Monday, August 28, 2023
43 comments:
How did we get here?. Why has everything about us now turned to tribal war?. God! this is so annoying. That is how world war lll wanted to erupt here because of oyingate name. Someone even posted Igbos wish Oyingate is Igbo by calling her onyigate. Can people please stop. This is dividing us the more. Let's do and say things that unit is more instead of all this
ReplyDeleteWho be this? Na Cameroon she come from?
DeleteShe's both right and wrong.
DeleteShe basically sounded proud that's why people came for her head.
Mao...she's a good actress.
Her best film to me was False Alert with Gabriel Afilayan before she switched personality.🤷
I know the Yoruba film industry is trying from Femi Adebayo to Kunle Afolayan to Odunlade Adekola to Toyin Aimakhu to Funke Akindele to Kemi Adetiba of wedding party. Abeg, I give it to them
Delete*afolayan. Haha
DeleteIt is only a tribalistic mind that will see something wrong with how Aisha answered the question. What is wrong with some people? And to think there are several tribes in naija but una body too dey hot. Not everything is about /against you.
DeleteAre they saying people in the east or North were not watching any home made movies for the specific audience? so you can never say yorubas started anything, lagos is not the whole of Nigeria, or you want to tell me Eastern or Northern audience were watching ogunde and all that . Low IQ
DeleteExactly 20:29. She is only aware of what was happening in her region and assumed it was everything. Which research did she do? What she said is based on her assumption and pov.
DeleteAnyhow she puts it, she can't claim that the Yorubas own nollywood. It has grown beyond what she thinks and can't be controlled by a particular ethnic group. Yoruba films are part of nollywood now. Take it or leave it.
Deletehello......
ReplyDeleteThere’s nothing they will not bring their tribalism into. Nollywood wey all of us gather dey manage now, they still wan own am. God help us all in that country
ReplyDeleteEverything na competition for them Nollywood is for everybody
DeleteNo lies in what she said. It's y'all that are "reading hidden meaning" to it
DeleteThem dey talk like say acting just start for 9ja or the world, theater arts has been there for ages, at least things fall apart etc has been there before nollywood started booming financially, just like saying you started music.
DeleteFirst celluloid was Ogunde. He trained two of his wives in the UK to operate and maintain the machines. First home video on VHS was Alade Aromire. The likes of Ola Rotimi and Isho pepper, Baba Ogunmola pioneered with international stage plays. Timi of Ede toured the world with his drums. If you had entertainment groups like those of these matters and record of their products, list them, no be fight. Yoruba have theirs with dates showing that they were the earliest and achievement showing they were the best.
ReplyDeleteFor every movie Tade Ogidan produced, there was an automatic lifting of the script eg Owo Blow. Photocopy o easy. The producers refused to compound the tragedy of the creatively challenged.
When hungry praise singers saw a few coins from Jonathan, they started to tamper with history, saying an indegenous language does not a Nigerian film make. Even those with a bit to eat, out of jealousy dismissed a better established and accomplished industry saying they were not educated, these untruthful people were churning out IQ reducing works in the name of films: no proverbs, no history, no philosophy, no spirituality, no poetry, almost all actors in stereotyped roles. When they persisted with this ignorance and started whining about the Oscars shun,, they were told that all sorts of English is spoken in the US and they are full, that you should have a bit of pride in your language, culture and history. The Yorubas continued with their originality in the arts, be it music, dress, poetry, prose, creating and maintaining their history, culture, language and identity instead of selling of in the name money and scale. That it is colonial mentality to give the excuse of official language when you are supposed to be telling a story of your own people.
The Yorubas have carried on with what they pioneered, leading the way, having no apologies for being themselves and happy to give directions for those still far away from self love.
Ire o.
Igbos, pls I beg u, stay out of this comment. Thank u.
DeleteIf you have your proof with you, enter comment, no fear truth.
Delete14:06 you're just evil and you just want to start a tribal war in the comment section.
DeleteTrue,the Yorubas started the era of celluloid film making,by Pa Ogunde and the likes..
DeleteBut,they don't own the film industry as a lot of their films in the late 90's up until the early 2,000's bordered on mediocrity.
So,she's correct when she says they started it,but my dear,owning it? NO
I agree with you,anon 14:06
DeleteI don't know why they are dragging this lady. When it comes to entertainment abeg leave am for southwest....NO tribalism na confirm.
I absolutely agree with Mariam
DeleteAre they saying people in the east or North were not watching any home made movies for the specific audience? so you can never say yorubas started anything, lagos is not the whole of Nigeria, or you want to tell me Eastern or Northern audience were watching ogunde and all that . Low IQ
DeleteIf you say so, you are right, if they disagree, they are also right.
