Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Charged To Court For Sending Message To A Married Woman On WhatsApp

Monday, October 30, 2023

Man Charged To Court For Sending Message To A Married Woman On WhatsApp

A man named Sikiru Oluwaseun Jamiu has been charged for sending a “Good morning babe” message to a married woman Opeyemi Adegbesan on WhatsApp.

The incident occurred on September 19 2023. 
The police accused him of conducting himself in a manner likely to cause a breach of peace in the woman’s marriage. This action was considered an offence contrary to and punishable under section 249 (d) of the criminal code, revised laws of Ogun state of Nigeria. 

46 comments:

1. Yesterday chronicle, come and see how a fellow married woman decline illicit chats and relationship. "The driver kept calling,and messaged me on whatsapp to tell me how he likes me and wants me.I told him i was married,warned him sternly and blocked him."

1. The same woman when wan call driver to come nack her abi na another chronicle I read? where she decline?

2. Some men don't have respect.
      E reach to teach the guy a lesson. Na court fit him

2. Very good.

Some people, male and female need to be taught boundaries.

"Good morning babe" when you people are not buddies, Imagine imaginarity 🙄🙄!! Good riddance.

3. Wahala 🤣
    See how “Good morning babe” take cause trouble for somebody.

4. I don't have enough context to comment on the specifics of this case. However, some general points on laws around messaging and relationships:

- Laws protecting marriage relate to consensual intimate relations, not casual greetings unless they escalate to harassment. Context matters.

- Police and courts should balance individual rights with social harmony. A single message may not warrant charges if intended innocently with no further contact made after being asked to stop.

- Overly broad applications of laws could restrict normal friendly interactions or chill open expression. The intention behind the communication and the complainant's reasonable perception should be considered.

- Privacy and free expression are also important values that laws must balance against protecting marriage institutions. Overall intent and escalation seem most relevant rather than isolated non-threatening contacts.

- Mediation or warnings may be preferable to charges for minor, non-escalating offenses when the situation allows, to encourage resolution with understanding on all sides rather than conflict.

Overall it's a complex area with reasonable arguments on many sides. Full context would be needed to evaluate the proportionality and reasoning behind the specific charges in this case.

1. Old BV?
      Are you a white man?
      The man deservedly got served and me likey

2. PRIDE + BUSYBODY = MILKSHAKES

3. I wonder why we have laws in Nigeria when nobody follows them. Executive arm oh, judiciary arm oh, police, lastma… nobody follows the law, everybody just does as they please. And I hate that some BVs on here are commending this. It’s like they forget that it can be them or their family members who will get arrested and jailed and tortured for literally no legal reason.

4. @milkshakes I don't see why you should ask him of his race. Was that really necessary?

5. Nawa.
    Chronicle poster of yesterday, take note.

6. Where is that chronicle poster of yesterday....
    Madam if you don't stop this feelings you have for Oga driver at the garage that's how your hubby will charge him to court.
    Radaradaoshi.
    Biko who kidnapped my ID 😭😭😭

7. That serves him right, shebi we have told them to stay away from married people? Ntoor to that man.
    Imagine calling someone's wife babe😂?

8. Wahala dey o! All these married women chyking me codedly, see you in court soon

1. The Original ShugarGirl30 October 2023 at 16:14

Codedly? no evidence 😄😄

9. I was talking about this yesterday
    Young people pls learn how to address those much older than you. Doesn’t have to be ma or air but surely don’t call me honey or love or dear

1. Thank you
      Someone addressed me as dear recently and I told her not to address me as such I don’t know why most people do this I find it highly offensive .

2. I hate any reply that has to do with dear.

3. Oh my Gosh! I hate that ‘dear’ too. I thought I was being unnecessarily fussy, but apparently I’m not. It just rubs me the wrong way.

4. But you're fussy

5. Sometimes, I use those endearing words when I'm being sarcastic or patronizing

10. Wahala for married woman

11. Yesterday chronicle poster come and learn oo 😆

12. That was how one luxurious Park guy called me that he's in Kano (just because I called him to enquire if their company has any office in Aba), I should come and see him, before I know it, the guy has started calling me "mummy I'm waiting, when are you coming to see me, mummy our motor is going back to Onitsha today o"
    Hian!
    I just blocked him fast o. Deleted his no.

1. I guess he was just trying to be respectful.

13. Thank you very much BV Victor for your educated submission on this matter. NPF will never cease to amaze me with the frivolous cases they expend energy and tax payers money on. When did good morning babe becoming a crime? what is sexually harrasing about good morning babe if their minds are not in the gutters?
    And for those of you hailing the woman, what if it is husband and not herself that reported the matter? Is the woman even legally married or just cohabiting with the guy as is acceptable in some cultures? Any lawyer worth his wig will make mince meat of this case

14. Men chasing married women una dey read so?

15. the man did nothing wrong under the law, just say no and move...it can only be an issue if the lady is being harassed

16. See wahala for 'Good morning babe'😄😄😄

17. Wahala be like bicycle 😂
    on top Good morning babe ???

18. Yesterday chronicle poster your attention is needed

19. Too much ado,about nothing 🙄🙄🙄

20. Wow, didn't know there's a law for that. Good one, at least that will embolden more women to come out. The only problem is that we are the same people that will still encourage this stupid act.

21. So if autocorrect type rubbish, person go carry me go court?