Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CHRONICLES OF A MARRIED MAN

Friday, July 28, 2023

CHRONICLES OF A MARRIED MAN

Speaking in tongues is not compulsory

When I was a young bachelor, I was invited to a popular Pentecostal church.
They have branches scattered in every part of Nigeria and abroad.

Before closing, new comers were asked to come out, as usual. We all came out, men and women, mostly youths. They gave us forms to fill, welcomed us and prayed for us.

During prayers, they started speaking in tongues and started calling on the Holy spirit to enter us and make us start speaking in tongues too. They asked us to start calling on him to enter us.

Some of the new comers started "speaking in tongues" too. I and two other people did not. They told us that it is compulsory to speak in tongues in their church. They now started intensifying the prayers and attempted to touch my head, I moved away and told the man not to touch me on the head. People present were looking at me like I was the Devil himself.

He was angry but tried to hide it, he said I have to speak in tongue. I should keep calling on Holy Spirit.

I was visibly irritated, I challenged him and asked if is it forced? why are you being aggressive about it? is this how it was done during Jesus' time.
This provoked him, he said I should go out and come back for deliverance on the evening of a specified weekday.

This was my last time of stepping foot in that particular church.
The day I narrated it to my wife, she laughed and said it reminded her of her own experience growing up in one Apostolic church like that (name withheld, side eyes at Pinky)

They were mandated to speak in tongues while some were into prophesying, anyone who doesn't would be looked down on, seen as an outcast. So, she and a few other kids would fake it and speak in "tongues" in order to fit in. Lol.

I'm sure some bvs can relate. 

32 comments:

1. I was given a verse to read, I lost interest.
    Is that a ticket to heaven?

2. Brace up bro! They will come for you.πŸ˜†πŸ˜‚. Speaking in tongues is by force in some Naija churches o. Still searching for where "iyagayagajbairrkete santorobo" is in the Bible. My friend told them "...but what's coming sounds like rubbish. How can I be speaking rubbish?" and they said "Exactly! Just say it!" Na there she know say she don enter one chance that day.πŸ™„

Holy Spirit don hear whiiiin for their mouth. If you pray and add it sef, I will not say amen even if you be Pope Francis. But if it's working for y'all, bless up!✌

1. Amebo are you insinuating that speaking in tongues is rubbish because all those languages they speak are not in the bible?

2. I am not insinuating dearie. I am SAYING it is rubbish and that has always been my stance here and everywhere. Speaking in tongues means speaking in other languages that other human beings can understand especially if you are in a congregation. Others must be edifed by your tongue or you KEEP QUIET. That's what the Apostle Paul said. It is not rambling on in an audio "heavenly" language to show you are a woke Christian.

3. I don't have the spirit of speaking in tongues and I will never fake it. Some of this churches that force people to speak in tongue sef

4. Some churches even teach their members how to speak in tongues they say some words and ask them to repeat it as if that's how it was done in biblical era

1. 😳😳😳

2. Yes o. I met a pastor's daughter once who said her parents train members to speak in tongues. I challenged her with bible verses that said it's a gift that comes suddenly and must be interpreted or is understood by those around. That day I became the Satan to her Spirit.

3. These are the people speaking confusion and shege into the atmosphereπŸ™„. See as dem con jam bulababalablu president laslas. The Holy Spirit cannot be mocked and "sins/blasphemy against the Holy Spirit can never have forgiveness." Na Jesus gangan talk dat one for Mark Chapter 3.

5. Na wa oh! I love that you stood your ground. There are other gifts of the Holy Spirit one can possess: it's not only speaking in tongues. However, the Holy Spirit decides what gift should be bestowed on us based on our readiness. Can all speak in tongues without interpreters?

1. Dem no dey like other gifts o. Na dat rambosataribobo gangan all of dem want. Do they even know how many souls one single song ministration can win into God's kingdom? Or the films by Mount Zion? Or books? Or teaching? These are all talents and gifts for soul winning but they all focus on tongues that not even one person out of the 7billion on earth can understand or interprete. Make dem dey play.

