Tuesday, November 08, 2022

EkweremaduGATE- Sonia Appears In UK Court Over Organ Harvesting Allegations

Sonia, the daughter of federal lawmaker, Ike Ekweremadu, on Monday, appeared in court over organ harvesting allegations.

According to Daily Mail, the younger Ekweremadu was accused alongside her father Ike Ekweremadu, 60, her mother Beatrice Ekweremadu, 56, and 50-year-old doctor Obinna Obeta of conspiracy to arrange the travel of another person with a view to exploitation.

The daughter is faced with accusation of trafficking a homeless man into the United Kingdom to harvest his organs for herself.

It was reported that Ms Ekweremadu has not entered a plea but a trial date has been set for 31 January, 2023.

According to reports, the accused facilitated the man’s travel from Lagos to London to remove one of his kidneys.

Prosecutors claim the plot was to harvest the man’s organ for Sonia’s benefit.

Sonia has a kidney-related disease and has been on dialysis for some time, the court has been told.

They were arrested after the young man, who previously lived on the streets of Lagos, turned up at Staines police station, claiming he was the victim of trafficking.

The man told officers he had arrived in the UK on February 20, 2022 this year and had been taken to Royal Free Hospital for tests, none of which he consented to.

The Daily Mail added that after these tests, the man said he had returned to the house he had been staying in, where he was ‘treated effectively as a slave’.

He said he escaped the address and was homeless for three days before going to the police.

Ike, a barrister and former deputy president of the Nigerian Senate, and his wife Beatrice, were arrested in the UK on 21 June, 2022 after flying in to Heathrow from Turkey.

from voiceofnaija.ng

54 comments:

1. It is well with her.
      If her father do what he is suppose to do in Nigeria, all this will not happen.

2. If this was in Nigeria...........👀

3. Am really sad all these are happening.

1. Sad for whom? Or are you one of the pilferers of our common wealth too?

2. Anon 10.15. Sad for someone that did bad to someone’s else child? This kind of thought is why Nigeria will not move forward. Defending someone that abused the young boy and the boy could lose his life during the kidney surgery for his daughter? We have a big problem in this country with such mentality

3. It's a pity cause the sins of her towards Nigerians is what she is suffering for. If her father and other law makers had made Nigeria great,she dor sey here and not where she is right now.

4. Am sad cos she suffering from the sins of her father.what they did was wrong,yes! But she's ill and needs help.i no dey support her or her father,God forbid!.when they were eating the money,I wasn't a part of it.

4. Bad things is happening to this man

1. At Mrs Sharon Bad thing happening to him because of his own doing. No evil doers will go unpunished. End of story

5. Ekweremmadu & his family don hear am.

1. Na nemesis they catch up with them so and na so all Nigerian evil politicians, especially the present ones in this Buhari government will never end well.

I am so pained when ever i see, read and hear how these so called Nigerian leaders, both past and present have plunged us into the present deep shit we are all suffering today, and they don't care. They loot without conscience

i follow they suffer for wetin i no vote for na hin dey pain me pass. Nonsense!

6. Wickedness of man. May the young man get justice. Amen. Wicked politicians, that’s how they treat Nigerians after stealing our money. You want his kidney, yet you’re treating him as a slave. What evil and heartlessness is this. I pity anyone who is campaigning or planning to vote for Pdp and Apc in the forthcoming elections because y’all will reap the evil seed you have sown in this country, Nigeria.

1. Don’t be sentimental, No one knows the truth of what happened between Ekwerenmadu and that boy.

2. 11:02 You're not even ashamed of yourself.
      In 60 years, not one standard health facility with top nothing doctors in this country.
      The cadavers you people elected, when they have cough, they rush broad.
      What do they use their period of ruketship in this country?
      Let everybody, top to bottom, enjoy the 'benefits' of terrible leadership as you redecorate your naira.

3. Anon 14:26 The shame should be on you, that her father didn’t do well doesn’t guaranty the boy is saying the truth. Let every one prove themselves in the court. I also hope you do good where you are and not only blame the politicians.

4. Cadaver? I bet you are referring to your father , if you have one. Hate kill you.

5. If we had standard hospitals in Nigeria that surgery cld have been done succesfully here. No one cld have even known.... its pure karma. See how dey brought their yansh out now, i dont pity dem

6. Hahahahaha @ cadaver! BV's have mouth l beg! well, l guess a lot of people are upset with the condition in Nigeria, Hence, the outburst!

7. I think say people wey get kidney problems dey lean. Wetin I know sef 😒

1. Anon this your comment is so funny🤣

2. Nothing funny in this your comment. Do you expect Stella to always show her in her sick bed, this looks likes the picture she took before the sickness got her down.

