Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Okays Fresh Suit Against Minister Musawa Over NYSC Brouhaha

Saturday, September 09, 2023

Court Okays Fresh Suit Against Minister Musawa Over NYSC Brouhaha

The Federal High Court sitting in Abuja has okayed a fresh suit seeking to restrain the Minister of Arts, Culture and Creative Economy, Ms. Hannatu Musa Musawa, from serving as a member of President Bola Tinubu’s cabinet.

The Originating Summons, marked: FHC/ABJ/CS/1230/2023, is seeking to not only declare the seat of the Minister as vacant, but to equally bar her from receiving salaries, emoluments and other perks attached to the office.

The Incorporated Trustees of African Leadership and Transparency Development Initiative, which initiated the legal action before the court, maintained that Musawa, being a serving National Youth Corps member, is not legally qualified to be appointed a Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
from Vanguard

10 comments:

1. Hmmmm....go and serve your father's land first

2. Hmmmmm. What are they filing a suit for?Was due diligence not conducted before she was nominated, screened and given approval?
    Which judicial system are you expecting to handle this matter?
    Abeg, she goeth nowhere.

3. nothing will come out of it, waste of time. if you are chosen by the power that be you are untouchable

4. Nothing will happen to her. The power that being nominated her

1. Correction fair lady "Power that be"

5. Isn't this lady over 30yrs of age?

6. NYSC, a bane on the Nigerian economy that has divorced tertiary institutions from industry and potential employers, is not a requirement for becoming governor or president yet, it is an excuse for those who are less busy to constitute a nuisance and point fingers.

This is the same way Shittu was hounded over NYSC that those doing it see as a punishment that everyone must do at the same time instead of laying the critical foundation for their career when the years and youth really matter.Thank God people are smart enough to delay it instead of wasting one year chasing $30 a month.

National service is not something you do running lunch errands in zenith bank or sweeping the floor with your feet at a government facility that is already overstaffed and legally, it can be deferred. Even working as a minister can be clearly argued to be national service.

That waste of time should be scrapped. If you want a compulsory year of service by citizens, we should copy the model of Israel or South Korea and have it in the military especially during this period of challenges on all sides. Another is the national guard of the USA. Nigeria should not be conniving to make her citizens less employable by making employers wary of investing in them. No university in Nigeria has any centres or training institute set up by industry giants because they know the people they train will only take those skills to another state/ company after graduation and it would all be a waste.

NYSC makes it far harder for people trained by universities or technical colleges to have any input from potential employers and also makes it near impossible to secure jobs: no one will put anything into you knowing that after graduation, you'll be shipped off somewhere else and they will have to look for someone to retrain. In the same vein, no one will want to invest knowledge in you in Gombe or Cross river knowing that you plan to head out after the one year to Lagos or port Harcourt. It's messing up recruitment and was set up before the internet that connects all as much as commerce.

The soldiers who set up NYSC managed to populate virtually all geopolitical zones of the country with their biological children, marrying and conducting affairs all about the place without needing NYSC, social media or business.

1. This is ridiculous. You cannot get a job as a graduate without doing NYSC unless it's a mushroom company. This law came into effect during OBJ's tenure. If ordinary citizens are prevented from earning a living through employment because they have not done NYSC, why should the leaders and political appointees whose salaries are paid from taxes from the same citizens (that was subjected to mandatory NYSC) be exempted?

7. Nigeria is hypocrisy promax