Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Reps Scrap N5bn Presidential Yacht From Budget And Increase Student Loan To N10bn

Friday, November 03, 2023

Nigerian Reps Scrap N5bn Presidential Yacht From Budget And Increase Student Loan To N10bn

The House of Representatives in Nigeria has scrapped the N5 billion budgetary allocation for a Presidential yacht. This decision was made following public outcry over the allocation of N5.095 billion for the purchase of a presidential yacht in the 2023 supplementary budget.

The Chairman of the House Committee on Appropriations, Abubakar Bichi, announced that the budget for the yacht has been transferred to the student loan initiative . As a result, the budgetary allocation for student loans was increased from five billion to N10 billion.

In addition to this, the budgetary allocation of the Ministry of Defence was increased from N476 billion to N546 billion. The minimum wage for workers was also considered and approved for onward transmission to the executive. The Committee promised proper legislative oversight to ensure full implementation of the approved supplementary budget.

21 comments:

1. Oh my God 5. billion for a presidential yacht? Are they for real? A lot of things not going well in the country , and all they could think of is a Presidential yacht? see these papa's wanted to flex untop tax payers money. Like that was what we need right now .Miss placed priority. Im glad they scrapped it off. SMH

Obi for President
    Wizkid FC
    Proudly Tiv

2. When most citizens cannot conveniently eat more than once in a day. I don't know how to react to this honestly. ๐Ÿคข๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ™†‍♂️๐Ÿ’”

3. Nice one. Beats me how any sane govt with the interest of the people at heart will consider the idea of buying a presidential yatch after unleashing severe hardship on the people. Oga ooo

4. To be in govt in Nigeria dey sweet ooo because there's no accountability
    The most complex B

5. It was initially a misplaced priority. Glad it has been scrapped.

6. Nigeria my country, make una dey play, just dey play.

7. That’s one thing i like abt this govt, when they do something and there is an uproar, they immediately handle it, not Buhari that was giving us the grey rock effect.

1. Na so. Maximum fooling

2. How delusional ๐Ÿ˜‚. When will you people realize that all of them are self serving!

3. Yimu!
      Dem dey play with una intelligence, (if any dey sef), una dey clap!

8. Is that why they are standing like James Bond, thinking they have done Nigerians a great favour.