Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative..

Tuesday, June 20, 2023

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative..

Hmmmm

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
THE PRAYER WARRIOR NIGHTMARE

Please house how can i tell my neighbor who always does midnight prayers that the noise is disturbing me and my family...`

He stays up stairs and we stay downstairs and almost every midnight he or his wife will pray in the midnight and they will be shouting and hitting their legs and the sound wakes up everyone including my children that are supposed to go to school in the morning , they will be awake from when the praers started to when they finish praying (2am to 4am)

Please they are good neighbors to me and i don't want them to see it another way when i try to complain...
Note that i am a Christian too and i love prayers.and i do my own prayers too but i don't shout for people to hear me when i am praying

Hmmm i dont think there is anyway to go about this oh....Maybe you should go through the owner of the house to table your complaints but the problems is that the owner might mention you when talking to them....... Try blasting loud music when they start and see what happens...LOL

40 comments:

1. This kind thing can pain ehn
    If it's me,i sure will report to the landlord or landlady to see what he/she can do about it
    Is there a caretaker? He should come in handy in this scenario too

1. Clearly this poster doesn’t live in naija. Because naija houses are built strong. You can’t hear stomping from flat above you. Secondly I’m guessing it’s Nsppd because you said 2am to 4am. Which means you’re in North America.
      Now to the solution, go directly to them and tell them. Be nice about it but be prepared for them to see you as the devil. If they continue, report to the property management. You need to learn to speak up and get what you want out of life.

2. Very annoying. Some people just don't use the sense God gave them? How wicked can you be to be praying and stomping your feet for hour at night,not caring if you disturb your neighbors or not.
      My colleagues in the office would never use their earpieces when watching videos on their phone or listening to music. I tell them straight up to use their earpieces or reduce the volume,something you shouldn't even have to tell an adult sharing a public space with others.
      Poster,you better stop forming friendship and tell them straight up that they are disturbing you and your family's sleep and they should tone it down. If they are sensible people,they will adjust. If they are not,call landlord for compound meeting.

3. Lol 😄@Try blasting loud music when they start and see what happens. I actually support this, because I don't understand why some people are inconsiderate.

4. @ anon 17:10? you say Nigerian house are built strong.Abe no talk wetting you no no again o!!!! Poster if you are in North America, US to be precise and they start their noise abeg call the POLICE.... and report them for noise complaint/disturbance and let the POLICE do their work SIMPLE!!! at least that is what i will do and what i have done before(I hat noise with a passion)..... Stella post!!!

5. If you complain, they will send chronicle of testimony about how God revealed the witch living under them, because their prayer is burning you...

2. Just start by letting them know you can hear them

3. Iv missed this wonderful space

4. Typically inconsiderate. When you complain, they will pick on you as the enemy who has been stagnanting them and that their prayers fire is burning you.

But just give it a try. Call the husband and talk calmly man to man with him. Tell him you appreciate the wall guard their prayers has built around the compound, but you beg if they can turn down the volume.

If no success, and you still want to live in the compound, you have to make a formal report to the property owner for his intervention

1. Ei you get it 🤭😂. I pray God blesses everyone where they can live in a well built estate and they'll not encounter any of these problems.
      If you complain pere, you'll be termed a demonic agent. Me that once you break my sleep cycle, until 5am before I sleep again.

5. There's no way around it other than politely telling them to stop stomping their feet on the ground especially when they pray because it affects your kids sleep

6. The Original ShugarGirl20 June 2023 at 15:20

Channel your thoughts through your landlord to this particulat tenant.

7. Lady T /worth more than a thousand dollars20 June 2023 at 15:23

Poster, i think you should find a way to talk to the wife in a nice manner. Tell her it's good what they are doing. But it's affecting the children. Is there a way they can tune the volume down? Ask God for wisdom so that it doesn't go south.

8. I strongly suggest that you and partner go and sincerely express the situation to them.
    You will never know their reaction until you approach them.
    It is when they don't take any step that you can approach the landlord or caretaker.

9. Stella which one is blasting music? At 2am? OP as difficult as it currently appears, you need to look for another house. There is no way to go about this with your neighbors that negative vibes won't be set off. I know how these Christian people reason. They will think that the devil is using you to stop their prayers and they will only intensify it.

In the alternative, you can consider getting noise cancelling earpieces or ear mufflers to tune out the noise.

