Saturday, November 12, 2022

Doctor Freaks Journal - Office Romance And The Insults That Accompanies it...

In the early years of my legal practice I had the privilege of working in a law firm that had just the principal; the receptionist (who doubled as a secretary and as I would later find out, tripled as a mistress to my principal) and my humble self.

Then we had a mail runner and "oga" had a driver.

My principal was an intelligent man who had just retired from a bank as a company secretary and he is highly cerebral too. I forgot to add that he was very religious too. During my stint with the firm (about 5 months) he visited the Holy Land twice.

For reasons best known to him, he ensured that I reported to him through the receptionist. Each time I went to court and returned to the office whenever he was out of the office he would ask me to give the receptionist (a non-fee earner) a status update, then madam would call "oga" to tell him what happened in the court that "me" I went to "oh." 

Each time I went out of the office on official assignments, madam will calculate my transport fare to the last kobo before handing out any funds to me. Most times I had to personally fund some of my trips by either fueling my car (which I drove only once a week) or board a commercial motorbike to my destination. 

This trend continued for some time and I was unruffled. I forged ahead and focused on why I was in the office. For reasons best known to my oga, he made sure that I reported to "madam" and trust "madam" she sure did know how to enjoy that authority and dish out instructions.

She would sit in her office and order me to proceed to her desk. Did I ever protest? Why would I when I knew that my days were numbered?

As God would have it, I got a better Job offer and on the day that was meant to be my last day, oga was to travel to Germany. He informed me on that morning and I bade him goodbye. 

Meanwhile, I had my resignation letter ready. I simply went to his desk, sat on the visitor's seat and tendered my resignation letter before a fictitious "oga" then switched seats by "receiving" same whilst now sitting on "oga's" seat. He had yet to pay me for the month and I simply asked him to keep that in lieu of notice. I quietly dropped my identity card and every other office property in my possession on my table and walked into freedom.

This drama took place on a Friday. I think when madam receptionist did not see me in the office on Monday she put a call through to "oga" and the latter eventually attempted to reach me but I ignored all his calls and I simply told him I could no longer condone the humiliation and that I had moved on then I blocked his numbers on my phone.

He wrote a letter to me, threatening to report me to NBA. I wasn't going to respond initially but on a second thought I decided to respond by chronicling the unprofessional manner in which he ran his law office and threatened to also report him to the same NBA. I think that was the last time I ever heard from him.

Years after, I ran into him on the way to one of the courts and I ignored him. He wasn't sure if I was the one too so he moved on. Then on several occasions he sat next to me in court and the "shenking" still continued, till date.

Interestingly, I later found out that oga was dating madam at the time and she later added "madam" to his harem as no. 3. No wonder abi? I wish them luck. They never disclosed to me that they were running a partnership anyways. I would have understood.

My point is, do not treat humans as trash. If you do, someday they're going to serve you "breakfast" and you will "collect woto-woto."

18 comments:

1. Office Romance is meant to be coded. Most people have turned things upside down.
    When you are fucking Oga, respect him in the office, even if he shouts at you, beg him. Don't show your colleagues you are dating him.
    When you meet at the hotel, then you can scold him for shouting at you.
    That way nobody knows anything and you eat your cake and have it.
    Shallom.

1. Okay show us tactics 🙄

2. Anon 14:09; lol. Its just an advice. Most people involved in office romance do not understand how to separate their relationship from work.
      Some ladies dating Oga will start feeling too big. That's what I am saying.
      Everything should be done secretly.

3. Phrizzles I get you, I jus dey pull ya legs 😉

4. Quite crazy that shouting at your juniors in the office is seen as acceptable and you are even expected to apologise. I work in London and I once had a very rude senior colleague speak to me in an offensive manner. He was known in the team as being rude and obnoxious. I quickly carried myself to HR. The man was warned that he won’t be promoted if he continued disrespecting his colleagues. He apologised to me and became a changed man going forward. Bullying or asserting authority in a disrespectful manner shouldn’t be acceptable in the workplace but I guess Nigeria is still light years away from true civilisation.

2. 😂 😂 😂 😂 I enjoyed the way you resigned. Some ogas are not it at all.

1. I enjoyed the tenses too.
      I would have loved to have a feel of the detailing when he replied the Oga which made him to disappear from Dr Freak's side. Haha.
      E go dey bloody.

Stupid boss,he was.
      Thank God you moved on.

3. So he finally married the lady. I am sure he would have hired another Receptionist that will take the place of the one who became Madam no 3.

4. Office romance leads to a lot of disrespect and contempt especially the ones that has to do with the Ogas.

5. My late Dad was working in a ministry and after many years became the District Manager any state he was posted to and worked at the state capitals as the number one man.
    My Mum worked with the same ministry as the Accounts Manager so they were never posted to the same state for obvious reasons.
    Unknown to us, my Dad in his usual manner started dating this Secretary who became rude to everyone including the managers and supervisors.
    Unfortunately for my Dad one of the directors’ nephews was working in his district and after repeated embarrassment, rudeness and insolence from the lady to everyone including this guy with my Dad not able to put her in her place, the guy reported to his uncle and a discreet investigation was carried out.
    My Dad was found guilty and he was promptly demoted to the post of a deputy disrtrict manager(one of many).
    We got to know this because my mum worked with the same ministry and the gist spread like wild fire. He was lucky not to lose his job though the lady was sacked.
    It still baffles me till today,several decades after, why a full grown adult would lose his respect, dignity and status for a piece of ‘kinikan’…a lady young enough to be your daughter.

1. Most men don't think that way. They are only after what they will chop at that moment.
      I am happy the lady was sacked after feeling untouchable.

6. Nothing concern you oga ,and what is bad with reporting to a woman,lawyer with their arrogance

1. If you were a lawyer, you would understand better. By the way, nothing special about lawyers. And see that he didn't complain only about reporting.

2. Some read just to comment and NEVER to understand. Interestingly Interesting

7. I know one foolish girl that was dating her boss in the bank. For more than 10 years. She eventually had a child for him and oga is yet to leave his wife. I don’t even think he has been able to tell her. Meanwhile he is very religious. That’s why I don’t give all these church goers face. They are the worst.

8. I always open this post just to stare at Doctor freaks behind!! Lol I hope to see the front too make I compare tins.. Lmao Ms K

9. There. Was a beautiful girl back then that was always accused of being passed around among all the bosses as their side chick. I pity the girl sha