Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fake News Merchants On Rampage As Nigeria Awaits Tribunal Verdict On Presidential Election

Monday, July 24, 2023

Fake News Merchants On Rampage As Nigeria Awaits Tribunal Verdict On Presidential Election

As Nigerians await the final decision of the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal, PEPT, on the petitions challenging the election of President Bola Tinubu, some rumour merchants are currently on rampage disseminating unverified news.

The petition filed by the Labour Party, LP, and its candidate, Peter Obi and his Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, counterpart, Atiku Abubakar challenging the outcome of the February 25 poll are still pending in the court.

There are indications that the tribunal may announce the date for the judgement in no distant time.
However, while the political space is being enveloped with tension, the social media is being flooded with fake news.

On Wednesday, a report emerged online purporting that a member of the court’s five-member panel, Justice Boloukuoromo Ugo tendered his resignation following alleged pressure from the ruling party.

The development was later debunked by the court.

Prior to the report of Mr Ugo’s resignation, the Supreme Court had on Tuesday denied a similar allegations stating that the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Olukayode Ariwoola purportedly had a telephone call with President Bola Tinubu in regards to the latter’s case before the presidential election court.

The reports had alleged that Tinubu and the CJN recently had a phone conversation discussing how to pressurise the presidential election court in a bid to rule in favour of the ruling party.

Also, social media reports said Mr Ariwoola had a phone call with the Director General of the Department of State Services, DSS, Yusuf Bichi, concerning proceedings involving Tinubu at the court.

However, a statement issued by the Supreme Court’s director of press, Festus Akande, said the apex court was not aware of the purported call allegedly meant to manipulate the outcome of the petitions.

In the same vein, Tinubu’s party, the APC, denied the allegation of a phone conversation between the CJN and the President.

There was also a report of former Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike purportedly having a meeting with the judges in Haruna Tsamani in Malaga, Spain on how the tribunal judgement would favour Tinubu and his party.

Atiku and Obi in their separate suits, are praying the court to set aside Tinubu’s victory on account of electoral fraud allegedly carried out by the electoral umpire.

A third petition filed by the Allied Peoples’ Movement (APM) is also pending before the court.
Atiku and Mr Obi had accused the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, of manipulating the 25 February presidential election in favour of President Tinubu.
Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State had according to INEC’s final results, defeated Atiku, who came second in the race, while Mr Obi clinched the third position.

Lawyers to concerned parties in the petitions have last week exchanged final written addresses in preparation for the last sitting before judgement is delivered on or before 16 September, when the suits will lapse.
From Daily Post

30 comments:

1. Fake news promulgators/purveyors everywhere
    Smh!
    We are patiently waiting to see how everything unfolds

1. No o! Rain fell when they were in court so both Atiku And Obi won together.

2. We shouldn't also forget that this same CJN lied when the news broke out that he applauded the G-5 governors on an occasion held in Port Harcourt. When the video was presented as evidence and shown to the world, he admitted that he actually made those comments but jokingly.

So tell me, why should I believe whatever such a man debunked? Zero integrity and transparency he has displayed before now.

Why was he sighted on a wheelchair in London months ago shortly after the election? Was he at anytime handicapped to work on his feet or he did that in order to disguise himself from the public eyes.

Was he not among the supreme court judges that awarded Ahmed Lawan and Akpabio victory on a case they never took part in the party primary election. Where then is the justice here?

The husband to an Appeal court judge, one Bulkachuwa also attested during the Senate valedictory session on how he influenced his wife on the other room to truncate justice in favour of his friends and party members. Are we going to feign ignorant it didn't happen or heard him say that?

So I asked, where is the transparency and honesty among these men?

1. How do you look now???
      Mr.Ugo resigned bloh blah bleh

2. Obidients will create a scenario in their heads, put it out and and start promoting the lies with the hopes that it becomes true. Its always the same pattern like Endsars. Create a lie, repeat it constantly to deceive the gullibles and with the hopes that it becomes true. Your whole life is based on creating and promotion of lies. Lie that will come back and destroy you! 😊

3. You don't need to go anonymous Ode. I don't bite rather I will engage you in discussion with a good rejoinder if I notice you're sensible from your comment. I never stated Justice Ugo resigned on my own. I remember stating that very day that I hope what I read on Twitter about his resignation isn't true.

4. Na you be ode ni e
      Okavu!

5. As usual, it is expected of you to display your elegance of ignorance and sentiments clouded with misinformation. Was the CJN on the Lawan’s case? Did the People Gazette journalist who put out that fake London airport wheelchair picture apologize for false alarm and false information? And why do you have to choose and pick without contextualising the CJN’s comment when in port Harcourt? Your Justice Ugo’s comment is still hanging on your neck. You claim to know too well but are very ignorant that Nigeria has always have a Foreign Affairs ministry. You remember your blunder few days ago? I with you could channel this same ignorant energy to fight against the killers in the south east that you all championed and brought out.