No one wins here. You have a right to quiet in your home. They have the right to pray as they wish. Common sense however, should tell your neighbors that the sounds they make affect you and your children. But since they want to be inconsiderate, you can choose to damn the consequences and approach them directly. State your mind clearly and if they don't adjust, you know you have a battle in your hands. You will need to leave that house since it has become toxic to you and your kids. If you choose to stay, you must bear whatever comes.

1. I beg to disagree you can't pray as you wish. You have to be considerate as a neighbour. For how long will they keep moving houses when some people are not considerate. Let them approach them, he also paid for rent as well

10. Talk to them politely and explain that it bothers you and if they don’t change report to the landlord.

11. I had a room mate during youth service that wakes up by 4am to make calls till around 7 in the morning..I was always unhappy because I didn't sleep well and she will talk and laugh with people on the phone..My other room mate couldn't tell her but I told her when I couldn't pretend I was okay with it..I told her I wasn't against her calls but she should help us and take it outside..I later found out it was even Facebook calls..mtcheww

12. Politely tell them,a sensible neighbor would understand.

13. You can use description method to lay your complain to them. You and your husband will approach them and ask either the wife or husband to follow one of you to your apartment. Then, the other spouse starts the stomping on the floor and prayer method.
    Before you finish, they would have a clear picture of your discomfort and adjust the pattern of prayer.

Also, after this and nothing positive happens, record the prayer period on your phone as evidence and send it to them and landlord.

1. Just tell them politely since you say they are good to you

14. Pls talk to them, if u are a female, go through the wife if ure a he, go through the man of the house.
    I believe they will change considering the way u described them

15. Growing up
    Up till now
    Some people believe that it is only when you scream that is when God hears you. Please don't blame them.

God hears even the whisper from us. God is alive. He is here with us. He is not deaf. You don't need to scream for him to hear. God even answers the good thoughts in our heart.

I hope we start teaching our children this.

1. Someone needs to tell this to my parents and the adults in the church. So irritating. They'll be telling you to SHOUT when you pray. Sometimes I'm tired and I just give up 😒😒🤦🤦

16. Go and tell them to reduce the volume that it is if affecting you and your children's sleep, since you are in talking terms with them. It is only when they ignore and continue, you can take it to the caretaker/landlord

17. Poster I understand what you are going through cos my house is surrounded by churches,gosh sometimes I feel like running away. This your own na small case cos you can talk to them in a very polite manner and if they refuse to listen then go ahead and report them to the owner of the house

1. You know you can report them to LASG department in charge of noise pollution if you stay in Lagos. I live opposite a church as well but when they are doing vigil, you will never know. Even call to prayer by muslims, you have to strain your eyes to hear.

18. Blasting loud music when children are in the house? Mbanu!

Poster, please invite the wife to your house, sit down with her and explain to her what they're doing to you. She go now relate it to her husband.

Please be calm when explaining to her woman to woman..😎

19. Very insensitive neighbour! Please approach them in a kind manner and let them know that they are affecting your children's sleep. If there is no resolute, then escalate to the landlord or caretaker.

This is just the character of the Pharisees and Saduccees. All the best

20. Post something like this on your status and make sure they view it.
    " When praying in the night stop shouting, you are praying to God and not to your neighbors.
    Don't suffocate your neighbors let them sleep."

21. Even the Bible says to go into your closet. All this loud noise for what? Is God deaf or wearing hearing aids? I cannot stand these kind of Christians. Please address it directly with them. Better to speak it out than have it bottled up in your heart. Gently and kindly let them know that the prayers wake up everyone in the household and ask them to pray quietly or do their loud prayers down the day when everyone is awake. God is just as available during the daytime. Is their God only awake at night time?

22. Poster since you tag them as good neighbors.which means, you can discuss this issue with them without problem arising.Tell them for the sake of your kids,they should lower the noise.but pls you should take some time to pray before discussing with them.goodluck.

23. Are you sure that your neighbor is not my cousin? Do you stay in P.H?

I was much younger and didn't really know a good way of expressing myself to people those years when I would holiday in P.H. I knew what I wanted to say to them and my point we're valid but I didn't know how to tell him because of the respect I had for him. This my cousin is the exact description on this posters chronicle. I felt really bad for their neighbors. The closest neighbor was a Muslim and he and his wife were so calm. Early morning when he wakes us up for prayers and they start screaming and stamping their feet, I feel restless because of thoughts of how their neighbors would feel hearing the noice emanating from our house. The clapping of hands, shouting, etc. They feel am not praying well because am not screaming like them.

