Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Iyabo Ojo Rants About Her Tax Default Brouhaha

Monday, October 16, 2023

Actress Iyabo Ojo Rants About Her Tax Default Brouhaha

Actress Iyabo Ojo says she is outspoken and confrontational and such attitude comes with a lot of consequences and says you should not blame other celebrities who decide to keep quiet on the social media...
She also traces the root cause of her brouhaha with the tax office

34 comments:

1. Iyabo iyabo , iyabo bestie Lizzy πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Mamannukusdkblogceleb

2. Na their way. Hushing the outspoken because they are riddled with guilt of their evil treacherous acts on the people. Don’t worry Iyabo, e dey wait them for front. Can’t hide from it. Every single one will reap what they sow, good or evil.

3. Go straight to court
    Don’t be afraid

4. Iyabo dear, your beautiful children are done with school and are already even earning on their own. Sell off whatever business you need to sell, pack up and leave. Let them find jobs for those your business will throw back into the labour market and go and be enjoying your life outta there. They don't deserve you.

1. Look at you. She should sell off her properties and leave... I can see how you guys reason. Are they dashing people money where she will be going to? Or do you think money flies on the trees in the streets of UK, US, Canada and the rest? She should leave are business and be doing exactly what abroad? Washing plates?

2. Amebonawork,

Won't she pay taxes anywhere she goes? Or wait , the government will pay for her living expenses?

But most importantly, like she'll dare come out to say she is being victimised when in reality she wasn't paying taxes till she was outted!

Tax evasion is a major crime anywhere in the world. And if she's not careful, she'll pay the accrued plus penalties, and still spend money on lawyers trying to avoid jail time!

It is the discretion of the authorities to decide if you will be allowed to structure the payment. It isn't a right.

5. Want to live good life when you have money and don't want to pay tax? Come to the UK once your wages passes 50k your tax rate is 40%, and when you die and leave your property to your kids they would also pay 40% on the property. We want abroad standard but can't pay the price. If things were to work in Nigeria most of them can't even live there. Because standard society is tight and no allowance for frivolity.

1. Your government(politicians) only copy what will favor them from the abroad. They can never emulate what will benefit the citizens. Provide good roads and electricity for business to thrive they said no but would rather be more interested in high taxes and corruption.

2. Lol so for your mind now people abroad don’t fight illegal taxation 🀣

3. The good things you're enjoying in UK na thesome with Nigerian wicked people everywhere

4. You dey mind am?
      They keep living for the industry's spoils raking in millions but can't pay taxes..No be juju be that?

5. Spoken like a theorists...the ones we msnaged to contribute please what has it been used for?

6. You are not a good human. Na only you live abroad? Don't exhibit this your "I better pass my neighbor" mentality to the UK.
      Why was taxation created in the first place? Do you get those benefits in Nigeria? Is healthcare/NHS not free where you live? How much do you pay for school fees? Do you not have good roads and good transport if you can't afford a car? Do you have to worry about your phone battery going to 0% because there is no power to charge it? Do you have to worry about being kidnapped? Don't you have food banks you can go to and get free food? How many are available to Nigerians? After paying the 18m, she will have to go buy fuel for her generator, pay for her security, drive through the bad roads, pay for her hospital bills etc.

Business tax is paid based on profit not revenue. You don't sit down and decide how much someone should pay. One of the key reasons I left Nigeria, besides security, was the tax. Even though I lived in a serviced apartment, which meant that I didn't have to worry about power, water etc. once my service charge was paid, I was not ignorant of what others were going through. It made no sense that I would pay 7 digits tax and not see the infrastructure that was meant to be put in place with the tax.

I now live in a country where I am taxed and I don't care because my child's education is free, healthcare is free, I don't have to spend money on books because can walk into the library and borrow 20 books at no cost, healthcare is free, emergency services turn up when you call, my battery can be 5% and I wouldn't have a care nor do I have to worry about ironing my clothes beforehand. That is not the case for people that are taxed in Nigeria, especially in Lagos. You read regularly about trailers falling at Otedola bridge yet govt has done nothing to stop it from repeating. That is a disservice to tax payers.

I had a chat with someone last year when I was informed that Lagos State expects everyone, whether you claim to be jobless or not to pay a minimum of 50k as tax every year. You will all shut up and watch, thinking that it is Iyabo's problem, when they start demanding your 50k tax receipts, keep the same energy.

