Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Super TV CEO Usifo Ataga's Alleged Killer Chidinma Ojukwu Claims Police Forced Her To Sign Confessional Statements

Saturday, November 19, 2022

Super TV CEO Usifo Ataga's Alleged Killer Chidinma Ojukwu Claims Police Forced Her To Sign Confessional Statements

Alleged Killer Chidinma Ojukwu While testifying in connection with the murder of Usifo Ataga, the Chief Executive Officer of Super TV told a Lagos High Court sitting at the Tafawa Balewa Square, that the two statements she wrote at the police station were ripped, and she was compelled to sign the ones that the police personnel had written.

As part of a trial within a trial to ascertain the voluntariness of her statements; Chidinma testified before Justice Yetunde.

She claimed that ASP Olusegun Bamidele had written a statement, forced her to recite it aloud; then forced her to recount it to the police commissioner.

Olusegun Bamidele is a Deputy Superintendent of Police assigned to the State Criminal Division’s Homicide Section. He testified as the first witness for the prosecution in the trial within a trial before the court.

Chidinma who testified as the first witness in her own defence said that before she was taken to the Commissioner’s office, her hands were handcuffed from June 23, to the chair she sat until the morning of June 24, when she was brought out of the interrogation room and taken to Ikeja.

Chidinma explained to the court during questioning from her attorney, Mr. Onwuka Egwu, how the police officers arrived at her Yaba home on June 23, 2021. She claimed her 10-year-old sister came to tell her that there were men in the living room inquiring after her while she was in her room at their home  

“At the station, I entered the DCP’s office, Mr. Razak Oseni. He was asking me questions along with other policemen. Then, my Dad came and the DCP told my Dad to stop and allow his men do their job.

“We went back to my house and then came back to the DCP’s office. Thereafter, he started questioning…about the death of Mr. Ataga, that was when they made the video that was played in court.

“The DCP said I should make my statement. Then, the IPO, Mr. Bamidele took me to the interrogating room with Mr. Chris, and then gave me a blank statement form and asked me to write what happened.

“I started writing then he (Bamidele) took my left hand and handcuffed it to the chair. I wrote what I said at the DCP’s office. However, in the middle of writing the statement Mr. Bamidele took the statement from me and read through it and said this is not what happened.

“He tore all the statements I had written and presented another blank statement form. I told him Sir, I was writing the truth and you tore it. He said if I did not comply that my family, my Dad, my 10 year old sister and relative will all be charged for this murder case.

When asked if she could remember some of the questions the IPO had asked her, Chidinma said that she was asked to state her name, where she is from, where she lives, how she met Usifo Ataga, how many days she spent in the apartment and when she left.

She said the handcuffs were removed in the morning of June 24, when Mr. Bamidele and Chris came to ask her to sign the statement.

After her testimony, Justice Adesanya directed the prosecution and the defense to each file their written addresses in the trial within trial, within 14 days.

The court then adjourned the case to January, 11, 2023, for the adoption of final written addresses, in the trial within trial.

From 1st news

22 comments:

1. Which of the statements you made is false? Did u kill or did not kill Ataga? This girl's big god ain't taking no prisoners! Cuz whaaaaaaaaaa??

1. And her big gods are men. Defending a murderer because they too don’t mind dying this kind of a shameful death by the hand of a black widow. Pathetic!

2. No Big god any where. Not every matter is ground for accusing men of s3xual misconduct. The only man who stands accused of s3xual misconduct here is the dead man.

Denial during trial of a statement made to police is common with all shades of accused persons in Nigeria.

What is happening in the case is almost routine because of Nigerian policing and criminal trial systems.

In the long run, justice will be served in accordance with the law. It may be delayed. But it will be served in this case.

#TheLegalTrainee

2. I will not be surprised if the case favours her,nah Noger we dey

1. It has nothing to do with "Niger".

The burden of proof is on the prosecutor.

2. Yes. And men run Nigeria.

3. And Hermaphrodite Aliens run other countries?!!

Let's stop reasoning like our brains are beneath our asses.

