Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Edo State Gov Obaseki Gives ConditionTo Settle With His Deputy Shuabu + Threatens To Cut Him Off

Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Edo State Gov Obaseki Gives ConditionTo Settle With His Deputy Shuabu + Threatens To Cut Him Off

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State has given a condition for accepting the public apology tendered to him by his Deputy Hon. Philip Shaibu. 

The Governor who returned from his vacation abroad over the weekend said he has no business with his deputy, until he proves absolute loyalty to him. Before arriving Nigeria from his foreign trip the Governor had instructed all members of Exco to assemble in Lagos for a two-day meeting with him. He insisted that the Deputy Governor should not be invited or informed of the meeting. 

The meeting was termed “Exco retreat with Mr. Governor”…..

Arrangements were made for those invited to the meeting to arrive Lagos last Saturday. Members of the State House of Assembly had theirs a fortnight ago in Rwanda. Before the meeting, Obaseki told members of his kitchen cabinet in Lagos that for him to forgive his deputy, the latter must publicly withdraw from the governorship race. 

Obaseki added that if the Deputy dares to participate in the forthcoming primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, his security vote will be stopped and he will be excluded from all government activities, including meetings of the Edo State Executive Council. 

As a prelude to making good his threat, the State Executive Council meeting for this week took place in Lagos today, Monday the 25th. The invitation for the meeting was extended to all exco members with the exception of the Deputy Governor. To avoid public criticism, the Governor told his handlers to fix an Exco seminar a day before the meeting to enable third parties attend, so that it will not be considered a formal but emergency exco meeting.

The Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Alaghodaro, Asue Ighodalo, who is the Governor’s anointed candidate for next year’s governorship election was invited to the Exco seminar in Lagos.

“It is expected that the Governor will unveil and introduce his successor to all exco members in Lagos this week” a source attending the seminar said. 

It will be recalled that last week the Deputy Governor of Edo State was locked out from his office in Government House Benin City, on the orders of the Governor. It was this particular incident that made the Deputy Governor to publicly apologize to the Governor, who in the last one month has refused to communicate with him.

22 comments:

1. Many of these politicians have no respect for the law. They don't even believe in democracy.

2. This one is just acting like god

3. The way Governors in Nigeria equate themselves with God. The same battle he Obaseki fought his Benefactor Oshiomole, is the same battle he can't take from him deputy. The same Godfatherism that he Obaseki said he had destroyed by defeating Oshiomole whom he defeated with the aid Wike and Okowa, is now what he wants to be.
    If only the people of Edo could rise up and elect the person they truly believe will truly work for them and ignore even the preferred Candidate who will fare worse than his mentor Obaseki who has taken Edo state 20 years backward in terms of development, notwithstanding his being tauted to be a " technocrat".

4. Only in Nigeria πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

5. Nigeria politics makes me weep

1. Why do you weep ?? You are part of it, who vote them???

2. The governorship election is still September Next year ,see how is forming ' god' of what??

6. Asue Ighodalo? Stay out of politics and continue to be the boardroom guru and ace lawyer that you’re

7. Who did this to our politicians? God abeg o help Nigeria. Our politicians want to remain in power even after their tenure expiration or put who they think will cover their back after misusing/embezling public funds.

8. Nigeria we hail thee
    Our own dear native land.......

9. Who cares,,? Shuaibu is a betrayal and deserve everything he is getting.. Treat him as u like,.. Mumu men

10. Obaseki your own is getting too much, We all stood by you when Oshiomole tried to oppress you only for you to become worse than him, no impact from you in Edo state. You re the worse governor in the history of the state , can't wait to see you leave Dennis Osadebe very soon with your backwardness .

11. Obaseki is behaving like the same Oshiomole he criticized! What is your own if your deputy wants to contest? All these politicians are the same.

12. Obaseki has shocked everyone by his actions. If anyone had told the bini people that he would turn out worse than Oshiomole, they would never have believed. How can such a gentleman turn into this unscrupulous politician? Is there something at government house that defiles them?

13. It is the turn of Esan people to be governor! Shaibu's zones was already served by Oshiomole, Obaseki , Benin, now Esan's turn. Let him do as the governor has directed.

1. You are part of the problem with Edo state and Nigeria as a whole with this your "it's our or their turn mentality". Why not say may the best, and well meaning candidate be elected, instead you are promoting sectionalism.
      So, just because you think it's Esan's turn, Obaseki can impose any Esan man of his choice, for the sole purpose of covering his ineptitude and malfeasance while in office?

14. I thought there is a constitution, why is he acting like the deputy is his ' nwa boi'??

15. Mr governor, this is what your predecessor did oh, guess politics is just a game.

16. Edo people are very backward, you can see that in the choice of their governors always electing wicked men who just came there to take money. Oshiomale did not do anything in 8years, same with Obaseki and with their predecessor Lucky igbinnedon. After Ambrose Alli Edo state has got into wrong hands. Oshiomoale is the onethat surprised me most.