7. Don't I just love you, anon 17:07? πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

8. Thank you and God bless you❤. I do not have to type a response anymore.

Iyabo darling, a hardworking human will survive anywhere in this world. Move if you need to move and don't listen to these 2022/23 Japa supplementary list people. Some of you don't even know that some BVs here have never travelled with a Nigerian passport before in their lives but never mind. May God grant us all patience o as if na Iyabo make dollar be 1k or fuel 600πŸ˜„πŸ€£.

6. What's she even on about? Why did she allow her tax to pile up this much up to the rate of 18m?
    She should try and pay up even if it's in instalments

1. It didn’t pile up
      They came one day said they’ve done audit and that she owes 18m

2. Do your own research on how LIRS issue tax demand notices base on assumption. The company I work for is very compliant with PAYE, VAT, Income tax, Pension etc. Yet LIRS will still come up with their own calculations of how much they estimate that the small service-base company is expected to pay . It's absolute crazy. Do not support bad things. Funny enough, it is those who pay tax that LIRs give wahala.

3. see your mouth like pay up, is 18million a joke to youπŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„? Even if she has it, You think it's easy to remove 18m from your account and dash the government just like that? if you are a business owner, you'd know it's not an easy feat no matter your gain. Even Messi and Shakira have been dragged to court over Taxes evasion, just to let you know it's not easy to remove a huge sum of money and pay just like that
      let's be sympathetic to others plight at times.

7. FG is not even sincere with their tax system.

8. Truth is most Nigerians don't pay Jack when it comes to taxes, but then I cannot blame anybody for kicking against paying taxes because even the little we/they've been paying is not showing, it feels like pouring water into a basket.
    If they can show workings and convince Nigerians their taxes are being utilised the right way, and not just buying 120M vehicles for some pot bellied people who only work 2hrs a day, then they'd have earned the right to demand for more tax.

1. In Lagos, the results of taxes is clearly evident. The problem is that most don't pay and they are flocking into Lagos everyday expecting heaven and earth while being a burden on the available resources and contributing nothing.

2. Don't say most Nigerians don't pay tax. Most Nigerians with Corporate jobs pay tax. The informal sector also pay but we corruption is consuming our taxes.In Nigeria, we pay Nepa bills yet no light.

9. Less than 20 Percent of Nigerians pay taxes, including business owners. They don't even file to say they fall below the 25million a year line.

The untaxed are the most entitled, greedy and unreasonable of the population. They are the ones expecting roads up to their toilets, free education till PhD, cement to be 50 Naira perbag and exchange rate to be 10 Naira to a dollar despite producing nothing.

They also have a talent for creating excuses. They will tell you that developed countries can afford to give citizens certain perks without realising that is due to decades long access to tax money from those citizens over the years at the council, state and federal level. And reproductive discipline of course.

Did I also mention that they born full ground? They don't see the difference between countries like UAE, Saudi Arabia and Scandinavian states compared to their population of over 200 million.

They also have the lack of moral awareness this enabling them to point at a fellow thief in government and be calling them names.

Iyabo may have been paying certain taxes and not others. The tax office has the prerogative to accept or reject your tax plan but this doesn't mean you're not owing. Filing your earnings during this period would have saved you the stress as you are taxed a percentage of earnings and not a flat rate.

For others, please see the need to keep good financial records and statements. There is yet to be any tendered proof that this is a vendetta for your political leanings. The LIRS AND FIRS have citizens and corporation who file taxes as low hanging fruit when it comes to raking in revenue and this seems to be the case all over the world. They will rather come for someone already on the books to squeeze an extra dime than go through the pain or finding someone who has never filed.

For the unpaying, please note that services and goods all over the world are similar in price except for certain exemptions eg unskilled labour. Bitumen for roads and cement for housing are commodities universally priced. Same with steel, most medicines, petroleum products, software, tech gadgets, etc they have a fixed range across currencies. Those dividends of governance that you are insulting your colleagues for, it's partly because you are not paying your fair share.

To government , please widen the tax bracket so you can lessen the noise and have more people involved in policing government by having an interest in how their monies are actually spent instead of falling for false promises from those running for office without a serious track record of generating wealth.

Lagos leads the pack of states because there is money to fund projects. Anyone telling lies about free money to come by stopping some nebulous undefined corruption upon which they built an import business and through which they obtain the Forex to siphon their earnings away to the Caribbean or UAE should show where they have generated Lagos-like results.

