Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nobel Laureate Prof Wole Soyinka Chides 'Obidients'

Sunday, June 18, 2023

Nobel Laureate Prof Wole Soyinka Chides 'Obidients'

Popular Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka, has chided the Obidient Movement, supporters of Peter Obi of the Labour Party, over their role in the recently concluded 2023 general election.

Politics Nigeria reports Wole Soyinka, speaking at the launch of his book, “The Putin Files: Excursions Around The Ideology Of Pain”, on Friday, maintained that the Obidients were fascist.

Responding to a lawyer and poet Ogaga Ifowodo’s question about why he called Obidients fascists, he used the 2020 EndSARS protest as an example of a struggle driven by pure truth.

According to him, EndSARS is one of the most successful movements in this country.
Soyinka noted that he supported the EndSARS protest and even addressed some protesters when leaving Lagos for Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital.

Comparing the EndSARS protest with the Obidient Movement, Soyinka pointed out that what the Obidients were trying to do was “the mobilization of youth to defend an untruth”.
Soyinka likened most actions of the Obidient Movement to former president Muhammadu Buhari, “pushing people to kill innocent serving members of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) by claiming he was cheated out of an election”.

He said long before the election; some people had schemed to tilt the country towards having an interim government.
“So some of those who thought they were being radical, they were being ‘mumu’ (foolish) and “playing the script of others,” Soyinka declared.

Obidients criticized Soyinka in May after describing them as fascists.

from Dailypost

65 comments:

1. This man no dey tire?
    😡😡😡

OBJ on Soyinka in his book:

“For Wole, no one can be good, nor can anything be spot-on politically except that which emanates from him or is ordained by him. His friends and loved ones will always be right and correct no matter what they do or fail to do.”

I think Baba being a tribal man, knows him too well more than us. What more will i say or add to it.

The same way he talked about FFK being loyal and a praise singer when served a good delicious meal.

1. The first sentence is OBJ aptly describing himself and in answering your question, the Nobel Laureate was simply responding to a fellow Intellect.

2. Anon 15:26,

Same way Chimamanda wrote to her fellow intellectuals about the Agbado and you all cried murder.

3. @TJ, I will continue to advise you.

Before election, I told you here that Obi can’t and won’t win the election and you said he will but couldn’t provide the winning permutation. Not only does the demographics not favour him, he also burned so many bridges.

I can tell you for free that neither Obi nor Atiku will win at the tribunal because each one of them did what they are accusing Tinubu of. Haven’t you wondered the reason Tinubu won despite the Christians bloc votes and youth votes and campaign of calumny against him? Tinubu just had and still has more foot soldiers, resources, called favours, strategies etc. than all of them.

If you think Obi will win at the tribunal from a 3rd position or the election will be cancelled, then you don’t understand Nigerian politics. The best you can do right now is to plan your life and ways around this current government because we are on a long ride. Take it or leave.

Y…

4. Hope Uzodinma came 4th oh, miraculously he is the governor today, so forget that he came third. That's what eyeneck said, we no believe am.
      The same four people tweeting in a room is now giving them nightmare, Atiku is in court fighting same fight, but you don't see them attacking him the way they attack Obi and Obedients

5. 15:26
      OBJ was describing Prof. His description of FFK and El Rufai has also been confirmed by events. A truth or accurate profiling made out of malice remains true or accurate.

6. Anon 17:22. Obi can’t win, or Obi won and then it was rigged ? Because if we are talking about the same Nigerian election, you know the truth but just either hiding it, or lying to yourself. Plus you are not God. If you feel your agbado goons are still intac, stick to it. You CAN NEVER CHANGE OUR BELIEFS OR TRUTH.

2. It’s the Obidients that are patiently waiting for the court process with no violence that this one is likening to nonsense. Agbaya!

1. Òmò de ishè, alái l'èkò!

2. Eka,

Have some decorum.

