Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Story Of Why Ora People Dont Bow To The Oba Of Benin

Monday, November 27, 2023

Story Of Why Ora People Dont Bow To The Oba Of Benin

It was recorded that Okpameh (also called Uguan) the son of Oba Ewaure left the Benin kingdom after he was banned for commiting murder.

He went up to Northern part and settled at a particular place he named Odorlerene (somewhere at the present day Ora). Okpameh was a very powerful and renowned hunter, who was respected for killing dreaded Leopard (Ekpen), (see attached photo).

He took a wife an Uokha Lady who bore him a Son he named Ora Ekpen (because of the circumstances surrounding his birth). Ora Ekpen later bore sons that make up the communities in today Ora.
Okpameh later received information of the death his brother who before then was the Oba of Benin. It was told that the brother died without an heir to the throne.
The elders of Benin kingdom sent messages to Okpameh to come over and to takeover the throne. Okpameh who initially declined the offer eventually agreed after many pleadings and some signs.

Okpameh departed for Benin and left his son Ora Ekpen behind. Okpameh was then crown Oba of Benin and was named Oba Ozolua. This made every Ora descendant a prince thereafter.

Oba Ozalua died some years later. At his burial, his first son Ora Ekpen insisted that he would take the body of his father to his Odorlerene, but his younger brother the crown prince Esigie objected and stated that the body must be buried in Benin.

After much debate, it was resolved that the body of Oba Ozolua should be buried within the Oba palace in Benin, however Ora Ekpen would maintain his position of seniority.
This position includes but not limited to Ora Ekpen and his descendant not bowing to the Esigie (Oba elect) descendants. This was sealed from that day, and remains so till today.
Compiled by: Elabor Joe Agbebaku
from Nigeria stories on X

32 comments:

1. Oba Esigie brother name his name is Arhuaran not ora..

2. Oba Esigie and his brother Arhuaran was born the same day...but Arhuaran didn't cry, but Esigue cry before him.. thanks for the story...

1. please great one column for traditional history..where people can type about their history.....

gentlesdk.....

2. I agree with you 14.38, I enjoyed this post Stella.

3. Nice read.... please Stella more of this,I like history

1. Same here. From all parts of the country.

2. Especially the Benin Kingdom, they seem to have a lot of traditions and History

4. Oba ghato kpere ise'

Can I tell you story of Queen Idia wife of Oba Ozolua…One of the greatest woman in Edo history….

I can be sending you.. stories about edo history…if you want…just fix a day I will be sending you

Esan OYEE

1. We need more of this, I don't know and understand why they stopped teaching history in secondary

2. they dont want the youth to be inform about their root..........many people dont know the history about their own surname......and what their family is know for in ancient time......

3. @BeeJay, history has been re-introduced back into secondary school curriculum, but it's optional.

5. Esigie use wisdom,, while Arhuaran use Strength...only benin will understand

6. Please make this regular. Nothing beats history and for those who have corrections or know better/more, please comment too. I'd love to read everything.

1. You really like Amebo true true.

2. Is my name a joke to you? Na the work (without pay) wey I dey do.πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

7. πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”

Mamannukusdkblogceleb

8. Is this Ora same as sabongida Ora in Edo state?

1. Yes Cheks55. Sabongida Ora is the head quarters of Owan west local government area of Edo state.
      Proudly ora lady

2. Cristie, obokhian! Your Ora brother is greeting you o! Proudly Ora Man!😁

9. Very nice read..I love history,those days in school,we had so many history books to read..the Nupe kingdom,the Junkun kingdom and the rest

10. My local Government! This is exactly where im from, proud Ora Man! Obe street, 6 to 6, thats where my Family house be at!

1. Breast man, so you are Ora, too! No wonder - it is in our DNA! May be our ancestors loved bwests too. Doo, ess!!

11. Beautiful story please more of it