Thursday, November 10, 2022

Man Who Set 5 Step Children On Fire Reveals Why He Did It

A 64-year-old man, Ojo Joseph, who set ablaze his five stepchildren in Ondo town, Ondo State, was on Wednesday paraded at the state police command headquarters, Akure and he revealed why he committed the wicked act..

The suspect reportedly committed the act while the victims were asleep following a disagreement between him and their mother at the Fagun area of Ondo town, Ondo State, last Saturday.

One of the stepchildren died on the spot, while two others died at the hospital.

Parading the suspect, the state Police Public Relations Officer, Mrs Funmilayo Odunlami, said the suspect would be charged at the completion of investigation.

Odunlami confirmed that three of the five victims were confirmed dead at the Federal Medical Centre, Owo, where they were receiving treatment.

Speaking, the 64-year-old suspect said he committed the act out of anger because his wife and her children ganged up to beat him up in his house.

He said, “On that day (last Friday) around 7pm, I had a quarrel with my wife and those children joined my wife to beat me up; I was even injured. That was how they were doing whenever we quarreled. So, after they had all slept, out of anger, I went to get petrol and poured into their room and put fire.

“Before now, my wife was no longer taking care of me and yet, whenever quarrel happened between us, she and her children would gang up to beat me up.”

From Punch

24 comments:

1. Is that enough reason to commit such crime? Nnaa nawaa oo.

2. Women dey marry sha! what's this? I won't be surprised she's the one taking care of him just to be under a man roof and to avoid her children being stigmatized as a product of single parent.

Felicity

1. You don't get the gist. The woman left a previous marriage to marry this man. The 5 kids are from her previous marriage.

2. 10:39 no shes saying she married him so her prior kids won’t be branded as single mom kids as they’ll claim him as father na

3. Why not report them to your village chief,kinsmen or police? Setting them on fire is that the best option? You'll now spend the remaining years of your life in prison. So sad,may their souls rest in peace.

1. @Esty: "remaining years" of which yeye miserable life does this one have? Well sha, at least they'll feed him in prison until his hanging which is certainly an improvement on the unfortunate one he was living under his wife and equally unfortunate stepkids. Where are his first wife and children? Even if he lost her early, didn't they have (older) kids? Even if they didn't and he married this one and he was getting what he did not order, why didn't he send them packing? He wanted the cloak of a "responsible man" when he wasn't close to one. Plus the stupid woman who didn't abandon him to his fate earlier because she wanted to keep wearing a crown of thorns in a hellish marriage.

This level of wickedness is not what you learn at 64; he's always been the devil's deputy gaskiya and may his master welcome him into the hottest part of their kingdom.

This is why Ada Ameh's death pained me to the bone marrow as my MIL's saying of "Eni omo sin lo bimo" rang true. Na who pikin bury born for this life. See how she lost 3 kids in one single day. Who survives that kind of shock? May we never know how it feels and may the dead find rest.

2. He’ll get death penalty

4. Crazy things are happening

5. I still can't comprehend this news..
    Seriously,this man is wicked .

6. Demonic anger

Emotional Intelligence should be compulsory in schools

7. Dysfunctional homes and mentally unstable people roaming about.

8. Why not send the woman and her children parking instead of commiting this wicked act? There's no reason for this wickedness fa.

9. Chai, what is happening sef? So much bad news.
    Lord please help us, save us please. 🙏

10. Oga this is not enough reason to burn all of them. God have mercy on us

11. You would have gone to the police,ask neighbors to bear you witness that you experience domestic violence in the hands of your wife and step children. Now who will believe you now that you have killed?

12. Am really in shock.oga why will you let the devil use you to kill innocent children.

13. You allowed Satan to use you achieve this wicked act..
    This is so sad..

14. Oh my goodness God, this is the reason why I refuse to remarry, let me mind my children Alone.

15. When devil in the family, trouble trouble oh
    Trouble trouble oooo

#SundaySchoolSong #ACM