? Oh i forget say una no dey marry women.

32. Went hom yesterday after seeing a post on soy sauce.original is 'amoy' while I went home checked.mime is 'amuy' I laff tire Sha, it is well.

33. The Peak that's marked "Fake" is actually the original peak milk sachet.

Just google Peak Milk Nigeria and you will see it's the same design!

I almost got scared and decided to verify this on the company's website first.

1. Exactly!!! Everybrand of milk has full cream and instant milk. Full cream is richer and milky while instant isn’t rich. Both up there are original.

34. This can also be a difference in the design based on one's location or country.

For example: Peak milk marketed to Ghanians may be different from the one marketed to Nigeria.

35. Bought Colgate herbal toothpaste from market, got home, found out it was fake. Nothing lost, I've been using it like that. The carton is almost the same like the original, but when I brought out the product the length was not the same, the look of the paste was slightly different too.

36. Abeg.

Some of us are not on twitter. Who would be kind enough to list it out for us eh.

Amebo... How far
    Vincent....... How far na.
    Kelvin that's always giving us twitter gist. How far you

37. Yeah 👍🏼. Instead of fake produce, they should legalize, create their factory, maintain hygienic and regulatory standards and come out with their own brand.

But no, they love deceit, they believe Nigerians will not buy their local products.

38. Fake milk is the worst thing because it will be playing music in my stomach.
    I'm running away from milk. Since the last time I fart by mistake in the supermarket and the two attendants ran away🤣🤣🤣🤣but I was happy because they use to follow someone like you are coming to steal and won't help you in any way. When they finally came back none of them came near me again. both stirred at me and in my mind, I was saying come you get more.😂😂😂

39. This is not my problem. I settle for organic foods. No tomato paste, I drink zoba made by me. No prepackaged food. No milk. No bournvita. No Milo. I have never been sick in 15 years. Keep chasing Oyibo foods