Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Imo State Community Reportedly Set To Abolish Osu, Ume, And Ohu Caste Systems

Wednesday, December 20, 2023

Imo State Community Reportedly Set To Abolish Osu, Ume, And Ohu Caste Systems

Amurie Omanze, an ancient community in Isu Local Government Area of Imo State said they are no longer at home with some of their traditions.

The community set Thursday, January 4, 2024 as a date for what they described as the historical abrogation of all forms of obnoxious cultural practices.
This cultures include OSU, Ohu, Ume and Diala caste systems in the entire community and its incline.
The statement said that His Royal Highness, Eze C.O Nnajiemere, (Eze Udo II of Amurie Omanze) disclosed this while addressing his subjects in his Palace on Friday.
Eze Nnajiemere lamented that for the past three years, the community have been dragged into unnecessary conflicts and skirmishes on whether to abrogate these discriminatory cultural inhibitions that is known as a stone aged ignorantly adopted man inhumanity to fellow man, insisting that it is even an affront to the 21st century global social revolutions order.

He also recalled that the community on their own in August 14th, 2020 at his Palace of Peace initiated, constituted and inaugurated an Abolition Committee in conjunction with the Eze-in-council ably led by Chief Nze Obinna Greg Madu of the blessed memory who was as at then the cabinet chairman.

Eze Nnajiemere pointed out that the decision was taken in total agreement with all the village Heads, kindred chairmen and their executives, all the Town Union Exco members, Ndi Nze na Ozo, Town Union women wing, all the religious heads/clergy in the community, Youth wing of all the villages in Amurie Omanze, Abroad union representatives and other dignitaries from the community were witnesses to the historic resolution.

He said they have all signed the abrogation document which empowered the Committee to take off with the task.
From dailzpost

42 comments:

1. This is the best news of the year

2. Good luck to them...
    This is good news...
    So long as the necessary things are done.

3. Na today? Something they've been abolishing since. That was how they abolished it in my church. A brother who is an Osu came to marry one of the minister's daughter. The man of God gbaa chichirichiii, ju, juwaa ishi.

1. I don't understand igbo. But that last part sounds funny....

Na wa for the minister o

2. Say what? The hypocrisy in church is worrying. 🙄🙄🙄. The so called Christians are the most judgemental

3. Castle, I wu nwa Aba 🤣

4. 🤣🤣🤣 Castle who'll bell the cat? Nobody wants it to start from their family.

4. We claim to be the best of Christians but openly pronounce other human beings created by God as sub-humans. i no understand book o.
    And some of these people based abroad will be shouting racism.

5. That's a great news but pls can someone pls enlighten me on the origin of it and it's consequence.

1. Any Igbo person can add or remove from what I shared: Centuries ago in the Igbo land, whenever slaves needed refuge or protection from the masters based on maltreatment or been cheated of their rights or something; they would run to Arusiyi shrine to seek refuge or comfort; and ask for help or so..So once that person steps into the shrine or clave; the person will be tagged OSU and ostrasized from the rest of people....When you hear NDIALA; it means freeborn; while OSU are referred to as Slaves and Inferior...So anyone tagged OSU will remain so from generation to generation...And any freeborn who marries an OSU; the person will be tagged at OSU; it is said that calamities, woes and strife befalls such persons who do such...

Whenever you enter any village or communities, the OSU usually relegated to the outskirts either close to the market place or close to the entry of a community (There is a strategic reason for this: Whenever there are communal fights or wars; they would be the very first causalities)...They are not allowed to mingle with the NDIALAs or have any association with them...

Let me stop here..Na here I sabi reach...Thank you

6. There are some deep histories to this Igbo social caste system and it is part of the identity of the Igbo people as a race

Well, if civilization has decided to deal a blow on some of the most important aspect of their culture, so be it!

1. Are you trying to justify the caste system? Why not put up a defense of slavery while you are at it.

2. History and identity indeed, for a certain group of people to dehumanise and make others they did not create feel less human. People like you are part of the problem, I hope this rubbish finally comes to an end.

3. It's funny how we smoothly justify wrong stuff about us or our culture with good English but scream to high heavens when criticising others as if they also can't produce a justification.

7. If i hear say them marry themselves. And these set of people are so cute and doing very well. Igbo and their silent discrimination it only God that will judge.

8. Nice development if truly practised 🙄🙄🙄

9. You've got to be kidding me. In the 21st century this kind of thing exists? I have read several times where they say they are abolishing this backwardness but somehow, it still persists. It is shameful really.

