Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Tinubu Vows To Fulfil Promise Of Ensuring Nationwide Uninterrupted Power Supply

Saturday, August 05, 2023

President Tinubu Vows To Fulfil Promise Of Ensuring Nationwide Uninterrupted Power Supply

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, on Friday, vowed to fulfil his campaign promises of ensuring uninterrupted power supply across the country.

In a statement issued by his Special Adviser to the President, Media & Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale the president expressed readiness to tackle all obstacles militating against stable electricity supply in Nigeria.

According to Ajuri, Tinubu spoke at the ground breaking ceremony of the new 350MW Gwagwalada Independent Thermal Power Plant (Phase 1) in the Federal Capital Territory, FCT Abuja.

The president, according to the statement, stated that his administration would bring solutions to the multifarious challenges facing the electric power sector value chain.

Tinubu affirmed that improved energy generation and distribution is an imperative for development and national growth.
He urged the NNPC and its partners to deliver the landmark project within the promised three-year completion timeline, insisting that, “three years must be three years.”

“Although the Nigeria Electricity Supply Industry (NESI) is currently characterised by huge supply-gap deficits owing to dilapidated power infrastructure and poor distributions networks, amongst others, this administration is poised to address every power value chain challenge that will significantly relieve the suppressed demand, enhance generation, and improve national peak growth & sustainability far above the hitherto abysmal and unacceptable 5,300MW for over 200 million Nigerians,” the President declared.

from dailypost

15 comments:

1. Uninterrupted power supply across the country? May God keep me alive to witness this.

1. Amen oh and me too. But in all honesty, power supply have greatly improved in my area, before now we hardly use light for up to four hours in a day, but now we have been enjoying over twelve hours supply, I pray it gets better day by day.

2. When Niger gets China to build their own dam as you don cut their power, you'll tell me if you will have what you currently generate from your dams fed by river Niger.

2. Go away. The mannequin you brought, together promised same and much more. He left us worse off. Now, you have come to finish the country kpata kpata

1. Imagine this kind of negativity for four years. Compare the achievements of governor tinubu

2. Compare the achievements of governor Tinubu in terms of power generation in lagos state from 1999 to 2007 (even without receiving a dime from the FG for 6 years to run the state) to Peter Obi's non interest till he pretended to be doing a crash course in Egypt years after he left office and even contested for VP.

The best man won and that's good for everyone. Its even better that Obi's boss, Atiku and his former impromptu godfather, GEJ, lost their bids.

If lagos remains the best destination for everything good in Nigeria to the point that even Obi and Atiku choose to domicile themselves and their businesses there, Nigeria is currently fronting her best.

Everyone knows that when subsidy on items are removed, prices rise. In a poor country, mitigating rising prices is limited especially when debts need servicing and growth projects must be embarked upon.

It's time for those who lost elections to stop pretending that they have some magic to work abs that prices would not haveup when subsidy is discounted, which they promised to do from day one. Did the cost of goods not arise when Obi was governor and when Atiku was VP? Grow you own food and consume locally. Position yourself to gain from the level playing field in the financial sector by upping your skills. High levels of inflation are the reality all over the world today.

3. They go soon change mouth.

4. Until it happens, I don't believe.

5. We await the fulfilment of your promises, Mr President.

6. A promise is a comfort to a fool. But I hope your vow rings true

7. I’d rather a government who don’t talk much, just get to work, let’s all see it manifesting, and be the judge of it all. Then we can appreciate the government. Then one who comes, runs their mouth, do nothing but raise false hopes. I just recently left naija back to yankee. Yes (thank God) I had the money to spend, but I was unhappy most of the times, due to suffering I witnessed of people. Cooperate begging increased, frustrations on people, bread price skyrocketed, soft drinks, fuel, etc. like I said I could get all that. But how about small businesses?

1. Oga/ Madam, what about the rate of inflation in Yankee especially post COVID-19? Has the price of petroleum not risen there too as the republicans harp everyday? How many people in the same Yankee have insurance and actualaccess to health carewithouta job? Can you compare the percentage of people who pay taxes in the USA compared to Nigeria? And how much is the average tax bill compared to here in Nigeria where no one pays property taxes and a director in the ministry pays less than 40k tax monthly? How many refineries in the USA are government-owned and run? What is the IGR of your hometown, LGA and state that you want to turn Nigeria to USA overnight? Do you have any concrete ideas on how to achieve that? How much does the average Nigerian expecting cheap and free everything pay in council, state and federal taxes? What do they produce? I am not talking of buying cheap dollars to import goods sold at market rate o, but actual creation of value.

If the government kept quiet like that of Buhari, you will say they are taking citizens for granted. Talk nko, you will say they should not. Yankee results come from Yankee sacrifices which Nigerians are not ready to make.

The people in Benin, Cameroon, Togo and Ghana, in fact, in most African countries who have been using these same rates with far less IGR are not geniuses. Let us individually and collectively put solutions in practice because fine bara cannot take us to the promised land o.