Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Big Brother Star Phyna's Father Begs For Help, Says She Is Yet To Reach Out After 1st Call Out..

Sunday, October 08, 2023

Big Brother Star Phyna's Father Begs For Help, Says She Is Yet To Reach Out After 1st Call Out..

Mr Felix Otabor, the father of the winner of last year’s BBNaija season 7 ‘Level Up’ edition, Phyna, has cried out for help, saying he doesn’t want to die in silence.

In an interview with Vanguard last week, Otabor, complained that his daughter disappeared after winning the N100m grand prize.
He said the very day she was announced the winner was the last time they set eyes on her. “She neither called nor answered her parents’ calls,” he added.

Meanwhile, during the week, her father, Mr Felix Otabor called Vanguard reporter again on the telephone to say that Phyna hadn’t reached out to him or any member of the family.

I am even looking for somebody who will give me a car on hire purchase. I need help, it has come to that point. I don’t want to die in silence.”

“I sold all my ambulance cars when my daughter won BBNaija”

“I haven’t seen Phyna, my daughter since she won BBNaija ‘Level Up’ edition last year. She hasn’t returned home since then. I don’t know why? I am an ambulance driver, and when she won the reality TV show, she asked me to do away with all my old cars, promising to change my life.
“But since then, I haven’t seen her. And I don’t have a car again. Once in a while, the Vice-Chairman of our association will allow me to drive his own ambulance.

“I sold all my ambulance cars because, at the time , my daughter won the show. I thought that God had finally answered our prayers. I called her on the telephone, and she said God has blessed us. She asked me to do away with all my old cars, or she would dash them out to Aboki, any day she returned.

“So, instead of allowing her to dash out my cars to scavengers, I decided to sell them as scraps. And that was the beginning of my suffering. I stopped doing my business because I had no car again.
“And my neighbours thought I was either stingy or pretending as if my daughter just won an N100 million grand prize. I was the Vice-Chairman of our association, but when I couldn’t show up at our station for some time, they replaced me with another person

“From that moment, things started getting tough for me. I am even looking for somebody who will give me a car on hire purchase. I need help, it has come to that point. I don’t want to die in silence.”

It’s true she bought jeep for me, but yet to reach out —-Father

Meanwhile, during the week, her father, Mr Felix Otabor called our reporter again on the telephone to say that Phyna hadn’t reached out to him or any member of the family. He said he thought that granting the first interview to Vanguard would compel her friends to advise her to return to her family. But it has worsened the situation, as his telephone has been buzzing since last weekend.

Though Otabor admitted that Phyna bought him an SUV after she won the BBNaija reality TV show, he, however, wanted more, and his daughter wasn’t ready to oblige him.

Maybe Phyna’s childhood experience, which formed part of the grudges she had against her parents, hasn’t been erased from her memory. In her Snapchat story, Phyna traced the origin of her feud with her family, recalling how her parents had treated her badly and always made her beg for love while growing up.

“Growing up, I always hear ‘You are not my daughter’. Yet, I would beg for parental love. The truth is, I have always begged people to love me. Today, I have finally accepted it. No wonder, I forgot. Guess I’m an ORPHAN,” she wrote.

Note that the father admitted that she bought an SUV car for him, but he also wanted her to replace the rickety cars he used for the ambulance business.
According to the father, he sold the rickety cars after Phyna advised him to do so on the promise that she would replace them. Couldn’t this have put pressure on her and fueled the reason she stayed away from her parents?

While some may frown at her attitude to stay away from her parents, many may commend her for buying an SUV for them even though she couldn’t fulfill the promise of replacing the ‘ambulance cars’.

From Vanguard....

I understand how she feels but she should make peace with them and open the communication lines because by keeping quiet and not talking to them, she is setting a string of events that will hurt her in future....Let me cite an example...No one will marry you in Nigeria without parental consent, is that when she will now start begging them?
Abeg Phyna just call them and tell them you are fine, if possible send small thing for them from time to time, tell them its what you have.......sad situation that should not have escalated to this....