6. Tell Tonto to teach you in written form or that preacher that always call out akant number or asking people to share while speaking in tongues, may God help us. If only oyinbo people that brought Christianity knows wetin naija people dey use am do ehn

1. You are wickedt!!πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£. Baba dey drop aza in tongues. Tonto don carry people cruise for this life sha.

7. Some people will just be shouting ". Shakira roboto, Shakira roboto"

1. Go away!!!!!
      Choko full this blog abeg.
      🀣🀣🀣🀣

Na dat "nack urhobo, santurhobo" dey sweet pass. Everybody go just dey misbehave for church in the name of speaking in tongues.

2. I have honestly never taken this speaking in tongues seriously. And I have had to suppress my intense desire to laugh at times. And you are quite right that robusta robusta is what I hear all the time. Robusta is even a type of banana where I am from.

Anyhow, I do understand the euphoria that can pass through a crowd of ppl and how that euphoria can manifest in many different physical occurrences.

8. Speaking in tongue is inspired by the Holy spirit not by force.

9. This reminds me of what my friend told me, she said when she was pregnant, she was over due for delivery, infact three weeks overdue no show and that every night, a cat is always on the fence crying at exactly 1am. Every single night! She was so worried and confided in a mature christain woman who told her her she has to speak in tongues in order to confront the cat and it's not just about prayer. She said she doesn't know how to speak in tongues but the woman encouraged her that she should just say anything that comes to mind. Tor, that night at around 1am cat started crying again and she just shouted some gibberish in the form of prayers and speaking in tongues πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, she said the cat was so confused that it fell and broke it's leg, the next morning she gave birth to her baby. I laughed eh but thank God it ended in praise.

1. The cat sef shock🀣 but great testimony. How she take know say the cat break leg though?

2. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣
      This is very funny. See me laughing like a dunce. The rubbish she was saying confused the cat and it fell and broke it's leg. She was standing in from of the cat and praying? Abi how she take see say e break leg?

10. I can relate.
    Omo this particular topic is kinda emotional for me.
    I have never heard my mom speak in tongues until one day I was sitting beside her on a Sunday service in LFC during general prayer in 2019 she burst into tongues. & since then she has been speaking but not much(that's our church until I ported).
    When I did baptism in LFC some years ago we did foundation class and we were thought the bible, prayed for us and asked us to speak in tongues, although the prayer was really heated up but the tongue no gree come o.
    Ok I believe its a gift that comes upon us as human whenever the spirit of God is willing or satisfied with your work in Christ? I don't even know what to say.
    Me now I don't speak and it's a big thing in my church.
    Sometimes I will be asking God why can't I speak, sometimes self I form it cos I really want to speak it. But then I always feel like am i really doing the right thing?
    I always pray for it sha.

1. May the gift that you desire from the Holy Spirit be granted unto you. The truth is that when the Holy Spirit comes upon you to speak in tongues, even you may not remember what and how you spoke. Na others go tell you except you were recorded or filmed. Every single language the apostles spoke on Pentecost day was understood by the people (of different nationalities) present). That is speaking in tongues and the type you must pray for NOT the unintelligible ramblings that is on permanent repeat in many pentecostal churches. God cannot be mocked.

11. Speaking in tongues is not rubbish it is expedient but never compulsory. It CANNOT be learnt or taught. Where una dey see all this kind church sef !!

1. "It cannot be learned or taught."
      WordπŸ‘Œ.

12. Cat no fit fall break leg make una rest. All the speaking is tongues of today na rubbish. What was recorded in the bible as speaking in tongues is when a Yoruba man that only speaks Yoruba goes to preach to ijaw man that does not understand Yoruba the holy spirit will make the Yoruba man to speak ijaw so that the ijaw man will understand, but today own both who they speak and who them they speak to no understand shit. GTFOH.

13. I hope you did not sign any forms.

1. Do they sign forms in church as a new comer? Sign form for what? Orishirishi