Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EX Beauty Queen Bianca Ojukwu Recounts The Shocking Story Of Her Wedding Cake

Monday, August 28, 2023

EX Beauty Queen Bianca Ojukwu Recounts The Shocking Story Of Her Wedding Cake

This story is a must read for everyone, especially if you have a Business..

''Each time I see the picture of my wedding cake, the rather funny but sad story of the wedding cake comes to mind.

I was told by a good friend, during my wedding preparations that there was a lady at Enugu that makes great wedding cakes. Infact my friend, though not familiar with the lady, offered to take me to hers:
Dressed rather casually, I decided to park my own Mercedes and I joined my friend in her own car which was a cute looking but modest Volkswagen (known as Beetle in those days) and she drove us to the cake maker’s place.

Upon our arrival, The popular cake maker, (whose name I withhold for obvious reasons) totally oblivious of my identity, took one derisive look at the car we arrived in, and was not impressed. I told her I needed her to make my wedding cake, and she started coming up with all manner of excuses.

First, she told me her cakes were very expensive and I definitely would not be able to afford it ( at 25,000 naira in those days), and offered to direct me to a cheaper cake place, stressing that she only makes cakes for important personalities ( even going ahead to drop names..such as one Union bank manager, one boutique owner, etc who in her estimation were ‘dignitaries’) but I told her that I could manage to afford it. She then asked where the wedding was taking place and I told her it was at Abuja. She said I would have to pay for her transportation to Abuja to mount the cake and that since she only travels by air, not road, this added cost would be difficult for me to carry, to which I replied that I would pay.

She raised the issue of hotel accommodation, which I assured her, would be taken care of. My friend kept nudging me and whispering in my ear, ‘ Tell this woman who you are so she can put a stop to these nonsense questions’, to which I replied no. I was secretly amused, albeit perplexed at that moment about human nature and social climbers, which by her attitude, this lady clearly was. What I found surprising was that the lady herself was definitely not well off, her own car was an old Corolla, her surroundings not plush, and she was merely one of those ‘I must belong by all means’ type of people, yet she had the temerity to look down on others she considered not ‘rich’.

To cut a long story short, still not convinced that I could afford her services ( judging by my casual dressing and the modest ride, which was not even mine, meaning I probably had no vehicle of my own), she briskly discharged us both, telling me to drop my number, and that she would call me. I dropped my number with her under my Igbo name Odinaka, and we left. I never heard from her again. I simply took up a generous offer from the Canadian chef at the Nicon Hilton Abuja then, who was a master baker, and my gigantic multi tiered wedding cake was made at no cost at all, simply as PR to market and advertise the Hotel’s services.

The Enugu cake maker one day, just a week to the wedding, saw the television broadcasts of our impending wedding which was a big event at the time, and realised it was me who had come to her place for a wedding cake. She flew into a panic and quickly managed to find her way to my house, and started begging, with all kinds of bland explanations, asking why I didn’t introduce myself ‘appropriately’ ( by which she meant as a ‘VIP’), and even offering to make the cake free of charge, but it was too late.

On this day, a beautiful breezy day in November 1994, it was a memorable wedding ceremony at the Nicon Noga Hilton ( Today’s Transcorp Hilton), Abuja, the first wedding event ever hosted there. And it was grand. The life size multi step cake, much bigger and more lavish than any conceivable one the Enugu cake maker could ever have offered, was donated by the management of the Hilton.

The Enugu Cake maker lost a great opportunity to showcase her skills and her product since the event was telecast across the country TV, radio, Newspapers, Magazines and every conceivable news medium with the Hilton Master Baker taking the cake credits. This advertisement masterstroke greatly boosted the Hilton Events hosting business and facilitated countless more weddings at the same Congress Hall at Hilton. Last I heard, the Cakemaker’s business has since folded after she faced some difficulties in her business several years ago''.

44 comments:

1. There are still many of her kind out there .

1. What an interesting story. It also shows a bit of who Bianca is. I enjoyed reading and learnt a lot.

2. Hahahaha, that is how the Enugu so called 'big ladies" behave including this Bianca. When she has her cake shop at New haven Enugu, if you enter her shop she will size you up from the vehicle you came with and the type of shoes you are wearing, whether they are 'bend down select' or designers, they are all the same.