61 comments:

1. So he was doing it for a sinister reason okay now

1. What a shameless father.

2. From the first call-out, I said to myself, this man doesn’t love his daughter, you can’t embarrass a child you love. From this post above, it’s obvious this is a toxic family with no love, only EXPLOITATION. Phyna, send what you can afford but keep your distance and be PRAYERFUL!

3. Did I not say it on the original post?
      Any parent who will go to the pages of a newspaper or tv to call lit their child is USE.LESS.
      BEYOND USE.LESS.
      'Ehn she bought SUV but he wants more.'
      LMAOOOO.
      I understand why some kids keep a very loooooooong distance from their parents once they attain adulthood.
      A parent will gift a child a childhood fool of poverty. Once the child makes it, will sit back with laundry list full of demands.
      If money was so easy to get, why you as parent no make am na???
      Only 'achievement' you are claiming is birthing children like rats.
      Mtsheew.

4. It's not about buying an SUV, does he have the means to maintain an SUV? Who will buy fuel? Who will fix it when it's faulty? From where will the poor man get the money to maintain the car and even sustain his family after advicing him to sell his only means of livelihood, promising to replace them with a better one . This is not fair on the man. Everybody needs a steady source of income and that is what this man is crying out for

5. Then he should sell the SUV and buy 2 of the work vehicles again and EARN a living. I said it in the other post that it is evil to bring children into poverty and expect them to do Runz, yahoo etc due to the pressure from the poverty you birthed them into to start with. Like some give pure water to 12 year old girls to sell. The girls get molested and never say anything! Contentment is key like Oprah Winfrey’s dad who enjoyed barbing and was a barber for a long time after Oprah made a billion! This is something we wrongfully boast about as culture, exploiting children who we should either help or allow to make our grandchildren’s lives better but they sink the successful one back to their level! . How much is N100m, now less than $100k. He got you an SUV out of it but you want more! SMH…. Many things are upside down in Naija. Poverty made him shameless but wickedness is why he is talking about the N100m win as if she doesn’t have a life to build. Toxicity in many Naija poor families… is Cuppy not a human being too or other children from upper middle or rich homes? Why does yours owe you? You birthed her and aren’t entitled. If your daughter isn’t complaining about your poverty but tried to sort herself out why are you complaining about the money you don’t know whether she comprised her conscience to get? Why aren’t you too Dangote or Adenuga. Thank her for the suv and move on.

6. Thank you. You said everything I wanted to.

2. Her father should sell the SUV she bought him and use the money to buy new hearses. Simple!

1. Thank you for this comment jare. He's busy enjoying SUV, he should sell it and buy a hearse for his business. Olojukokoro baba. He might be thinking the girl will share the money with him o.

3. How come he conveniently forgot to mention she got him an SUV? Why not sell the SUV and buy a car for business instead of doing beggy beggy on social media.
    How can a father be so inconsiderate and wicked. Embarrassing the poor girl. You really think she will come back home after this?
    She won 100M. How many cars car she buy and sell live her life and invest the money.
    Poverty mentality - is she supposed to share her winnings with you 50-50?
    Wicked unsupportive father. With family like this she doesn’t need enemies. Her family is doing a good job of that.

4. So phyna even bought SUV for this man. Phyna should kukuma stay on her own. What kind of a father is this.

1. Shameless and entitled father

2. Weaken man, is she the only child? He should look for his other children 🧒 to help him

5. Seems like someone is pushing this man into this act.

1. Nobody is pushing him! He is a greedy man! How many cars can 100m buy? So what of all the money he got from selling his multiple hearses, he can’t put it together to buy a single hearse? I hate parents like this man and Meghan’s father

2. I just remembered the last Chronicles of a Married Man's post. Na wa ooo.

6. I reject this kind papa ooh. Ogini self.

7. Poor girl. Let her give what she can and face front

8. "Any Parent that left her child at the mercy of public scrutiny is not FIT to be one."

