Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Traders Suffer Losses As Fire Destroys Goods Worth Millions In Aba Market

Monday, July 10, 2023

Traders Suffer Losses As Fire Destroys Goods Worth Millions In Aba Market

Traders have lost goods worth millions of naira and cash to a night fire incident, which occurred at Powerline Market, Aba, Abia state.

Those living around the market said that the fire started like smoke in one area of the market during the night and spread to other parts before morning.
The cause of the fire could not been ascertained, but it is alleged that inflammable substances kept in any part of the market could have triggered the fire.
The traders have appealed to the Abia State Government and good-spirited individuals for support.

From Vanguard 

19 comments:

1. Dear Nigerian traders,

Always insure your goods. Find a good insurance companies.

1. Tell them about insurance and they'll dismiss you with a laugh. In a country where nothing is certain, insurance should be at the forefront of most businesses. I heard the fire truck came all the way from umuahia the state capital quite unbelievable but true.

2. Very heartbreaking at a time like this. May God come through for all those affected in this loss of goods and properties.

3. I'm waiting for my Igbo brothers and sisters to come and accuse agbado people of putting fire there.

1. Tie your mouth if you have nothing useful to say, insensitive person, by the way I am neither of both people you mentioned

2. Anon 9.21, you too tie your mouth! Igbos are always playing the victim card and blaming yorubas and other tribes for every misfortune affecting them now- they can't continue like this. They have to look inwards and re-examine themselves and their relationships with other ethnic nationalities within Nigeria. Meanwhile, why are the Igbo elites quiet about the ongoing anarchy in the SE? Why are they not condemning the activities of the armed bandits and criminals?

4. This isn't a good way to start the new week..I really hope they get some necessary help to cushion the effect of this tragedy.

5. What a sad news in this country that things are not easy for anyone. Don't they have security guard who would have raised alarm or call the fire fighters. Oh Lord please come through for everyone that is affected 🙏🙏🙏

6. Haba, Nigerians and carelessness. They saw smoke in the night, and they didn’t go find out and quench it. See them saying it started as smoke in the night and by morning it had spread to other parts. May God replace what was lost.

7. TASTE BLISS CAKES AND PASTRIES10 July 2023 at 08:56

Kai this is sad, how will they cope in this difficult time, it is well with them.

8. So many loop holes in this story. Them never won tell us wetin really happen
    Someone will have to ignite fire before we even talk of seeing smoke

1. Not always. Smtimes it could be smoke from an electric spark, if there is an inflammable substance nearby, voila! That is all it takes.

9. What a loss. It is well with their souls.

They should have investigated the smoke though.

10. This is a big loss! It is well

11. All this fire are avoidable if simple health and safety regulations are strictly followed and imbibed. But not my people o Nigerians overloading of sockets, not using the right wiring, not replacing broken plugs ete all of this can cause fire overnight. Maybe we will learn one day ,when a body is set up to strictly regulates electrical procedures across broad.

12. This is a huge lost.
    Father Lord please intervene

13. No wonder some ppl pack up their goods and take home daily.

But market fires or collapse ain’t nothing new, every two years or so is another story sad somewhere. Truth be told, too many practising all kinds of things in those places. When too many different juju meet up things will happen.