3. Omode ishe gidi. Oponu apoda tí ó bọ̀wọ̀ fún àgbà tó hun pé ẹlòmíì ni oponu.

3. He's absolutely spot on
    Y'all should try to caution yourselves
    Nobody has the monopoly of madness
    Did he even lie?
    Are they not fascists?
    I see the way y'all try to shush up those with dissenting voices and i shudder big time
    Aren't y'all abashed that despite your mudslingings,the man you never wanted became the president of Nigeria?
    Smh!

1. So, he has turned the madness to an oligopoly?

2. Define "fasicm". Or does it just sound nice to throw around?

4. This man should keep quite abeg.

1. Same as the little boy who commented before you.

2. Quiet
      Quiet
      Quiet
      How did you people pass English in school? 🤔

3. 17:11
      You understood what was written - that is the whole purpose of communication.

The manuals for Russian Cosmonauts is not written in English. They have traveled to and from space on the instructions in them. Wetin the plenty English some of us Nigerians know, denge and pose with don help us do. Abegi.

5. We are talking about the future of Nigerian youth and you are talking off point. You have access to good medications while the common man suffer, no good schools, the politician has turn our country into something else. Please stay your lane.

6. There are no truer words than this
    I like the prof for always saying the truth without minding the insults being hurled at him by you-know-who

1. Vincent de genius happy Sunday.

2. @Milkshakes i hail you! Your comments are always refreshingly different and devoid of any trace of Fascism. God bless you real good worthy Compatriot.

3. Happy Sunday @Anon
      Thanks @Omoluabi
      I have never for once followed the bandwagon and it's not about to start now

4. What truth? The truth according to INEC chairman? Can u swear with all that you hold sacred that BAT won the election?

5. Have any one of you actually googled the meaning of "fasicm" or its just a nice word to throw around.

7. This man is beginning to suffer memory loss. Here's a man that hated what ever Goodluck Jonathan stood for and actually called the then first lady a "shepoppotamus".
    Was he not among those who wished Buhari upon us just to spite Jonathan? What is he accusing the so called"obidient " movement of?
    I now believe what Obj said about him.
    He sees himself as omniscient.

1. How sad...this man used to be well respected. I no even understand if na old age don dey make the Baba misyarn.

2. Not old age.

People are getting wiser.

The press is no longer controlled by a cabal of tribesmen or selected elite. So, people have access to information that would have been censored at the editors' office and they are broadcasting them. People can now easily weigh comments and accessible factual information and make better judgments of what is said

8. The question is; how many people voted your candidate? Is it this power gotten by desperation that we should keep calm about? Oh, you want us to pretend as if we didn't notice everything that played out during the last election, even during the party primaries? Was your candidate actually the winner of the election, say the truth oga and his co. conspirators?

1. Why asking all that questions? Didn't you read OBJ quote on my comment above😁😁

2. Those questions
      "That" is used for one thing

3. Someone that did not even win the primaries, always cheating his way through

9. Replies
    1. How? Him saying his truth now means he has lost it? Say something else abeg

2. Don't mind the pot calling kettle black. The agadi na gwo ofe.

Obidients that are waiting for the court to rule??? He has lost his mind indeed!

3. If people here. Judge themselves they don't have mouth to talk was it not this clone call tee jay that was duping people on Sdk before has mouth to accuse another person evil guy

4. Milkshakes, his going about this matter as if only the obidients erred during the campaigns
      or are erring after the election or inauguration. His complains makes him appear to have lost it or to appear as if he is compensating for the rice bought and sold on his behalf and the pots given to him to cook the profits.

At least he self admitted the rice and pots transactions with or gifts from ...

As we write, Lagos State is mulling over a law against non -Yoruba residents and tax payers in Lagos State. Such law in a constitutional democracy. Are the obidients all non-Yoruba. What about those who supported Atiku in Lagos State. Is Lagos State being built only on Yoruba tax payers' money. Is Lagos state not collecting Federal allocation from the Niger Delta Oil. Is Lagos State not collecting allocation percentage of VAT from all over Nigeria. So why a law against non Yoruba or non-indigenes.

Why have we not heard his voice on such an obviously unconstitutional law. Yet he is still talking about obidients.

He is an elder. He should stop this tirade against the obidients.

By the way, I am not an obidient by any definition of the word.