Greedy daddy,so you are doing all these just to gain public sympathy? Dragging your own child in the mud for what? This same child bought a lexus SUV for you o, chai it is well

9. Putting mouth in family problem is like putting mouth in marriage affairs.. there is always two sides to a story

1. And now, you've heard the two sides. People who pretend to sit on the fence on issues like this, in my experience, know that the younger person is right but they are afraid of stating the truth because they also have their own hands directly or indirectly on the necks of relatives who can be manipulated.

2. Thank you Anon 13:31. It is very obvious that the man is a selfish and entitled man, typical of deadbeat fathers. Reaping where they did not sow, the same child that you disowned severally and called bastard, money don show, suddenly you want to grab everything from her. You no dey shame. See the way they dragged and called her names the first time he ran to give interview.
      Philomena, if you are reading this, you already bought him a car, for the sake of God who has showed up mercy, just give him a lump sum or buy him the car he will use for his business, however he fares going forward is none of your business. And please be prayerful because with family members like this, you no need enemies.

10. Some parents are just useless. At your age, someone told you to sell th cars you use for your daily business and you sold it without seeing the alternative that was promised?

Oga, I put it to you that you are a very LAZY man. You just want to relax and be taken care of, that's what you want. You can't tell me otherwise. If you really need a car for business, sell the SUV.

These kind of parents are plenty in Nigeria. They will treat you like shit when you are young, when you grow up and blow, they will come out to destroy you with their negativities.

1. They don't care how the money came, they just want to grab everything. Greedy, selfish, entitled and shameless. Full of lies, I'm sure he wants to be showing off to his colleagues, that he has arrived, using the girl's money to flex, but the girl spoil his parole, naim he run for give interview.

11. Phone that has gone to do lipo and bbl, money never finish?

12. Why can't he use the anger to sell the SUV and replace the other vehicles?
    Instead, he chose to embarrass her.

Stella leave that thing! People marry these days without parental blessings and consent because some parents no be am. Na Nigerian culture dey make some parents dey behave anyhow - in the name of "you will find me during your wedding" That's why parents don't behave themselves and compel children to put up with their attitude.
    Shebi that's how Regina Daniels father was talking upandan... wetin come happen? Is she not still going higher. How is his own market?

It's high time we tell parents our mind when they take things too far. My dad tried it last year, I changed it for him sharply. He was now calling all his friends to talk to me. Since then, he has respected himself and we now have peace. Yes, as a parent you have power but you have to use it wisely or even God will make it null and void.

Stop abuse of parental power. Don't provoke your children of you want them to honour you. You dialogue with and pray for them - especially of its a child that is trying to do well.

Phyna, ignore!! Let all your year of silent hurt come out now. Let him grant interviews until he is tired. Then maybe his sense will return.

1. Such parents will conveniently quote: 'honour your father and your mother...' while forgetting: 'parents do not provoke your children...' People with toxic, negative, narcissistic parents are getting married without their consent and flourishing. Forget all this talk about parental consent or blessings, some parents' blessings are curses in disguise.

13. Her father wants to damage this girl completely. Why don't he sell the SUV, then buy commercial car.
    Gosh, may our family members not distroy our lives. I'm lucky and blessed.

14. My friend married without her yeye parents consent and they are fine
    Let’s stop holding on to bad families pls

1. Exactly! Abroad people go to Vegas and get married. Then they tell their parents upon return. Nigeria and Nigerians will make your life hard, if you let it be so.

Any parent that does anyhow will see my wedding photos on Facebook. Respect and consideration is reciprocal.

This man could have at least called a meeting with family or church elders to ask Phyna for support. Coming to the news should be a last resort - if at all. We always blame people for how they act. But we don't look at the families that raise them. Phyna has really tried if this is the type of father she has. The poor girl! May God help her and give her people who really love her so she can do better.

