Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN

Friday, October 13, 2023

CHRONICLE OF A MARRIED MAN

Caution is required when going out these days.

I used to leave home for work very early, before daybreak 5:30am. However, due to the current security situation in the country, going out too early is not advisable anymore. I have heard cases of guys on bike snatching bags and phones from people walking on the road very early.

I lost my phone recently, no it was not early in the morning, it was evening around 7:pm.
I am a Lagos boy, so I'm usually very careful with my belongings especially while in town. I don't know why I "lose guard".
I usually step back when people start shoving and pushing to enter a commercial vehicle.

This particular evening, I was very tired and wanted to go home early to rest.
I had waited for more than 20 minutes for a bus to come, one finally came. People rushed to it and started pushing. I also rushed there, pushed my way through and sat down.

Bus got filled up and the journey started.

Out of boredom, I decided to bring out my phone browse through SDK blog, phone had disappeared. I dialed it with another passengers 's phone and it was switched off.. I started shivering immediately cos I knew the phone was gone.

There was little I could do at that time of the day. Someone assisted me with the procedure to block my bank account on another phone.
From there I went to report at the police station. They told me they can track it but it will cost money, I told them not to bother.
I should come and pay 50k so that you can track one phone? mtcheeeeew

Few tips:

~ When passengers are pushing and shoving themselves to enter a vehicle, wait behind, don't join them, some of them are there to remove your valuables and disappear.

~ While in a commercial vehicle don't bring out that expensive phone
~ Don't let them see the amount of money in your wallet or bag when you want to pay.
~ Don't make or receive calls mentioning large amount of money or contract, tell the caller that you are on transit and you will talk when you alight, this is if it is not possible to communicate via WhatsApp or other chats/text messages
~ Don't wear gold and expensive wristwatch in a public transport. Keep them in your bag or pocket, when you are at your destination, wear them.

It is well with Nigeria.

18 comments:

1. My first phone was stolen January 2, 2023. Second day of the year in the church of all places ooo. I know how you felt cos I started shivering, like my iPhone 13 promax I bought in April 2022 with my hard earned money, vanished after 9 months. Guess someone close saw me noting the sermon down on the note. During prayers when I closed my eyes. My phone πŸ“± disappeared till date oooo.

1. Me close my eyes and leave my bag containing my phone or money or ATM card on the chair? Never. I usually have a small purse in my church bag, the purse contains all my valuables. I will hold the purse while praying and closing my eyes, I will also hold it if I need to leave my seat to use the toilet, go to the alter for anything or go receive a call outside.
      Evil people are everywhere. The pastor will only rain curses on the thief. Phone yaff gone. Otilo!

2. The only time my phone was stolen ever since I started using phone many many years ago was when I was charging it at a neigbour's place in 2021. I am very careful with my bag when I'm out and I have never been unfortunate to be robbed with weapon. May I never encounter it.
    Sorry about your phone sir.

3. Thanks for the safety tips. When I was in Lagos, if I have to scramble for a place in bus, I first hold my bag tightly to my chest after that, I am good to go. Then in Lagos, I was always good at that scrambling for seat in a bus, I hardly miss securing a seat.

4. Those first few mins when it dawns on you that your phone is gone cannot be explained. It is so heart wrenching!! The pain is out of this world.

5. Sorry about your phone and thanks for the tips.
    I'm extra careful when boarding bus whenever there's rush,I hold my bag tightly. This phone that I've been using for almost 5yrs now,I don't play with it o.

6. Sorry,this is the same way I lost my Tecno Droipad in 2020.
    My most cherished phone of all times.Anytime I remember that phone,I feel like crying again.
    Still miss it till today.

I won't mind getting another one like it again.

1. I just remembered my Gionee M5 mini 😒

7. Pickpockets are so Fast and Crafty.

They don’t miss any Chance to grab any valuables.

Losing a Phone is painful,Abeg.

8. my pastor friend answers calls in public buses and discusses about money all the time till one day armed robbers traced him home and demanded for the money he said he brought from baleysa .They broke his wife's leg and his sons head when they didn't meet him at home and didn't find any cash in the house.Ive always warned him this might happen but he never listened till this incident

9. I have never misplaced my phone and i pray not to. The was stealing is rampant make me wonder what will happen next. It is well

10. Hahaha this same thing happened to me at Apo Bridge in 2020 around 6:40pm on my way from work, na so we rush dey enter taxi cos at that time crowd dey always dey the b/stp, after taxi don move I relax put hand for my handbag make I carry my tecno camon,...otilo o Tey Tey

11. Anything wey dey happen for this country no let your phone loss o!
    The night will be so long and restless infact u fit dream am for dream too😍

12. Chai sorry oga. So painful.

The only time I have lost my phone since I started using phone in 2005 was in 2014 in church.

We had closed service and less than 10 of us gathered in a round chair youth meeting by the door. Church was almost empty by then.

Someone called me for a discussion, so I excused myself and dropped the bag containing my phone and other things on the floor. Luckily someone just paid me cash for something and I held that money in my hand with my second phone. Less than 5 minutes later I came back and my big black bag was gone 😒😒.
    I thought someone was playing a prank on me and was still laughing and talking small small, until it became serious.

Till date , no one confessed, bag never recovered and we were all familiar friends.

13. This happen to me in oshodi last month,buh the phone fell from his bag,when he want to put it in the school bag he carried,another passenger that we rush to enter the bus pick it up for me,I was so happy,that how pipu shout at the werey guy,infact they do work with conductor sef.

14. Was in Lagos recently, omo was always holding my bag tight when going out. Even when am sleeping where I lodged my handbag dey by my head. I no fit shout.

15. Bad is becoming bad. Nawa
    Them say Tunubi don uplift ban for rice, toothpick, tomatoes, cement?
    God make prices crash o.