Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NLC Threatens Nationwide Strike If Nigerian Govt Fails To Withdraw Contempt Suit

Friday, August 04, 2023

NLC Threatens Nationwide Strike If Nigerian Govt Fails To Withdraw Contempt Suit

The Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, has threatened to resume a nationwide strike on August 14, 2023, if the Federal Government of Nigeria refuses to withdraw a lawsuit filed against its leaders.

A statement on Thursday by the National President, Joe Ajaero and the National Secretary, Emanuel Ugboaja, said the union
reached the decision during its National Executive Council meeting held in Abuja on Thursday, vowing that it would go on a nationwide total strike any day labour leaders were summoned to court by the government.

The union accused the Ministry of Justice and the National Industrial Court of Nigeria (NICN) of allowing themselves to be used as “anti-democracy” agents.

They demanded immediate withdrawal of the litigation by the Federal Ministry of Justice before the end of work Friday, the 11th of August, 2023.
“To embark on a nationwide comprehensive strike beginning Monday 14th of August, 2023 if this contemptuous court summon is not withdrawn by whosoever initiated it,” the union said.

From Dailypost

6 comments:

1. I dey laugh NLC. They thought they are dealing with honorable men. In fact, all of them are the same species.

2. NLC should let us hear word jare. Always threatening without putting their threat into action.

1. Zaram you forget to add Toothless Bulldogs..no mind them no body will take them serious. Hisssss

3. Lol. Toothless bulldogs.. They want more rubber bones thrown their way. The one BAT gave them yesterday isn't enough. Always yapping. No action. Hisses.

Obi for president
    Wizkid FC
    Proudly Tiv

4. NLC, go on strike, no more fake 5 hour protests. Maybe AASU had not written handover on the last unpaid holiday they took the last time. Na them leave work, na them resume when nobody send them. The math is in and the facts clear. If you have any magic wand Mr Ajaero, wave it in Abia where your party is in charge. Nigeria has to balance it's books and you know that the little that has been saved since ending subsidy on PMS and USD cannot be wasted again on paying FG staff, most of whom don't contribute anything tangible to the economy abi who missed you yesterday?

34 states of the country simply cannot afford any increase in minimum wage and yet the FG has opted to directly make up the difference and yet, you went to disgrace yourselves yesterday. Most states are even owing currently and most governors like your principal, could not generate any net internal revenue since 1999. The only exception was BAT who ran the most expensive state without federal allocation for 6 years and did so well, Mr Atiku and Mr Obi continues to choose to live there.

FG staff account for less than 5 percent of organized labor. The banking staff who have already started to benefit immensely from current reforms have told you to sit down and reduce the volume as many are already successfully negotiating raises.

Come out let Nigerians hiss and face the business that pays them.