ReplyDeleteWell she is right though. Even the music industry it is the Yorubas that a leading just that Nigerians are too sensitive and tribalistic and they turn everything to war, this is just the truth and it doesn't mean the Yorubas are better than Ibo or any other tribe.
ReplyDeletewhy does it have to be Igbo are they the only tribe in Nigeria that is in nollywood? inferiority complex will be Una greatest undoing
DeleteI think the Igbo people have inferiority complex. Always claiming the victim in every situation. They hate us. We are better. They don't want us. Out of about 500 tribes and languages and 4 major tribes in Nigeria?
DeleteThere are some BVs here, known for tribalism and bigotry. Even a clear case of a cheating teenager was net with tribal interpretations. Now they the facts are not in their favour, they are pretending to be above fray. Another post will come up and character, like smoke, will announce itself.
DeleteStella, you know those your topics you use as fodder for bigots or to Foster friction... inlaw from x tribe, living amongst x tribe, complaints about x tribe etc. Religious bigotry against traditional religion of x tribe, Don't keep them starving o.
Na all of una(tribalists) know. Whether it's Fulani or Tiv that started movie in Nigeria , this shouldn't be a bone of contention in the first place
ReplyDeleteBy the time y'all re done with your stupid!ty which you all display even on this blog, una eyes go clear.
50% of bvs re tribalistic by the way.
Only bvs from South-South re neutral.
Must you guys always use abusive words ? Let’s forget the fact that we’re all on social media most of the people we abusive here daily are way older than us .
DeleteLet’s all learn to tone it down please I get your point but please you didn’t have to throw insults yeah this tribalism is the reason why we aren’t moving forward because we can never speak with one voice and it really hurts me .
Anonymous28 August 2023 at 20:17.
DeleteSorry and pls don't be offended, just that it hurts and it's quite appalling to see bvs fighting each other due to tribalism.
I grew up in the midst of different tribes and we didn't even take note of the tribal differences between us and our neighbours as kids, But nowadays, anywhere I turn to, I feel the tribal tension . They always find a way to derail a post that's unconnected to their tribal war with their tribal fights.
If they started it then kudos to them for that. But at this stage Nollywood is so big and diverse I am not sure with so many players in the game if anyone truly “owns” it.
ReplyDeleteThank you. Had I seen your comment, I wouldn't have bothered with mine.
DeleteHow they hate Igbos so much but won't let them go is appealing, una go explain tire.
ReplyDeleteWhy do you people call everything hatred? Who hates who here? What's hate in saying the truth? Which of her statement is a lie or that sounds like a display of hatred? How will you feel if someone wakes up one day and says Afrobeat started from Spain or England? Won't you send that person back to memory lane? Should that person now call it hatred? Truth is sacred. We should all learn to be giving credits to pioneer of whatever we enjoy today. Yoruba people deserve our respect in Nigeria. The opened the doors in many fields and areas of life-media, entertainment, sport, education, etc. Give honor to whom honor is due.
DeleteI don't know why they are dragging this lady for answering a question. We should blame people that put out the narrative of who started Nollywood and not the lady who is putting the record straight. The truth and available facts are there for all to see that while Hubert Ogunde started film making, followed by Ade-Love (Ade Afolayan, Kunle Afolayan's father), Home Videos started with Alade Aromire's movie called Ekun in 1988 followed by other people like Yinka Quadri, Yemi My lover, etc. Living in Bondage came 4 years after by our Igbo people. So, how can you say otherwise when the facts are there? There is nothing tribal about the truth. When lies are told repeatedly they may look like the truth.
ReplyDelete👏👏
DeleteNo tribal connotation rara
God bless you.
DeleteTribalism !! What is she trying to prove ?
ReplyDeleteIs this what will bring food on her table?
No wonder Nigeria is still where it is,has she seen other actors in sane climes asking this kinda question??
That is partly why it is so hard for Nigeria to thrive as a nation. Tribalism and nepotism has eaten deep..........
Deleteoya Yoruba people go and collect receipt nah,
ReplyDeleteFrom the comments here, Igbos are the problems of Nigeria. They think every comment, every post, everybody is against them. See as they're all shouting Igbo Igbo up and down,are they the only tribe in Nigeria? Why haven't I see Hausa person catching cold from Aisha comment?
ReplyDeleteyou are so right, I mean look at how they made 1$ skyrocket to 900 naira and fuel at 800. very wicked tribe
DeleteAh, they should change the name Nollywood to Yorubawood naa.
ReplyDeleteWe can never learn and as long as we are tribalist, the country will never move forward. Never.