3. I think it has stages and maybe hers was diagnosed early

4. On thé contrary, they swell and sometimes smell due to lack of inability to pass urine on their own. That is why they are on dialysis atleast 3 times a week. It isn’t an illness one wants to get entangled with. Loss of all senses are bound to happen then brain function.

8. The UK system can be so dumb at times. So what did the guy think he was coming to the UK to do in the first place? Guy is just playing everybody

1. I agree. He obviously agreed to the transaction. They should have gone to India to do the operation. It's illegal to pay for an organ in the UK.

2. Nigerian system is corrupt, today UK system is dumb. It is only God that can please you people.

3. If the guy was aware of the transaction, the Ekweremadu's should have sure an agreement would have been signed as well as video coverage of him consenting to the proceedure would have been done with an affirmation of him not agreeing to the transaction under duress. This would have saved the family from bng sued. I don't think all of that was done that's why it became a court case. Its always good to do the right thing, the right way or the lawful way.

4. You and your government that is not dumb how una life?

5. Anon 12:06, I have lived in the UK for over 15 years and I am a lawyer, if you must know. All parties are obviously dodgy. I strongly believe that the guy knew what he was being brought over to do but already had his own plans which he neatly executed as soon as he was brought over. The UK has a very generous asylum system which has been and is still being abused. The Ekwemeradus are screwed regardless because it is a crime to “buy” organs so they were committing a crime whether or not the guy willingly agreed. All parties (including the guy) need to get what they deserve.

6. The boy played them and if care is not taken, he might get away with it.

7. Anon 13.13 yes exactly. They are screwed whether there was an agreement or not!. It is against the law to pay for an organ
      The guy obviously knew what he was doing. He agreed then when he got here went to report them so he can apply for asylum.

My dad had a transplant in india. There you can pay for an organ without any problems. If she insisted on the UK she should just have gone on the transplant list and she would have gotten a kidney after a few years. She should have been entitled to free healthcare since she was a student here?

9. Not to sound insensitive. She looks better than the media made it seem. I thought her illness made her bedridden. Good to know she's strong enough to go about her daily life.
    May God have mercy on every party involved in this case.

1. This is might be an old picture.

2. I thought so too.There's a picture of her in court and she wasn't looking bad

3. There's also a recent picture of her and her mum in court... She sure looked very ok to me. She didn't loose weight... D Media painted it like she was bedridden.

10. Replies
    1. Some of you should be seeing a therapist, you need treatment for Stockholm syndrome.

2. 12:07 it is not Stockholm kan kan. It is just lack of basic common sense.

11. I'm feeling for them shah. Since June.

1. Keep on feeling for them as if they care about you and Nigerians in general. Make inno talk pass this one, you feel for them very funny comment

12. The wickedness of A Man has brought calamity and unending trauma to his family. If ike ekweremadu was humane enough to build a world class hospital at Enugu with his property, he wouldn't have flown abroad to solve simple problems..

We have capable hospitals in Nigeria which are owned by foreigners but no, God's of his father decided to bring his nakedness to the public..
    Na only God knows how all this wahala will end.

1. 40 properties to his name but no equipped hospital in Enugu state..

All this properties will be shared among his children..

Na wah oooo

The rich also cry

13. Chai may our fathers sin not be transferred to us in Jesus name amen

14. Let him face the music..
    No evil doer will go unpunished.

15. If only her father and others in power had done the needful, this won't have happened to her. It is well with them.

16. I think the man (he's over 18, so not a boy) is exploiting them to gain asylum. He knew exactly what he was doing. If he is, his own karma is waiting for him. I remember the case of the kenyan/Ghanaian lady who spent years in prison because her relative who she brought to US as househelp claimed to be a victim of human trafficking and got herself and her family asylum while the lady lost everything, was imprisoned, deported and was sick for a while before dying. It didn't end well with that relation. I think it was in SDK i read about it. If the man is innocent, may God protect him.

I think they underestimated the man. Anyway, maybe it's their karma for exploiting Nigerians.

17. We cannot absolve her from the crimes of her father because she is a beneficiary of it. They are living off of the benefits of her father's constituency and I am supposed to feel sorry for her? She is living a life that most Nigerians pray for.

1. What if the sins of your own imperfect parents come knocking? What if your own sins are visited upon your children? There is no little or big sin says Jesus. The wages of sin is death.

May God have mercy on this lady and all those battling illness; this young scheming fraudster and all opportunists and users gaming the system; the doctor and all those blinded by greed and blind to boundaries; the parents and all those who have misused opportunity in one way or the other. May God have mercy on us all as only he is good.

18. They aregetting the results of their negligence of their father land,I am sure if he and other politicians have thought of what the future may hold they would have strive to make their country a better place not running abroad for everything