Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CBN Warns Of Fake Naira Notes In Circulation

Saturday, December 09, 2023

CBN Warns Of Fake Naira Notes In Circulation

The Central Bank of Nigeria has warned Nigerians of counterfeit Naira banknotes in circulation.
On Friday, December 8, 2023, the apex bank issued a press statement titled ‘Beware of Counterfeit Naira Banknotes in Circulation’.

“The attention of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has been drawn to the circulation of counterfeit banknotes, especially higher denominations, by some individuals for transactions in food markets and other commercial centres across major cities in the country.

“For the avoidance of doubt, Section 20(4) of the CBN Act (2007) as amended, states that: “It shall be an offence punishable by a term of imprisonment of not less than 5 years for any person to falsify, make or counterfeit any bank note or coin issued by the Bank which is legal tender in Nigeria.”

“The CBN is in constant collaboration with relevant security and financial agencies to confiscate fake Naira banknotes, arrest and prosecute counterfeiters. Members of the public are also encouraged to report anyone suspected of having counterfeit naira notes to the nearest police station, or branch of the Central Bank of Nigeria.

“Meanwhile, all Deposit Money Banks, Financial Houses and Bureau de Change and the general public are enjoined to be more vigilant and take all necessary precautionary measures to curtail the acceptance and distribution of counterfeit notes”,

11 comments:

1. ahn ahn.... and there is cash shortage too everywhere

2. We need to be careful out there this festive periods especially those that don't know the difference between the real and counterfeit notes.

3. Thanks for this. I think I witnessed something like that last week inside taxi,the driver told the passenger that the old naira the passenger gave him is fake I was surprised cos I couldn't differentiate both so I kept my cool🤗

4. As una no gree send money to banks na, scammers are out to leverage on the situation

5. E don plenty outside sef..I cried for the woman wey Dem buy goods worth of 100k from her hand with fake money.

Those guys no get joy at all

1. GOD will punish such people

6. Hmmm
    God Abeg ooo
    Even banks are not giving out cash again. They are claiming that they don’t have cash. People are not depositing money

7. May we not jam Agbako this festive period 🙏🙏🙏

8. Chika(hello iya boys)9 December 2023 at 10:11

Ahhh Jesus Christ
    May me,SDK and My Family never Encountered sure in Jesus mighty name Amen 🙏🙏🙏🙏
    We bide them those carrying Fake Note with Blood if Jesus Christ
    Father Blind their eyes ooo 🙏🙏🙏🙏