The action comes as Musk strives to increase engagement and revenue-generating potential at the online platform he paid $44 billion for last year.
“We’re purging accounts that have had no activity at all for several years; so, you will probably see follower count drop,” Musk said in a tweet.
Musk-mandated changes at Twitter from slashing staff to doing away with free verification check marks seen as stamps of authenticity have alienated users and advertisers.
The broadcaster was among those to protest the “state-affiliated” and “government-funded” labels Twitter attached to them; these labels were previously reserved for non-independent media which funded by autocratic governments.
Since Musk bought Twitter, the company has relaxed the moderation of content on the network. They have welcomed back many users banned because of messages inciting hatred or spreading misinformation.
Market trackers say Twitter revenues have fallen as advertisers avoid the platform.
“We’re purging accounts that have had no activity at all for several years; so, you will probably see follower count drop,” Musk said in a tweet.
Musk-mandated changes at Twitter from slashing staff to doing away with free verification check marks seen as stamps of authenticity have alienated users and advertisers.
The broadcaster was among those to protest the “state-affiliated” and “government-funded” labels Twitter attached to them; these labels were previously reserved for non-independent media which funded by autocratic governments.
Since Musk bought Twitter, the company has relaxed the moderation of content on the network. They have welcomed back many users banned because of messages inciting hatred or spreading misinformation.
Market trackers say Twitter revenues have fallen as advertisers avoid the platform.
My account follow 😂😂
ReplyDeleteI've messaged, tweeted, replied or even tagged anyone on there
The app is so dry
Never*
DeleteThat means my account will end up in his pot of soup. He should be my guest, I don't like that place
DeleteCore business man.
ReplyDeleteno wahala.
ReplyDeleteMake I quickly check my account
ReplyDeleteHe should help me delete my Instagram account abeg.
ReplyDeleteI'm sure mine will be part of those to be deactivated. I prefer to protect my peace of mind. Twitter is a crazy street
ReplyDeleteI am here thinking to close my IG account. Social media is not what it used to be.
ReplyDeleteMy account will be part of the ones they will deactivate.
ReplyDeleteJust created it, I've never used it.
Thank God bcos I Ve bn tryn to log in to delete. The acc is of no use to me. E remain that ig
ReplyDeletelol. That means we should not open account unless we are sure of being active users. For example, one tweet a day keeps musk away.
ReplyDeleteIam not really active on Twitter,I just read through,maybe I will start tweeting small small before they close my account
ReplyDeleteFacebook should be added
ReplyDeleteIf Facebook was to do that half their population would be gone, maybe more. The inflated numbers they have been using to lure businesses to join would change drastically. Half the accounts on Facebook and IG are 100% inactive, and suspect it if more than half.
DeleteElon mind yasef, make I no find my 2010 twitter acct o.
ReplyDeleteWetin nah