Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Saturday, July 08, 2023

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

Hmmm...

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
WHAT DO I DO?

I have noticed in the recent time that my staff are now forgetful, you send them on an errand, you drop a message for them, you give them an instruction, you ask them to buy some items like plumbing materials with a list and samples. Some times they will not give the seller the list or show them sample. They come back with items and when you try to cross check you find out items are not complete or not the same, when you ask they will tell you they forgot.

The only time I get what I want is when I call vendor to discuss items but I am not always free to do that cos of work. I cannot go myself cos of the nature of my position, I don't have assistant. Leaving the office to buy items my bosses will not allow me. They always ask me to send the drivers which end up buying rubbish.

Most times they call me from there asking me what I have said or what I asked them to do. Other times they leave items behind not dropping it where I want it to be dropped. There work is not stressful cos there are days no pressure till closing yet these people still defect. What can I do cos I am fed up and is annoying, I have spoken to them individually, collectively still no improvement. The one that was the best among them has finally joined them with forgetting things. I feel IT is a deliberate act so that I can stop sending them but I cannot leave the office. Should I report this issue to my bosses or HR

If you report all of them and they get queries or lose their Jobs, you might not feel better.I think they are like this because you may be too harsh and not treating them right...Please change tactics and see how they will do things perfectly to make your Job easier...
Sometimes the authority you want to force on people is not necessary if you dont do it well....Small small tips will also do the magic...LOL

41 comments:

1. If na me I go SACK ALL OF THEM AND KEEP SACKING TILL I GET IT RIGHT.

Fan Emmanuel

1. Sister Mi,

Wait until you own and run a company firstπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. You are obviously not a good manager. Your entire team cannot be this bad.

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, Fan, for how long will you continue to sack, do you put into consideration the cost of hiring at all? It's not always as easy as it looks.

4. Make a Check list, Download or snap the pictures of items then finally before the leave the market to call you.
      Better still if you have frequent items you purchase often. Have 3 vendors and their WhatsApp info. send them your order, Then get the driver to go pick it if Delivery fee is too much. Since it is a company, call the respective vendors have 3 Quotes and place order with the person with competitive price. It eases off the unnecessary burden.

Sisi Nene

5. Anon 16:47, that's not true; don't pray to have a direct report who's a bully. They would usually rally others against you...

6. Stella has said it. That small small tip, forget oh it does magic. If not, they'll be lackadaisical with the errands. Na so most staff be

7. Weaponized Incompetence

2. Is the errand part of their job description? I think in an organization/company, there are people(office) responsible for purchase. I guess it's the purchasing department or so.

There's nothing wrong sending anyone on an errand but when it becomes everyday thing when it's not in their job description, then it's unfair.

1. Yes is part of their description. These are items we use in the office, I am supposed to go and buy them but I would not be allowed to go out as work will be hanging if I do so. Even my boss recommended I send them to get it then going out myself.

2. I think you need a procurement personnel.

3. Pls don't take Stella's advice. Report to the HR and serve them queries. The worst of them should be sacked as a scape goat so others can sit up.
    Nigerians need iron hand so don't over pamper them

1. Thank you very much cos I have noticed if is their personal errands they will not mistakes. Even when others from another department send thrm on an errand, these are managers I still get same complain from them. When you confront the drivers they will say they forgot but ask them to take money or travel for a trip which they would get paid non will ever forget.

2. When one is sack, the rest will sit up. The streets are not green o.
      Honestly, we need iron hand.
      Theory x and y should be applied.

4. Poster don carry wetin I sabi chop come. Oh-la-la! Can you facilitate their sack or reassignment to other departments? What rubbis#! They are playing with their daily bread; let them kwantinu. Put out an advert for 10 workers and watch as 1000 people apply within an hour. If they don't like their jobs anymore, let them resign and go to somewhere they like na. Silly people. When you sack them now, they'll start taking your name to evil spiritualists that God will epp you and punish for 600 years.

Suggestion/advice: If you can afford to, get a known/legit hustler outside that needs money to be sending list and location to. The person will pick up what you've ordered, confirm them and bring them to you by Uber or public transport. Render them redundant. When dem see say you no dey send dem again and you still get things done, na dem go come beg you say their memory don get full network bar. Once Nigerians see say no way for "roger" as per say you know the original prices and suppliers, dem go dey misbehave yet dem go dey blame government for everything. Dem value "extras" pass their main income wey dey employment letter. Thieves! If dem get selective amnesia, make dem well fess before they come back to work na.

1. I totally go with you. What a NONSENSE! I decided not to be too close to my Engineers / Technicians because of their gang ups.
      When it was too much of the Engineers, I promoted a senior Technician to an Engineer Position. After a year, I made him an Assistant Manager. Now, their heads has been gradually straightened up.
      And I already placed adverts for 4 technicians and 2 Engineers.
      Anyone that wants to go should do. But everyone that remains MUST be loyal. That is sacrosanct.

@KSB Truth

2. Anonymous 15:28 I will think about this method but it will be wrong for a company to have operational vehicles for errands and I will be using Uber. If I post anything of such I will be asked questions but I will find a way to be going on the errands myself and ignore them all . I will ask thrm to just drive me to the locations, I do my purchase and thry drive me back to the office.

Anonymous 16:18 staff need iron hands else they will never be loyal. Is good that you are showing them that whoever is not ready to work should kiss the gate. I also noticed they talk so long on phone when on errands and even when in the office. We have free sim, free phone plus free recharge.