What if their neighbors who were Muslim starts their Muslim chantings loudly like them around 2am when the sleep will be sweeting them? I know that my cousin, he will never allow the neighbors to pray like that because they are Muslims.

It's unfortunate that people like this don't learn to consider others when making noice while praying until they meet a neighbor that doesn't tolerate nonsense. When they meet a neighbor that gives them what they deserve now they will start explaining to their church members how there is an evil neighbor who has been a torn in their flesh.

Poster, tell other occupants of that building to gather themselves as a group,including you, to go and inform the couple that all the occupants of the building are not happy with the way they make noice at night.Meet one of the wise neighbors and let him/her call a meeting. Let others talk about it even though it doesn't affect them directly but they should pretend as if it affects them, then they should ask you if the noise doesn't disturb you and you will admit that it disturbs you more and you had wanted to complain before your neighbors called the meeting.

We were three in my room during NYSC and one of my roomie would pray so loud like this but her prayers doesn't even last up to 30minutes, the other roomie, sometimes you won't even hear her whisper and sometimes you will only hear just a little whisper but she is praying and she could spend as from 30minutes to 1hour praying, or rather, having a heart to heart conversation with God. You would hear my voice when I pray then but it wasn't loud enough to disturb the next person. I learnt a good lesson from both roommates praying pattern.

People should know that it is not godliness that prompts them to disturb the neighborhood with prayers.

24. They pray like those whom the Bible call hypocrite.

25. Africans. I noticed that this only happens with Africans and African American people. When you see the church service of a white church, i mean a church with white congregation, they are so calm and collected, praying in a low tone, even their burial, but black man’s church is always very loud. Burial nko? Story for another day.

26. I like Stella’s advice. I did this to my upstairs neighbour as well. The woman no sabi walk (apartment complex abroad). She stomps. The thing used to mess with my head mehn. It always feels like something is falling and about to smash - puts me in a panic mode each time. The stomping wakes me up from sleep, it does not even allow me hear the sound from my TV while watching it. It is something else when she starts cleaning the house. I always feel like leaving the house but I worked from home then. I complained several times to the apartment management. It will stop that day and the next day, it’s like she forgets. Then I started putting our Naija gospel music - blasting it! And singing along too. Anytime I do that, she will remember. Not really the best line of action since the music would be disturbing other neighbours. That was the way I dealt with it until we moved out.

I suggest telling them first, tell them exactly how it is, that they actually wake up the whole family at 2am due to how loudly they pray till 4am. if possible make a recording and play it to them. (The recording was not effective for me though, my phone could not capture the sound, but yours could).

Be prepared for them to look at you as the worst sinner on earth, and ignore them.

If you live abroad, check your city’s bylaws, noise is supposed to stop around 10pm or 11pm, you can call the cops for the person after 11pm. I am suggesting this in an extreme case where you have tried to communicate and reason with the person and they still do not stop the noise.

I hope they will understand when you speak to them, or have the landlord speak to them. Good luck.

27. You can also join them in shouting so that everyone will turn to a mad person,🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 please don't mind me cos I just have to laugh hard when you said you don't want to offend anyone.

Well since they are disturbing you please there is no nice way to say it than to be truthful and say it the way it it. Talk to that your neighbor and let them know that their prayers is making your kids to stay awake. If you don't complain they will feel no one is having sleepless cos of their prayers. Prayers is good but not to disturb others.

If you cannot confront them please go through the agent or landlord.

28. My sister sadly lives on a street with about 10 churches. It’s actually quite funny. You need to see the awful state of the street and the sad living conditions of most of the residents. Makes me wonder how they have not been able to pray better lives into existence, but I digress. Honestly, from 4am the first church starts blasting from extremely noisy loudspeakers. The others then start and this goes on almost all day. It’s like some competition. Believe me when I say it is impossible to even think when this racket is going on. I had a word with one of the noisiest churches and they were so defensive. They were like at least it is the word of God and not worldly music. Like I care! I am trying to sleep; I don’t care if it is Davido or Oyedepo. The noise is a nuisance. Thankfully, my sister’s rent expires soon and she’ll be moving out of the area. How a church can be so inconsiderate beats me. One of the Ten Commandments is love your neighbour as you love as yourself. Seems like they can’t even practise what they preach. No wonder the street is in such a pathetic state.