Stella, thanks for posting.

10. Look at how he has ruined his legacy.

All the best Sir.

1. That is ehn...how sad!!!

2. SMH. These people will never learn. Keep trolling y'all. Zero emotional intelligence. Prof no send una. Who your respect epp

11. Formally respected. Now clout chasing

12. What greed can cause. Because of money this man has thrown his truth away

1. To even think the respect I used to have for this man was huge. He's so shameless. Tueh!

13. Shameless old man. Had respect for his grey hairs but have realized his grey hairs are not respectable at all. No be by grey hairs.

14. I thought this man was a noble somebody.....

Guessmeey

15. It's like I'll have to go be posting my comments twice these days cos why can't I find them lately?
    Anyways, I said that Wole Soyinka is a liar and a hypocrite. He held an OAP at gunpoint and stopped him from announcing the election results because he wasn't pleased with it (about 53 years ago)
    Now he's shameless enough to call us fascists? The audacity!

16. Oga go and rest. Gaa zuo ike.

17. OBIdients are in court, Sir. Even though our candidate was not announced as winner, we staged no protest and destroyed nothing, rather we carried our grievances and evidence to court. As should be. We watched the other party carry out all sorts of political gimmicks, and their charlatans violently disrupt the elections and electionary again and again. The receipts of their thuggery, violence and shameless rigging are all over the place.

In fact I shall speak no more. We are in court, meet us there. Why are you afraid? Why are you crying foul? You said go to court, and we have. Come one come all. Bring your defense and evidence. A daniel shall come to judgement.

18. Such a shame that a man will loose his honour and dignity for selfish gains at an old age.

Congratulations on your book. I know just a check from Tinubu to launch it will settle your family and extended for life.
    Time for you to eat your national cake. Enjoy

1. Soyinka and fashola are in the same box. For the sake of a pot of porridge, they can sell their integrity. At Soyinka's age he has degenerated to exchanging words with people that are mostly a third of his age. All dignity and respect gone down the drain. This is someone that held a newscaster hostage in his hey days. So he's now all righteous.

19. Dear young Nigerians, refuse. Refuse to accept the life your politicians and their friends want you to live. A life without power, water, good roads, security, quality education, health care and justice. Refuse to live in war conditions in 2023 when there is no war. Do not accept their less than barest minimum served on a platter of blood, after over 6 decades of independence. Pay them no mind, go out and fight for the life you deserve and the justice you deserve. Do not cower and do not fear.

Always remember
    They fear you cos you are young. They fear you cos you are the future. How fearful they must be. How powerful you must be!!!!

20. Obidients are just sore losers, all the Presidential candidates rigged, at least a PDP chieftain states this during cross examination at the presidential election tribunal. Now, when the truth stares Obidients in the face, they attack the messengers.
    Peter Obi is not a saint and neither is he the Messiah! He is just another politician with sweet mouth. Tinubu will rule for another eight years and guess what? Peter Obi will contest and he will still lose.
    Obidients are just wailers and sore losers.

1. @19:11 Gbam. Instead of them to strategise, they are trolling. Not that they can speak with one voice anyways

2. We are in court. You are the one trolling. Meet us in court.

3. Question pls.. are all Obidients Igbos?? I am a tad confused??

21. Well,the eminent Professor is spot-on.Judging by their comments,using this platform as a case study,one can safely conclude that a lot of 'Obidients' are toxic.Infact,I dare say that the worst set of humans to engage in an intellectual discussion are the Obidients.No respect for facts,realities or plurality of opinions,just emotions.If you do not agree with them,you must be a foe.Headless mobs!

1. You lie. Going through the comments right here and the toxicity and insolence is actually coming from you.

2. It's amazing how "non" obidients constantly accuse obidients of being toxic and being disrespectful, and then turn around to heap abuses on them. You point one finger on them, yet the remaining four are pointing back at you. If that isn't the height of hypocrisy then I don't know what is. Anon 00.24 go back and read your comments and tell me who then is toxic.

22. Pa Soyinka just dey blabblabla, they should get his medicine for him.