Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Yomi Fabiyi Replies Colleague Jaiye Kuti After She Slammed Actors Who Beg Online

Tuesday, July 11, 2023

Actor Yomi Fabiyi Replies Colleague Jaiye Kuti After She Slammed Actors Who Beg Online

Nollywood Yoruba actors Jaiye Kuti and Yomi Fabiyi share different Opinion about Online beggars..Please read and indicate if you agree with Jaiye or Yomi.....

18 comments:

1. JK is very right. I don't understand why some people working will belittling themselves as if people owe them anything

2. No matter how one prepares, no man is wise enough to escape the problems of life. Let's just be a little bit more humble as am sure some of those begging now must have saved just as you.

1. These people are not begging because they have chronic ailments that have consumed their net worth. They are asking others who have paid taxes all their lives and those who are currently doing so, to build houses for them and buy them cars, saying they're association did not do so.

If you own your own house or are planning to own one, is it the Nigerian bar association that built it for you or the manufacturing association of Nigeria? Does the institute of chartered accountants give members millions for building their personal portfolio? Does the Nigerian medical association pay medical bills of it's members or sponsor their qualifying exams?

Before his current fame, Sisi Quadri had built his own house in Iwo. Another actor (I can't remember his name but he keeps an afro and white beard) who has never produced his own movie, built for his father and then himself from his training as a barber. Yinka Quadri went into poultry farming years ago realizing that he needed to secure his future. Ogogo is into animal husbandry, keeping cattle. Iyabo Ojo was running a clothing store, Fespris, when she was still working with Muka Ray's group. Liz Anjorin despite a sizable inheritance, went into real estate and trade. Muka Ray started to learn trade under some of his fans and now own his own hotel. He last produced a movie more than a decade ago. Others went abroad for greener pastures because they decided not to burden the already burdened.

Even the late Pa Kasumu despite producing only one movie in his life, managed to acquire land and a decent bungalow before his death. Ajigijaga was buried in his own house. Dejo, with his health challenges and many dependents, managed to out down the foundation and walls of his house in addition to training his children. Ibrahim Chatta is building his own film village in Kogi or Kwara, planning for tomorrow. He is also breeding horses. I have listed more of the males so that poverty -minded people will not assume that the female actors are like them.

Sule Suebebe has children who have vocally said they are not interested in assisting him in any way as he was not a responsible father. His colleagues have hinted at his lewd conduct especially towards new entrants into the industry.

Begging is spiritual. If you think of it as an easy out, you will do it for a long time.

Your future is your to plan. Yoruba elders warn us not to eat with our ten fingers. Da eru to mo pe o Le da gbe. Even when seeking assistance, let us see how you have assisted yourself.

3. Well, Jaiye Kuti hit the nail on the head.

4. She made a careless statement! Her comment is why so many elderly people suffer in silence. Nigeria does not have a social welfare system that supports the elderly. Let's be our brothers keeper. No one knows tomorrow. Even if you think you have your tomorrow well planned, still support the vulnerable just for humanity sake.

1. Learn to save a-little for the future. Stop expecting that when you are in need in old age, the younger ones must assist. No one owes anyone who is an adult anything. Anyone who offers to assist is doing so out of their good heart. Stop burdening people with your burdens of careless youth lifestyle.

Why am I saying this, she didn’t make a careless statement. Any hardworking person will agree that those are true words. It is different when life happens after years of saving, but refusing to save and expecting with an entitlement mentality is careless.

5. I'm with Yomi on this, most of the actors and actresses coming out to seek for help are old cats, whose work were not as profitable as it is now during their time, we should also not forget the menace of piracy in their time, how many of them got ambassadorial endorsement during their time when there was nothing like social media, so many of the new cats make millions from different social media platforms every month which the old ones were not even exposed to during their time despite churning out meaningful movies, what about exposure as in international recognition that they are enjoying now? They should let them be, after all na we dey talk am say it is better to beg than steal or die in your need, even Bible says, ask and it shall be given unto you, madam Jaiye Kuti should let these people breef abeg.

1. Their fellow old cats went through the same struggles, some even earning less and being less famous but still managed to save and grow for tomorrow.

A car is not a need, it's a liability. It is not the job of TAMPAN to build you a house especially as a non-member.