1. Many folks are sentimental & gullible, easily swayed by emotions. When you see πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ SM it’s filled with men & women who have never in their lives consistently earned high income carrying N20m LV, Chanel, N30m plus Hermes purses. Even their throw pillows & beddings are Gucci.
      There were three bad choices foisted on πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ through a heavily dollarized corrupt delegates-style primaries with stacks of $ notes higher than the the vault of any neighborhood Chase or BOFA! The entire electoral process was deformed right from then! All the delegates should actually be jailed. Some of us just held our nostrils & wanted the “least corrupt” but how do you even measure the least corrupt when it’s the size of your pot that determines the meat you can steal?
      This woman is being clever by half. A Chanel, Balenciaga, YSL, Ferragamo, Hermes etc purse or any of the designers they love to flaunt is from N5m to 60m. Unless it’s fake. Don’t talk of a 1st class ticket to the Carribean or Maldives or Ibiza or the places they flaunt pics of themselves travel in business or 1st class cabin too! We pay taxes even on Coca Cola! Let’s not talk about the claims of buying N100 to 300million houses, Range Rovers, G wagons etc online! From which income? Who are those fighting for her? I thought they earned those N10m vacations & luxury items from hard work. Are youths are being recruited online to fight ex co-oppressors? It’s easy to whip the GenZs/young Millennials into hysteria & cheap populism. N18m is the cost of a medium sized authenticated Chanel purse unless it’s fake they all carry.

I’m a hardworking wealthy professional woman but I don’t live like I see many of these women, some men (check out Ubi in Kizz Daniel’s challenge, his entire outfit is about N30m, his own video!) They fly pj or 1st class to destinations that cost N50m (with accommodation, food & ticket) are those gifts or true earnings because the tax code treats them differently. πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έhas an imperfect tax system as Warren Buffet, Obama & many have been saying BUT my annual income tax (let’s not talk of property tax ) is more than this amount BECAUSE the more you make the more taxes you pay. It’s why some of us are thought stingy by relatives & friends. Taxes & deductions!

I get it that most taxpayer funds are looted/embezzled. That is where citizen grassroot involvement in politics comes in not ex “cashtivists” looking for $ or jobs! DEMAND good governance once you have a “pay”, you have a “say” but you must initiate the change without fear or tribal sentiments which is hard (racism is tribal). I have no evidence for or against. LIRS bias. Is there no tax assessment code in Lagos or it’s just “hi you have been a good girl don’t pay your taxes”? Maybe she knows more. Even here, if they can evade, they do. They braid your hair at $150, do many per year, pay little taxes but collect refund while those of us in corporate πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ still owe IRS after heavy deductions every pay check. They then give the impression that we all get “tax refund” without telling folks about tax brackets, their failure to declare true income & claiming kids they didn’t birth to game the system they did not pay into. Is it those who with high income still fraudulently get wic/stamps meant for the truly needy. Yet we are the 2nd most religious country on earth! Big girls &boys pay your taxes abeg. Stop giving money to the west where you spend it on luxury items & vacations leaving your own economy wondering why the naira keeps falling. Look in the mirror! Demand is greater than supply due to these expensive imports in $! E. G online “CHANEL 2002-2003 Double Flap shoulder bag. $23,338” or N24m but BBN girls/yeyebrities in carry such. Paying taxes is not political persecution. Wanting Justice for the young musician & in the political/electoral system is not mutually exclusive from paying taxes. Many πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬should not bother to japa until their mindset changes. It will “pain” you to take home 2/3 of your check after it’s deducted! The onus is on the masses to ensure taxes are used well by politicians.

10. Chai. I feel for her. But for them to say you should pay that huge amount,that means you've been making billions abi how's task calculated

11. Anon 17:07 you ve said d absolute truth ,that container thing I weep everyday ,just today container fell and killed a business man man whose car was stuck in a bad road going to airport today, otedola bridge the same thing quality of life in this country is zero, how is this tax payers money measuring to people s quality of life , I weep everyday for this country,every day house and estate demolition in this country is is that ministry of interior don't do supervison , how can people buy property and after building say like 5 years it's been demolished, this country is never good to her citizens , we are living daily by God's grace

12. All of you can japa now and leave Nigeria empty. Is health care free in America? Even in the UK from covid you can't even see a doctor. All will be saying as if abroad don't have its own issues. Don't pay tax and leave the country, everyone is just mourning about government. Government doesn't exist in isolation, the government in a country just mirror the society they emerged from.

13. It's really sad what this country has degenerated to, this is absolutely wrong.

14. Now we know they all carry fake designers. N18m is a Chanel purse not even Hermes. If they are gifts we declare gifts here but they all form independent hardworking rich women carrying “designer” purses and wearing designer clothing but it’s for the gram.