6. Anons na wa for una o. Comment your own and leave.
      Anons, how much is fuel in your side?

7. The price of crude oil is globally set and the price of refining and importing which we currently do is competitive making Nigerian Fuel the cheapest in west Africa at the moment.

Expand your knowledge and face reality. The subsidy removed by Buhari which Peter Obi and Atiku promised to remove from day one was bankrupting Nigeria.

When spending years insulting Buhari for his clearly poor performance, you forgot to take advantage of his CNG conversion plan and now, you are expecting a national government to make personal financial decisions for you. I'm sure you still have not checked for any conversion plant in your state or advocated for more of such so people can get affordable fuel. How childish: price of gas fell internationally, it was fine not to give credit but now that fuel price has risen out of no one's fault in Nigeria, it's BAT.

Nigeria is in debt and dangerously poor. The only governor in Nigeria's history who created wealth without oil or federal government allocation for over 6 years is the one in charge now after winning the election. It is time for austerity after years of wanton waste. There is no more free lunch as we just cannot afford it with all the debt. Those who voted for BAT faced reality and went for the best hand instead of false promises. Their opinion counts just as much as yours.

3. The judiciary, we are awaiting your judgement. Posterity will judge you all in this case.

4. All the lies manufactured from the factory of Elluppee Plc

1. True that
      The man above me and co ltd

2. I swear.

3. They will cry again, their plot since 2020 which was disguise as End Sars failed, misleading some youth vote against the president failed
      , this will not be different they will continue wailing. Sick people move on

5. If we honestly assess these stories, they are largely from LP supporters who have taken a position that they must 'put the judiciary under pressure', their reaction on social media when these stories break show that it is from their camp as they almost always support these ridiculous stories.
    Remember the huge noise they made about live transmission of the tribunal sittings, as if the court is now Big brother house.
    While the court was sitting, their spokesmen and campaign DG were going round TV stations conducting interviews everyday as if they're not the same party in court.
    Even PDP that came 2nd has not made 10% of the noise from LP supporters.

Court will soon deliver its judgment, we dey wait.

1. Aptly said
      I like that we all now see through them

6. I guess some people are buying fuel N195.

Even those that said Endsars was a scam, that no killings recorded have disappeared to their holes.

7. We do election, the declared winner naturally wants his victory sustained.
    Candidate that came 2nd talk say na him win.
    Candidate that came 3rd is even screaming the loudest say na him win, he even dey tell us say Abuja residents are superior Nigerians whose votes are more important than the other 36 states combined.

And the 3 of them say they want the court to give them 'justice'.

Justice cometh.

1. Good point.

I keep asking if Obi is ready to agree that Atiku won and if Atiku is ready to cede this phantom victory to Mr Obi. If they believe the other didn't win, why didn't they drag each other to court for rigging?

People have grown a terrible appetite for fake news and it won't help them.
      You go just day over Corner, day deceive yourself.

8. Sometimes i just wonder how some of the supposed leaders of tomorrow think through anything thrown at them on SM or if they do at all, before commenting on topical issues.
    How do you confidently and repeatedly push out a false narrative that a man dressed in his usual suit with his signature cap on, with no sunshades or mask on, was in disguise and on his way to hold a clandestine meeting with a presidential candidate, just because he was in a wheelchair at an Airport .... or asking about what is clearly unrelated to the topic.
    Please our youths can do better.

1. Some of our youth are lost to the noise on social media, easily mislead with lies painted as truth by some individuals.

2. They can but some choose not to. For ordinary 200k, they will concoct all manner of lies and put their faces out there to serve falsehood.

9. Thanks TJ for tackling these miscreants on here! Is like you will go and further in law join your accounting qualification! Kudos! My brother 🙏 💙
    Continue to give them gbas gbos.

1. Continue to blow your own trumpet Mr tj the anonymous.

2. Sorry @ 00:38! I am the person that wrote that comment and not TJ! My writing is overly different from how he writes!
      I am a high level professional, who has been on this blog for over 10 years! I am so grateful for this guy's tenacity in rounding up all you inglorious human beings, who are so vile,that you have sold your conscience to the dogs!!!
      I come here to wind down after an hectic day,so now time for tomfoolery!!!

3. Stop the lies and trying to write differently, the wrong use of punctuation(,) gave you away. YOU ARE TJ.

10. It is sad that with high fuel cost, high unemployment and devalued naira, some idiots are still fighting among themselves about APC, PDP and LP. Do people in Nigeria really hate themselves this much?

11. One thing I have learnt from this election is that the average Nigerian is currupt, wicked and selfish… Anyways the likes of hush puppy will be president in a few years at this rate..