2. Thank you 19:50 🙌🏽

6. Life moves right to left, left to right then up & down

7. Yomi fabiyi is right, it’s not a crime to beg, if you like you give, if you like don’t give. Allow those that a giving to lend a helping hand. It’s better to beg for help when in need than to steal or die in silence. Let’s be kind and humane to one another. Nigeria is hard enough and our leaders are greedy and selfish.

8. I guess we have normalized begging. It is shameful. At least have the decency to beg through a third party. No be only you dey suffer for Nigeria. So everybody should start begging if their choice of career doesn't favour them?

1. Mind your business and respect other people's decisions,nor think say you be superhuman,life is no respecter of anyone.

9. If someone is begging isn’t that their own cross they are carrying. I do not believe in ppl suffering in silence, closed mouths do not get fed. If setting up a Go Fund Me page or asking followers for support is what is needed, then so be it. I am sure any celebrity who asks for outside support is doing it as the last option available after having exhausted other opportunities. They know how it looks, they know they will be criticized, mocked even but it is either that or suffering in silence. If they take loans quietly from their colleagues won’t the same colleagues come and blast them on social media when they can’t repay? We have seen that a million times on this blog.

Didn’t Tonto come out earlier in the year on her social media and mentioned how little money she had and received support from folks and businesses.

10. For someone to come out publicly and beg it shows that the person might really need that help,we need to be more humane in this life and stop all this arrogant "I know it all" and " I am prepared for whatever" mindset,there nothing good in mocking people that have put aside their pride and sought help publicly.

11. May God not allow madam I too know beg publicly o, yeye de smell. But then, Nigerians beg too much, sometimes it's as a result of greed and loss of values, and not necessqrily lack

12. I have a wicked sibling whose age is close to mine that has been begging for thirty + years and gets verbally abusive, throwing tantrums if you don’t meet her “expectation” because of lack of contentment, laziness & greed. Very entitled and ungrateful human being! Many people are ungrateful & entitled BUT Nigeria has zero safety nets like the western societies to stop seniors and disabled. Besides let us pray for excellent health. There are sicknesses that can wipe out entire savings, causing people to sell properties etc. She didn’t speak from that point but ended up sounding insensitive and shallow to me as someone in the west! I know of people with $1million hospital bill! Nobody knows tomorrow, nobody!

Gen Zs & younger Millenials may not know the era of VHS & CDs when actors got pittances for their labor with piracy reaping their labor.

When people boast or talk bad about the US they forget that the US military’s invention of the internet created $Trillions of dollars of wealth in the last few decades across the world. That invention changed the trajectory of life as we knew it back then forever! All the SM platforms and the endorsements, businesses, influencing, e-commerce, skits, etc that came with them would have been impossible including YouTube, FB, IG where many of these new ones make money from a global audience so let’s be gracious & cut these older folks some slack.

Despite that problem of low wages & piracy, the old ones succeeded in entertaining us without much pay and in promoting Nigerian theater & Nollywood throughout Africa . Baba Sala, folks like Tunji Oyelana, the cast of Cock Crow at Dawn, Ade Love, the father of (Kunle Afolayan & Gabriel Afolayan )died poor, Dejumo Lewis of Village Headmaster fame, Chief Zebrudaya of the masquerade, Gringory Akabogu, Clarus, Tunji Oyelana, Ogunde, etc never had much because the pay was pittance, they died poor. I read somewhere where Gen zs were crediting Genevieve, Omotola, etc “founded” Nollywood! Nothing could be further from the truth. . A Christy Essien Igbokwe (Ovularia) ventured into music as Nollywood same with many of the old ones. Gofundme, the global “begging” and crowd funding platform is an American corporation, despite their safety nets. How much more Nigeria. Like Chinua Achebe said “ those whose palm kernels were cracked by the benevolent God should not forget to be humble”. May the glory of our latter days exceed the firmer in Jesus name!

Many of those who are ok in that age group are the ones who somehow were able to have longevity in their career, like Ene Oloja of cock crow at dawn who started very young, transcending generations so there needs to be context & humility with some understanding of the changing times. Why do people make such videos like she did? Do they feel personally attacked? Nobody knows tomorrow it’s the reason the west has safety net and founded platfuirf! I understand both sides to the issue because life happens to even the best laid plans!
    Note that I’m not advocating for cars for them though Nigeria has no reliable transportation system.