2. No be say your pikin tiff from you.
      Or she is an armed robber.
      Or a rapist.
      You ran to the media to disgrace your child because you claimed she hasn't done anything for you.
      Conveniently made sure not to mention that she had BOUGHT SUV for him in the first interview.
      Useless, lazy, entitled man.
      Even if she buys 20 cars, this kind of man still won't be satisfied.
      Why won't she keep a distance?
      Before theselot drain her to nothing and then do juju so she becomes useless?
      So what is this man doing with the SUV?
      Common sense hasn't told him to sell off the car and buy as many ambulance cars as possible?
      What happened to the money from the all the cars he sold?
      You want to flex with big car and no shingbai in your pocket?
      Lolalemaooooo. Clown.

15. If na me,I’m not calling shit.they should get the cars they are looking for from the public they carried the matter to.

16. -Baba was the one who researched the contact of the journalist and called him/her

-On his second unsolicited call, he had to be reminded that the same evil daughter bought him an SUV that matches his newly renovated house, repaired with money any reasonable adult would have reinvested in business in this economy.

-He also failed to explain why he has not sold the car to continue his business but instead, chooses to sit at home.

-It's official, he is shaping up to be a weapon fashioned against...

Even if you want to gain from your child, gosh! Not BB money. That's why I question the true background one of them with a surname steeped in prominence there just soiling the name and confessing a different ancestry.

Stella left Nigeria a long time ago. Most people have their weddings in Lagos, even those who are wealthy enough to go home. All those dead beat parents waiting to be paid and prayed to do their duty are so hard up that they'll do it for the free asoebi and 100-200k. No hotel booking necessary. Others will find out that the child has wed legally and are free to bless traditionally or be mocked by their friends and relatives. There

Even those children who were abandoned or have cut off their parents are the ones doing the talking instead of hiding for shame or being manipulated by religion, into silence, in years past. Some will send you something every month and not even open up your messages.

This nonsense will only cost her money and endorsements. If it were to be at that age, I'd keep it going for a year then send a transfer of like 50k monthly. There is no family inheritance so it should be understood that everyone is to sort themselves out instead of mistaking 100 million as an unending fountain of money that the entire family is entitled to.

17. Mpa you did wrong by granting that first interview,washing your dirty linen in public.
    Phyna please forgive and reach out to them.

1. Exactly. Let Phyna do what she can do so that he doesn't continue bashing her name. Let her let them know how far she can go to help them.

18. After you used the ambulance money to renovate your house that you sat in and abused your daughter.

Then you parked the car in the compound and still called to embarrass her.

Wicked man!!

19. Chika(hello iya boys)8 October 2023 at 14:06

Phyna is your father nah beg I dey beg you oooo
    Just place him on Monthly Salary and also try and be sending food stuff to them
    They are still your family no matter what happen
    Something poverty dey make some parent treat some of their kids any how..no vex abeg Phyna 🙏🙏🙏🙏
    Forgive and Forget o...
    Country dey hard Biko..

1. Country day hard is the excuse for all forms of criminality and wickedness. Pressure exposes what's on the inside. That's why it's wise to distance yourself from people with the rest excuse of "country day hard".

2. Chika(hello iya boys)8 October 2023 at 16:07

Anons 14:21 nah him papa nah no matter what ooo
      Can't you see the man is getting old
      Biko Follow me beg Phyna abeg..
      She should do the needful Biko and just place him on Monthly Salary ..
      So all this disgraceful interview will stop nah🙏🙏

3. Is the man up 65 or 67 years old. You have to work till 65/67 else no SS & Medicare. A friend started a group for middle age diasporas whose relatives had sucked dry & who would never ask their children for $ so they had to re-plan old age as some were to retire in Naija but no longer wanted to.