1. Not sure about Enugu ladies. But in general, humility with wealth and fame is almost never together. The most tragic cases are ppl who start out from very humble beginnings who were able to turn their lives around and still look down on others in the same place they are coming from. This having arrived mentality is something else. I am not saying ppl should not evolve and change according to their new status, because you have to, protocols are different at every level, but treating all persons well never goes out of style.

2. What did you type?
      Na wa o🥺🤔

3. The whole population of Enugu ladies from one post/story? No now!

4. How many times do we have to listen to the same story OVER and OVER? I have read this story before!She need to either tell another story or sit down

5. How many times do we have to listen to the same story OVER and OVER? I have read this story before!She need to either tell another story or sit down

3. See the opportunity the caker maker missed just cos of her judging people by their looks.

4. you did well by not introducing yourself to that attitude cake maker, so if someone does not have a car or dress nice that means they cannot afford you. For a customer to visit your place that means the person can afford you. Please stop looking down on people cos of their appearance.

5. What a lovely lesson in this story.

6. Moral of the story - never look down on people.
    Such a sweet ending.

7. Lagos will teach you never to underestimate anybody o. Treat everyone with respect. God please help us o.

8. I enjoyed every bit of this story and I hope people learn from it.

9. I would have enjoyed this story but having read about Nigeria's history, it is definitely not for me.
    Aunty Bianca, what this before or after your husband destroyed the Igbos in Nigeria, with his actions killing millions of people while you ran away with him and your own children into exile.
    Your husband refused for Nigeria to be separated when it was suggested by leaders before him, he even had them arrested.
    In fact let me not go into this.
    Igbo people, the reason you are been discriminated upon till today it due to this family up there.

1. Go and re-read history. Ojukwu married Bianca several years after the war.

2. Bianca ran away with him and their kids during the civil war? Hian. Where do you get your own history books from?😂

3. Anon 16:00, I can tell u authoritatively that some people are primitively & parochially uninformed & sadly, u are one of them. U must not base ur ignorance on not being old enough to know ur country’s history & in ds regard , Ojukwu is part of Nigerian history & where u don’t know or are not sure of d facts, it’s advisable to ignore d post or discussion, as d case may be , instead of embarrassing yourself. Ds is why Reading Culture should be embraced by all. Cheers.

4. He escaped with his longsuffering first wife and children

5. @1600... It seems u have mental problem...Which Bianca went into exile? Bianca that was not born then..Bianca was born in the 70s and civil war was in the 60s.. Bianca married Ojukwu in the early 90s..
      In ur bid to run her down,u ended up exposing ur foolishness..

Coming to the trash u wrote about Ojukwu,the same marginalization you mentioned now was the reason we went to war..It did not start today..If we were not treated as second class citizens,Ojukwu wouldn't have declared war. wr are happy he did what he did even though we are still experiencing it till today.. People like u are the saboteurs that sold us out during the war that's why we were defeated..
      Go and bury ur face in shame..U have successfully disgraced ur entire Generation..Ozuor..

6. bomb dey your head. This is what hate does to people, slowly and gradually it peels always your reasoning

7. Anon 20.39, I cannot bury my head in shame because I have nothing to be ashamed about.
      Am I the one that ruined the Igbos?
      Whether you want to accept it or not, that man's action did and you are still suffering in it till date and not the woman up there in this post.
      No I do not have a mental problem, I am having a discussion without insulting anyone but putting my opinion out there.
      However you are too angry that you know no other way than to insult.
      Anon go and learn how to speak, I am not responsible for your frustration.

8. Your type is better ignored.

10. Never judge a book by its cover. Nice story.

11. Replies
    1. Not really. Even some doctors behave like this. You think they always asking what you do for a living to determine how it may relate to your health, some of them are sizing you up and you will be shocked to learn that many of them give a different level of treatment and care to those who are at a higher social status. Classism is a terrible problem globally and many ppl are kept down because of it. The most obvious representation of this is in the Indian caste system.

