Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's New Naira Notes - EFCC Says 3 Serving Govs Trying To Pay Salaries With Billions Of Naira Stashed At Home

Friday, November 04, 2022

Nigeria's New Naira Notes - EFCC Says 3 Serving Govs Trying To Pay Salaries With Billions Of Naira Stashed At Home

With the decision of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN to redesign some Naira notes, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), has said it is monitoring at least three serving State governors who hoarded billions of Naira in their houses.

The EFCC Chairman, Abdulrasheed Bawa, who made the revelation in an interview with Daily Trust on Thursday, said the governors are planning to pay salary through cash.

The EFCC Chairman said in the interview that the commission’s raid on Bureau De Change operators would be sustained until the old Naira notes fade away.

He urged Nigerians to support the system, for the benefit of all, stressing that any cash transaction beyond five million Naira is a crime.

“Already, some State governors that have some of this cash stashed in various houses and the rest are now trying to pay salaries in cash in their State.

“I don’t know how they want to achieve that but we have to stop them from doing that. Well, we are working, they have not paid the salaries in cash yet but it is a very serious thing,” he said.

According to Bawa, the move by the governors to launder stashed money through cash payment of salaries, is against section 2 of the Money Laundering Prohibition Act.

23 comments:

1. Mention the names of the governors please.

2. Story strory😏😏😏...las las nothing will still happen.

3. Chai! Can we ever get it right with the kind of leaders we have as a nation? Wicked and heartless set of leaders.

4. Dem never see this coming, coming, naira design is coming!!

1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Aswearughad. They never saw it coming. Let there be confusion in their midsts. Let them pay the salaries they owe to the rightful Individuals who deserve their wages 🙏

5. As usual, the governors serve the faceless god.. they have no name! 🤷..

You begin to wonder is EFCC is a blackmailing or anti graft agency

1. Íke gwuru!
      They're always speaking in parables!!!
      Ndị ára, ndị ára!!!!

2. Bawa no get liver to mention names

3. Yes he shouldn’t mention names. What do you need it for? Let them run around like headless chickens and pay the workers their wages . EFCC, I hope and pray you arrest them. Make them bring out the loot hidden for their generations to come.

6. Honestly this country needs a total overhaul, cleansing of wicked leaders. Just like what happened in Ghana!

7. Money that is supposed to be in circulation
    Sure they were holding the naira notes to right election rhuer plans have failled

8. Pls take the money from them and pay those salaries asap so people can make deposits before the change, some have not been paid for 2yrs. Nigeria sef I tire
    And big shame on the thiefs!

1. Not just that, they also need to prevent the bank balance from being transferred to personal accounts or withdrawn as cash when new notes come into effect. That may be harder, so they will rather prevent the cash from being paid as salary.

Mystic

9. Yahaya Bello is one of them.

10. Ghen Ghen. Jesus talk am, the word is living and powerful. Do not store your treasures on earth where moth and rot destroy, where policies can change and the paper becomes useless...
    Good for them, wicked governors, enemies of the people. Your money has lost it's power, shame!!

11. Na wa ooo, money people are looking for, money that will help lives is wat some stupid persons kept in their possession,wat has it profited them since they stashed such huge amount of money, why are people this wicked and heartless wat happened to humanity?? People are suffering, some need just o.5percent of that amount to start up something and better their lives for good and evil people choose to hoard it so it becomes food for rodents,God will judge all of them.

12. Na now wey ant, snake and rat go really swallow naira notes for good.