It does not matter what the truth appears to be, or what you/I believe the truth is; the prosecutors must prove their case by a preponderance of evidence.

3. If after everything, the evidence present that she is guilty, she is likely to be hanged. It makes her a hardened criminal.

I hope she is saying the truth. Hmmmm.

4. Married Men I know you won't stop but here's the situation.
    Ataga Is gone and Chidinma will find other lovers.

I'm tempted to think she was a bait because the details used for registering the short let was not her true identity. The way she peeled out of the scene aftervhe died without a trace is also suspect.

Ataga cannot be resurrected. His loved ones and family will bear the pain of watching this charade called a trial.

Rest in peace ATAGA between you and Chidinma you two know what actually transpired.

Our spirits live forever ATAGA even if our flesh dies.

FOR THE SAKE OF YOUR FAMILY FIGHT !!!!

1. How will they stop when they are busy blaming women instead of taking responsibility for being weak and spineless and easily led by their penises? Men who would promise a mere random woman heaven on earth, embarrassingly pursue her with their minds, body and soul, shamelessly do all sorts, even the seemingly strongest of them just for an hour with a woman? Tufia

2. For the sake of his family, he should fight?. The same family he didn't give 2 figs about when he went fishing.

Let's allow him rest in peace. May GOD forgive us all our sins, and May the departed souls rest in peace.

3. 11:54
      A woman promised whatever will only follow a married man when she is thinking only with her ...

In your world, women are always innocent of all adulterous actions and sx immorality -

When it is between a married man and a single woman, the man is at fault even if the woman knew before the act that the man is married. Women are not meant to say no to any adulterous advance from any man especially where there is some form of benefit in it for the woman.

When it is between a married man and another married woman, the man is at fault. He jazzed the woman, he bewitched her materially and or spiritually, her husband is lazy at work or in bed, she is looking for children, she needed to feed her children, why did he approach her or did'nt he know that she would agree, etc.

There is no war between men and women.

5. I don't understand again o,the powers behind this girl,o lagbara,the dead cannot talk,what a life.

1. No powers anywhere. This is the normal criminal trial system in Nigeria.

In some more advanced country, the police investigate for 1 - 3years and conduct a trial of the case for days or few weeks. Here we investgate for days to weeks and do the trial for years.

In the end, judgment will still be delivered.

The history of Nigeria judiciary shows that powerful, connected, and "largeer than life" people have been tried and given their due judgment. Even those who claimed some form of spiritual powers have been adjudged in accordance with the law. This woman will get the judgment the facts prove against her.

6. Last last na to reduce her sentence that's what am seeing

7. Chai! Mr. Ataga try to rest in perfect peace.

8. ...let her face the FULL wrath of the law if she is found guilty...however, on this particular matter of police tearing her statement, I think I believe her because a similar situation has happened to a friend in my presence. We were pulled over at Bodija in Ibadan, then they all entered the vehicle and was waving guns in our faces and shouting... Demanded for papers, all was complete, the only thing missing was the tainted glass permit my friend had forgot to keep in the car, which was very much available (it was a company car), they ordered us to drive to their station, screaming as if we had done a crime. We got there, one demanded for the car keys and the guy disappeared with it. My friend was given blank sheets to write his statement, they tore his paper more than 3 times self screaming all the way. They were intimidatingly telling him what to write and the implication of what they were saying would have landed us in prison. Long and short of it all, when they discovered that he was highly educated, fearless,quoting the law to them back to back and would not play ball, they finally asked for 40,000 naira in bribe. For what exactly? He told them that he could/would present the tainted glass permit. They should hold the car while he goes to bring it, which he eventually did. He did not pay a Kobo and took the car. We spent hours there going back and forth...all these while I was recording everything with my phone (stylishly) as he had instructed me codedly...so yea...

9. This matter don tire me abeg, how do some people sleep at night after killing someone.

10. Mr Ataga killed himself. He allowed his third leg to mislead him. I hope men learn from this and control their sexual urges. You will see them shaking like one with malaria when they see a woman.