My own selfish family turned me into their ATM since I was a teenage college grad who got a dream job after NYSC! My parents were not content with me helping them & my late bloomer older siblings & managing. I would get a message in the middle of the night that someone had not eaten & I will rush to send 100s of $ of not knowing they were lying! They put so much burden insisting on private expensive school for children when my own attended public schools. Now older, an over 50yr old sibling whines every time a grocery delivery company delivers to her house. It’s either the bag of rice is 25kg not of 50kg or why are fresh tomatoes/pepper included which I asked for when naira was changed & scarce. The“thank you” is an afterthought! Our mom is in her house… but she does not pay for zit even the caregiver who she uses as her maid. Takes close to N1m/yr for her mom’s care & still not contented…because she is the only one left there. After spending for decades, at her last complaint of “why 25kg instead of 50kg rice” for the grocery I know my old mom cannot eat 1/5th of, I told her off that I’m tired of taking care of ext family bills from wedding, to naming of kids now in their 20s, to opening boutique to paying rent & at my age I am getting old. The 50+ who is only a few years younger abused me that “ what have I done that has never been done”, same phrase my mom always used. She won’t give the caregiver her phone so I cannot even speak to my mom unless she is listening! I told them I won’t be blackmailed. She wants to hear everything you tell our mom. As it is, I haven’t been able to speak to her in weeks! Blackmail is not moving me as they have all forgotten when I was the primary one paying most if not ALL the extended family bills. They minimize what you did forgetting you must have given up a lot to send all that money. I’m glad gen Zs coming here to work now realize how tough it is to make & send all the money they may have taken for granted when uncles & aunties sent it.

What they failed to realize is that it slowed me down in life, affected my own children who, based on my career should not have a dime of student loan but do. If I didn’t come from a wicked family with greed & lack of contentment, I won’t be scrambling to pay back student loans for mine with them of course. I cared for others at the expense of my own. Or if I was selfish like my older siblings. Nigerian extended family CAN turn to the weapon fashioned against the destinies of some. Since I was born I don’t recall my older or this sister giving me anything but two blouse and wrapper (the older). Even Garri they have never sent but I have spent enough to build a big mansion in Lekki on the extended family over decades. The entitlement never ends with this kind of relative, they base their lives on your assumed status/ earnings, not theirs. When you stop so as not to suffer in your old age then they start “pursuing you with diabolical means” forgetting there is a just God who sees everything. Lack of contentment. If Oprah’s dad could work as barber till retirement, what is wrong with people that they turn relatives to ATM or piggy bank? She should ask him to sell the SUV. Stop expecting your relative to be your government, go to your state house with cell phone & stream your entitlement. This girl hasn’t even started life yet. I started doling out money I should have used to better my future as a teenage precocious college grad book smart but not street wise & NO PARENT or relation encouraged me to buy or own assets but for God & relocation. They preferred that I just give them all they want.

4. Anon 02.07, my heart goes out to you. I wish I knew you then, I would have stopped you doing all of this like I do my peers.
      When you have finished building your wealth by the time you get to 50, you can then support others with the profits that you make because I am sure right now, none of them give a damm about you.
      I completed studies in my 20s and spent the next 20 years building my life and future and definitely proud of my achievements.
      I stupidly gave money to people back in Nigeria, only for them to turn around any insult me when I couldn't give any more.
      I remember one telling me ordinary 10million naira - money I struggled to get and send, meanwhile now this person cannot even afford 2k, this is the mindset of this people - they deserve their predicament and you have no business trying to help them.

20. Her mistake in the first place was buying him the SUV. She could have asked them what he needed and bought him a new ambulance for his buisness. That could have bn generating income for him. The SUV was a status statement she made for herself . Even at that her family were wrong to publicly call her out...NO EXCUSE!!

