Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Brother And Wife Reveal How They Found Brother/Husband Had Died In Trailer Accident

Friday, November 24, 2023

Brother And Wife Reveal How They Found Brother/Husband Had Died In Trailer Accident

Chude Jideonwo, host of #WithChude, discusses how trailer accidents continue to kill citizens in Lagos. Featured is the family of one of the victims of the crash that happened on January 29, 2023 at Ojuelegba, Lagos, Nigeria.

The brother of the deceased, Chidiebere Felix, spoke about how he had seen the incident while returning from church on Sunday, without knowing his brother was involved. It was when he received the call from his wife that he knew his brother was in the accident he had seen earlier that morning.

The wife, Nneka also shared how she received the bad news that her husband had died in the accident. “That Sunday morning, my husband went to church with my children. They returned after 30 minutes. So, I asked him why they returned so soon and if they were going out and he said yes that they were going to the headquarters to receive holy communion. I said ‘Ok’ and they left.

About 5 hours later, I didn’t see him, so I began to call him. It rang for about four hours. Then I called my brother-in-law’s wife to ask her if they were still in church and she said they weren’t, but the people were still receiving holy communion, so I felt that was why he was not picking up his phone. I waited for another 30 minutes and started calling him again. 

Somebody picked up the call, immediately the person picked, I started shivering and ended the call. I called back and the person started asking me questions about who I was, so I responded saying I was the wife of the owner of the phone.

He asked me where we were staying, at this point I was shivering. The person then said I should send somebody to Ojuelegba police station, and I started wondering why I needed to send someone there. I told him my husband went to church so why do I need to send someone to Ojuelegba police station. I called my husband’s brother and explained the situation to him. He said “ok”. I couldn’t rest so I got dressed and headed to the police station. Getting there, I met my brother-in-law, crying”

Chidiebere Felix lamented, “I have been living in Ojuelegba since I got to Lagos in 1996. Every year, the containers usually fall on the bridge, sometime, twice in a year. Some will wipe out an entire family, while some people will survive. I could never have imagined someone I know would be in that situation let alone my own brother. 
He shared the problems they faced getting the body from the police custody, and the silence from the government and ministry of transport after releasing the body and how justice has not been served, as the truck owner is still on the run”.

23 comments:

1. It's so sad how drivers in Nigeria drive so reckless,my sister escaped trailer accident in the east two days ago with her car if you see the car it's beyond repair,we re so glad she's alive
    Drivers pls make una dey reduce speed it's too much they make families widows widowers and orphans and the only thing they can say it's sorry , madam sorry about your loss it's well

2. Good please in your hands we put our going out and coming back. Amen

3. Nothing works in Nigeria, nothing. Can someone mention one thing that works in Nigeria? Just one thing.

4. May Nigeria not happen to anyone, that’s when you will know that it is only God that you know. Nigerian government in recent times has really been nonchalant . Spending money on irrelevant things that won’t make returns while taxing the citizens from their blood to boost their extravagant lifestyle.

May his soul rest in peace πŸ™, May God console his family and give them closure. Amen πŸ™

5. It is well God help us in this country called Nigeria. When we go out and come back it is the grace of God so many evil happens on this road but God will continue to protect us. May the soul of this man and his kids cont to rip and may his wife be console by only Him who knows how to do it best. Amen!

6. So sad.
    May God console the family he left behind.

7. This is sad,may God console the family

8. I wish bad things can stop happening 😒😒

9. Trailer that killed my elder brother 2012., continue to rest in peace big bros.

Rip to the dead

1. Chika(hello iya boys)24 November 2023 at 20:06

So sorry dear
      Rest well to you big broπŸ«‚πŸ«‚

10. I have never seen a country where the people claimed exposed but so very ignorant. Even the very learned give them a car and see them drive, they won't even obey the traffic signs. The only failing of the government is that there are not enough punitive measures in place. But our people lack discipline.

11. Nigeria is a mess of a country. A country that doesn't value live. I wish I wasnt born a Nigerian.

12. So sad, may the good Lord comfort the family.