10. That particular practice cannot be abolished, it goes way back....

Reminds me of someone I had to end things with years back. Not that I believe in the Osu Caste system but I didnt want my kids suffering any form of discrimination. Chai, that Igbo boy was a gentleman to the core, total package. He's still single and doing extremely well, still calls from time to time to tell me he's still available if I change my mind. That guy loved me ehn.

Ps: I didnt tell him my reasons for breaking up. And he didnt expressly tell me he was an Osu, I found out on my own.

1. Osu doesn't affect non indigenes na or am I missing something? Most of them prefer to marry non Igbos as they aren't bound by the customs and traditions.

2. Anon13:34 it doesn't non-indigenes. Like me that hails from the Ibo part of Delta State, what's our business with Osu? Osu Kor, Osu Ni.

3. My kids will automatically be Osu cos their father is one. I didn't want that for them.

11. I will only believe this when the Eze and other titled men allow their son or daughter to marry from the osu/umeh etc family.

12. Them go abolisham for mouth. When it reach to make serious decisions nko?

13. Ìt would be great if this abolishment is adhered to because this is not the first time I heard about the Osu cast system being abolished.
    It is particularly serious in Imo state, that's why you have a lot of them marrying outside their tribe. I have 2 cousins who married ladies from there, my keke man just got married to an Imo lady & one of my former colleague who is a distant relative is also engaged to an imo lady. I also know a few others, both male and female who are also married from there.
    While it is actually a good thing for us as Nigerians to inter marry, I have noticed that majority of the Igbos who marry outside their tribe are from Imo and even an Aunt mentioned it a while back. I hope this is finally dealt with because God made us all special and no one has the right to make another feel less human.

14. Stella, i hope and pray that this abolishment is not only by mouth but they can actually follow through with it, because, we are made by God and are all special, as no one is to be discriminated against.
    I hope learning and relearning plus unlearning will happen with this abolishment.

This is great news indeed.

15. Nice development.It should not only be by words of the mouth, they should also make it practical by marrying and relating with everyone.

16. Nice one. Hope this abolishment stays, not tomorrow you will hear Osu still exists there.

17. This nonsense exists in my community in delta state. It’s absolute nonsense! My community is so backward, no elementary school, no hospital, no road, no electricity, their only source of water supply is the river, they don’t understand pidgin English talk of the real English language, they’re more like those un-contacted tribes in the Brazil Amazon but you see this OSU matter they take it serious, you see all the problems I listed but it’s Osu they’re concerned about. Let me shock you all, the most educated and most successful people from my community are the “OSU” people. My dad told me that they’re more successful because the “freeborns” mostly permit the “Osu” to live in the market so they learned the art of trade, also when colonizers came and introduced schools most communities refused to send the “freeborns” to those schools because according to them freeborns can’t be punished by teachers and treated like slaves so they instead made the “Osu” kids attend those schools while their kids went to the farm with them. The “osu” was learning English language and acquiring skills and before the freeborns realized they cheated themselves it was too late and the Osus were already way ahead of them.

18. Great, but it's not about making the law. It's about the people being ready to abolish it in their minds.

19. It's a shame that with how wide spread catholism and Anglican church is in the east, none of them championed the abolition of this unchristian and dehumanising tradition. It still took the traditional institution to abrogate this obnoxious act.
    Most importantly, I hope all members of the community embrace and adhere to this new development and stop all forms of discrimination.

20. That's good. While growing up in Aboh Mbaise Imo State, there was this family that lived close to a shrine, they are Osu. Some men and women in that family never married till they died. One of them got depressed, was walking around with a heavy stick, he uses it on people on a slightest provocation. When we sight him then as kids we took to our heels. He likes smoking "Okpoko". Chai, the whole thing is now playing in my mind. May God forgive us.

21. It's a good first step. The real victory will come from changing minds.

22. My little study and personal discovery has shown to me that Igbo people have deep problems that they need to meet and discuss.

1. The first one is their Supremacy Ideology. Igbos that were in the bush and naked in less than 150 years ago when other parts of Nigeria had had education, civilization and development, would just stand up and talk baselessly on matters they know nothing about.

2. The Osu system. They must know that Caste System, Slavery and other social issues in that line have been rejected globally.

3. Inheritance for female children.

4. Too much love for money. Money is not everything, they should learn to give values to other things.

5. Respect for others.

23. SAY NO TO " OSU" SEASON'S GREETINGS TO US ALL...