12. What a wonderful lesson. I personally attend to all customers with respect whether you look rich or not!

13. Chika(hello iya boys)28 August 2023 at 16:37

Lesson learnt never ever look down on any one ooo....

14. Someone told me this true life story. This man was searching for a girl to be his wife. A friend introduced him to this lady,they got talking.Both came from the same tribe ,long distance relationship. The man works in a reputable firm and earns well .

Each time he would travel to see this lady, he would disguise as a poor man. He took flight,got to his destination and lodged in a hotel. From there he would hire ' bike' straight to the lady's house.
    After the persuasion, efforts and all. The lady rejected him as she expected him to come with car.
    The man left and moved on.

He later met another lady, he did the same to her. To cut the story short, she accepted him , they got married. she later found out that the man is very rich . Till today the man doesn't joke with her.

15. Hmmmmm. This life ehn. I had a similar experience with one yeye skin specialist called shine shine skin spa at powerline. To even acknowledge and greet a customer in her waiting area is wahala. I had dressed down in a casual bubu and hired a rented car became of her location because of the treatment I was going for and the distance and area. She treated me so shabbily. I waited a hour and half to see her. She Rlrefused to even consult with me directly, said I should speak with her staff. When my friend told her who I was a few days later she was calling with a flimsy excuse. I just told her okay. Then blocked her number.

1. If she keep it up her end will be just like the cake maker. They think today is everyday, when life show them what tomorrow will be no then dem start jump up. Mtsscchhwww

16. I truly enjoyed reading this.
    Many Nigerians are social climbers behaving like this woman.
    Very irritating set of people.
    This is how their story always ends.

17. Hmmmm This reminds me of what happened to me over nineteen years ago. I went to pick some shoes from one shoe store( very popular)at Allen, Ikeja. The security man didn't allow me to enter the shop. He told me ,'they're busy'. I had a good laugh and left.. I had 70,000 with me . Infact I discouraged people around me to shop there .

18. this is just human nature 90% of persons would do same

19. I love this story, lesson learnt.

20. Most people do this it is called classism. Even in choosing the freinds they keep and associate with.

Most freinds leave when their freind is going through stuff, forgetting that live evolves and it will be their turn tommorrow.

21. This is very common in Nigeria.
    Hair salons, tailors and other service providers. Even in church, rich men and women sit in good seats, you will see ushers taking rich looking people to the front or where the A/C or fan is blowing well. As I found out, I stopped dressing casually. I dress in my lace boubous and other rich looking clothes and shoes. I get to sit in comfortable seat . I can't be worshipping God inside heat. And I can't stop church because of some silly ushers.
    Among friends too, it is common. I have a friend that relates with only our friends that are rich or that give her stuff. Me too kuku avoid her too. I dey my dey, let her dey her dey. Now processing my traveling, It will shock her when she sees abroad pictures. I will keep avoiding her when I relocate, just greetings on social media, no phone conversation. If she starts disturbing me forming closeness, I will block her on my social media.

1. Yes. The classism issue is so pervasive in the society that sometimes it is easy to go not notice it. And so many ppl accept that they should receive a different level of treatment. It is this same issue why Africa is so behind on development, ppl accepting that they do not deserve simple conveniences in life. Mtsscchhwww

22. Continued from the village story...(apologies as I clicked 'post' by mistake).

Now my mother is the most popular woman in her village and is known for her charity work and opulence. But mostly known for how she rewarded her parents and raised different families in her neighborhood including his.

At that point the idiot started begging and apologizing. I was so disgusted that I told him to F off and he left.

Becos I was swearing up and down and talking my Igbo with an accent, the village still makes fun of me when i pass by till this day.... to make me laugh.

They call me 'Fuck It, fuck fuck" and mimic my mannerisms that day. It became a village tale.

That village was Ife, Ezinhitte. Mbaise

23. I remember Bianca, as a child. She used to visit her friend (J) then in my estate in Enugu. We lived in the flat above her friend’s and I would usually watch from the balcony.

This was a nice read. Shows that she is actually down to earth, which I never knew.