3. Don't you have suppliers? Get the number of the people you buy from send them your order, let them package it and give to the drivers. When you confirm make payments. If the order misses between the shop and the office deduct from their salary.

5. This is outright disrespect na. Simple. Because they feel you won't do anything. Me o, I can be very harsh and disciplined sometimes because yes, actions have consequences. I will report one or two. If you're given query or even sacked, that's not on me.
    People need to learn to respect authority. Whether your boss is way younger than you, lenient, harsh or doesn't "tip" you, he is your boss. Respect his position! I don't understand. People give tips out of the goodness of their hearts, it's not a responsibility. You can't not be doing your job well because your boss doesn't tip you or too harsh
    God abeg o

1. So correct, why should I tip them on their job description? Who tips me when I do my job? I usually get something from everyone in the department once in a while but dashing money from company's money that I will account for is not me at all.

2. Send them back with bus to get the forgotten item.

6. It seems like a deliberate. It also seems that they normally discuss this and coach each other on how to carry out the "forgetfulness".
    They are in a sort of war with you. Try and find out why, then you would know the next step to take.
    Best wishes.

1. I have asked thrm nicely if something was wrong or I am harsh to them but they kept on saying nope that they forget. I believe is a deliberate act and I will take action after this.

7. They want tips ni, they believe you're collecting more than you need from the top and pocketing the rest without giving them any. Try and be motivating them by giving them tips if there's any

They might even getting their tips themselves by liaising with the vendor, if that is the case, report them abeg

1. Give tips to staff from company's account?

2. Your first paragraph of suspecting that he's collecting more putting in his pocket is what I feel that is the reason they are ganging up against him.
      The most complex B

8. Poster from your post it is either you are in procurement or Admin. This is very simple and has to do with tactics.

Your vendor management has to be top notch. Why not do stock taking and purchase your items monthly or fortnightly. Once you have negotiated with your vendors, share the specifics or PO with them then let the drivers only pick up the items.

If its plumbing items, let the plumber purchase the items themselves after negotiation.

If possible, ask your boss for an office assistant or cleaner to accompany the driver to purchase the items.

Even if you keep reporting or querying them, you will get exhausted cos there is none out there that is any better. Sometimes tip them when they do well and ask how they are doing. They have a lot in their mind too cause they are humans; how to navigate traffic and come back to the office to pick up Oga or Madam.

All the best

1. I am in the admin, we cannot purchase those items in bulk or on monthly basis cos we have requests made from procurement on that. We spend on daily basis on little little things within the office. Like changing if door key cylinder, purchasing fuel for grass cutting machine, buying of table water when we exhaust the approved one for the month.

Is called petty cash expenses, I cannot tip them cos our company is against tip. It means corruption, tips will look like I make money from the items I bought or I have plan with the vendor to sell substandard items. Going on an errand is part of their job description.

9. If you have the vendors number call them directly with your list and then transfer the money to them. Let your staff go and get the stuff from them only and bring to you or where you want them to take it to. They are intentionally being forgetful because they don't want you send them again

1. I agree with you about their attitude on forgetting so that I will not send thrm again. I do call vendors, send money into their account, but I have some things I purchase that I don't have any vendor to call. Sometimes with pictures they will select the wrong size and I will have to send thrm back to return those items.

10. @amebonamyjob you sabi them.
    Poster give them last warning, threaten them with sack, of they still misbehave use one person to do scape goat you go see how their brain go reset.
    Maybe you can promise them weekly tip if they do a good job.

11. Poster this is simple, tell your HR to recruit a purchasing officer to manage the position. I think it is a deliberate attempt by your staff to frustrate you so that you won't have to send them messages. You can ignore them and get a purchasing officer or an assistant admin officer to do the job for you.

Peace.

12. Hire a procurement officer and everybody is happy

13. They keep doing it because they know there will be no consequences.
    Hope the errands you are sending them on is within the scope of their job description if not that might be the reason.

14. Omo, give these fools query na. They are beginning to take you for granted. Write them up and watch them sit up.

15. Poster, I somehow agree with Stella points of view.

Firstly, check your work relationship with them, there must be something you're not getting right, but then one cannot really tell if they're trying to sabotage your work or not.
    Try talking to them collectively again, make them understand the consequences of their actions based on the company policies, however, if there's no improvement from any of them, then it is time for them to be queried and probably be suspended without pay, make dem feel what it means not to be diligent with ones job.

16. Give the vendors and them the list to make sure the get the right thing. It may be tough but make that extra effort

17. Well people don’t go crazy when their husbands always buy the wrong thing
    Some men try but it still happens so just stop sending all of them
    Start sending only the best among them and put a commendation Letter on his role

18. You have to sack at least one of them to set example for the others. Don't tip them anything, that will be rewarding incompetence. Do that and they will always ride you. Only tip people who are good at their job not people deliberately making mistakes. Put your foot down.

19. Believe you me
    But i think someone is practicing black magic in your office.
    I struggled with this as well for close to a year that got so bad that it could take me an hour to type a simple email or memo. I knew something was wrong with the environment until a lady in my team was transfered. I immediately felt a release that week so much so that one or two people casually mentioned that the unit felt different and lighter. I just smiled within and knew that that individual was actually doing or carrying something dark