1. Calling her out when her income depends on her public standing and perception is so wrong.

2. He probably asked for the suv
      Then hoped to call again and ask for money for business
      That’s what many Nigerians do when you want to help
      They get their want first then come with the need they hope you can’t ignore
      Afterall if say I need school fees and phone you will surely give sch fees but what about the phone so I ask for phone first and come back crying for fees

3. ...The Nigerian version of Meaghan's dad. It's interesting that the parents who invest the least in their children, demands the most!

I read his first 'cry for help,' he conveniently skipped things his daughter had actually done for him...indeed takers have no limits. I run from people with entitled mentality.

If that girl is wise she should focus on investments and profile rebranding. She should 'gift' them whatever, when she has or when she wants to. Gone are the days when parents guilt trip or disown children alone, this generation children are doing it too without batting an eyelid.

It boils down to the simple question you ask most people who have or want to have kids, "Why do you want kids?" ...Sit back and listen to all the selfish reasons that follows, when on the contrary, parenting is a selfless, lifelong responsibility.
      Leo inspired!

21. na this kind Papa dey send their people to go follow Libya go Italy just to make money for them to squander. uselex man, them tie your hands? if 80yrs old still dey work as janitor abroad, wetin do your hands to work?

22. This here is a typical example of sense of an entitled man. She bought you a jeep out of 100 million and you are still calling her out🤔
    If the father is not entitled and suffering from poverty mentality, and the typical Nigerian proclivity for wastefulness, if Phyna out of excitement and youthful exuberance asked him to do away with a whole 4 cars, shouldn't he by virtue of the wisdom and knowledge that comes with age not know that it is not the wisest pragmatic thing to do?
    Is the family going to live forever on the 100m Phyna won? What realistically is the value of 100 million Nigeria naira going by the high inflationary rate today?
    My advice to Phyna in line with the biblical injunction not to forsake one's parents in their old age, she can, if can afford it send, them a monthly stipend.
    Then if she has more, now is the time to invest on interest yielding projects and businesses. Because going by her family background, if God forbids she hits rock bottom financially, she will be without help or suppor from her family. So Phyna, forget BBL, trying to impress or pepper real or imaginary enemies, and invest, invest invest.

23. If I were to be Phyna, I no go call anything

24. This man no try at all, I know his type , he will not rest until the money finish.

25. May God not give my children this lazy entitled was.te as a father.
    Phyna ignore him to filth.
    There are no elders in the family he can reach out to? No uncles and aunts.
    This one and Mohbads father na the same pot dem dey chop.

26. I was on his side before, but I didn’t know he got a jeep. Use the jeep then to run your business or sell it and buy your ambulance car. You acted like she told you to get rid of everything and gave you no replacement.

Obviously, if you sold those cars for scraps they were junk that could not net any sales intact. Why are you crying over junk? Is she your only child, don’t you have other children who can help you. Financial pressure should not be placed on only one child, all your children should be helping you equally. Isn’t it your sperm that helped to create them all, so look to the others as well.

1. You no even get the full gist. He used the scrap money to refurbish his old house and sat inside.

27. What a sense of entitlement! The girl said she has a scar on her head from cutlass by this baba wey de cry for ambulance ooooo.

28. This is nonsense, why will she ask him to sell his cars he is using for business promising to replace them? He can't use the jeep for business? You decided to pay him back because of what he said to you when you was a kid? Your heart is wicked. Why will you allow him sell his cars? He wasn't begging for food then but now you made him start begging for food.

1. He is a tata ba?
      As he has sold all the cars where is the money?
      The SUV what is he doing with it?
      Baba wan flex ba?
      Na im yearly salary from carrying those dead bodies in the hearses that im go use buy fuel.
      Abi na Phyna go buy fuel for him too? 🤷‍♀️

29. Family wahala.🚶🏼‍♀️🚶🏼‍♀️🚶🏼‍♀️

30. No one should mention Meghan's dad who paid for her to go to acting school and fathered her to become a go getter in his early days. He made some mistakes but we all do.