Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Samuel Okwaraji Story...

Wednesday, November 22, 2023

The Samuel Okwaraji Story...

Have you heard about the super eagles player that lost his life while playing for Nigeria ?
His name is SAMUEL SOCHUKWUMA OKWARAJI The Nigerian football star that Slumped on the Football pitch And Never Got Up on 12 August 1989.

He was a professional footballer who played internationally for Nigeria. He was also a qualified lawyer who had a masters in international law from the Pontifical Lateran University of Rome.
Fatherless at age 5, mother still saved up to send him to Italy to study because of his exceptional brilliance. By 23 he had both BSc and MSc in Law and at 25 he was going for his Doctorate in law...Something happened!

Outside his love for education, he loved football and decided to play professionally. He started his career in Ukraine at age 21 before going on to play for 3 other clubs.
In 1988 he was called to play for the Nigerian National Team... That's Where the Problem Started. His Club were not in support of him traveling to play Nigeria and he had this to say... "I am a lawyer you know and you signed me to play football for certain conditions but i don't think it included reselling my service to my country.
You or your club cannot stop me from playing for my country. Let me tell you, I am going to represent my country whether you like it or not."

He continued representing Nigeria against the wishes of his club. He flew himself to and fro matches for Nigeria and refused match bonuses because he felt it was an honor His Club still didn't like it but he still persisted.

On the 12th of August 1989... "Nigeria vs Angola" in Lagos...It happened! On the 77th minute, "He Slumped And Never Got Up" and by the time he got to the hospital, he was dead!

Autopsy showed he had a heart defect. 
Now The Problem Proper... In Europe he had life insurance worth millions of dollars but there was a stipulation. He has to die in Europe to get the insurance.

from Nigeria Stories on X

36 comments:

1. Oh 😔 too sad.

Continue to rest in peace, Amen.

1. Hmmmm so sad, so sacrifices are not worth it. What will mother do now?

2. Playing for Nigeria isn't worth it, even sacrificing for Nigeria is not needed because you will not be appreciated unless one doesn't mind giving up great opportunities for Nigeria. A lot great talents just give up the ghost anyhow in Nigeria e.g Rasheedi Yekini, may his soul rest in peace Amen.

1. Victim 12:11,

Please behave yourself.

2. But somehow you expect someone else to sacrifice themselves for you to make Nigeria better. What would you have said if the late Okwaraji was vacationing in Canada or Chile when he died?

3. Samuel's death was a painful one, may his soul continue to rest in peace.

4. i heared about him. today i know was an educated footballer. may his soul continue to rest in peace

5. He needs a good lawyer to cancel that clause so his living family can get the payout

6. He has to die in Europe to get the insurance, but he died in Nigeria. Rest on, legend.

7. Continue to rest in peace legend 🙌

That's how Chiek Taotte of Ivory Coast died too,it's was God that saved Erickson in the last world cup

8. I heard about him but didn't know he was this educated.
    Chai 😢 dying for this country isn't worth it at all .
    Continue to rest in peace legend.

1. BV Osundi,

Please read again. He had a heart condition. He could have slumped anywhere!

9. God rest his soul.
    His biography is top notch.
    Now I know the real story.
    Since he died out Europe, I don't think there's a case here.
    His reward, one of the "HEROES" of our country Nigeria. Thank God he's remembered today.

10. Very painful death,he used to have dreadlocks at some point.Keep resting champ,never forgotten.

11. Never knew he was this educated,
    Continue to rest in peace sam

12. Oh what a sad tale.
    Keep resting hero

13. A more detailed Biography

I never knew he was very Educated with both Bachelors and Masters with Doctorate in view.

Continue to Rest In Peace Champ

14. Sam Okwaraji! My childhood football hero!. He wore a signature dreadlocks. This life, a shinning light just went like that. Continue to rest in peace🙏

15. RIP my Orlu brother. He attended Eziachi Secondary school

16. Chika(hello iya boys)22 November 2023 at 14:49

Rest well sirr

17. These life insurance people with their Clauses and inserts, so damn crafty! Always looking for ways not to pay out monies after collecting thousands in premium over the years.
    So sad a story, he probably would have made it out alive if it didn't happen in naija, who knows.
    May he continue to rest in peace.

18. This is sad to read.
    Keep resting, Legend.

19. Kai! what a sad tale🤦‍♀️

20. My Umudioka Orlu bro
    Continue to Rest on .

21. What a memorable day, me and my cousins will never forget. We cried so much for days for him. My aunt, my cousins mom couldn't understood why.
    Way back then football was in our blood.
    Hmmmmmmmn.

22. May God continue to comfort those he left behind. He was a shining light.

23. So sad moment i wish I was born that time