Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: OAP Ali Bassey Talks About The Negative And Positive Side Of His Job And The One Big Mistake He Made On Air...

Monday, October 31, 2022

OAP Ali Bassey Talks About The Negative And Positive Side Of His Job And The One Big Mistake He Made On Air...

On air personality Ali Bassey talks about the Negative and positive sides of a Job he loves doing so well and how it impacts on him...

Listen to him live on CorrectFM 100.7 Kano....

. TELL US ABOUT YOUR JOB AND HOW YOUR DAY BEGINS

I am a Broadcast Journalist (or OAP like we are popularly called). I am obligated to inform, educate and entertain my listening audience.
I work weekdays, and Sunday mornings. Initially, I was on the morning show, and it's called the 'Una Gud Morning ' show, from 6am to 10am. And I was on it for 4 years, until 2 months ago when there was a reshuffling and I was asked to handle the afternoon belt. So now, it's, 'Kano Wetin Dey', from 12pm to 4pm.

My Day begins at 5am with family prayers. And then I get my son ready for school. Take him to school, get back, eat, do a brief over view of my show for the day, and relax for a bit. By 10am, I leave for the office.

. WHAT INSPIRES YOU?

God is my biggest inspiration. And then family. My dad is a major inspiration and I ensure I talk to him every morning just to draw from his ever flowing pool of wisdom. My wife and kids serve as daily inspiration as well, cos I spend the best part of my day with them. I listen to a lot of music and watch movies as well. And then I read alot too. Meeting smart, intelligent, funny people, is inspiration on another level!

All of these inspire me a great deal.

WHAT ARE THE POSITIVES AND NEGATIVES OF YOUR JOB?

The positives of my job include the fact that it opens doors that may otherwise be closed to you. You meet and interview top personalities daily, whether in the studio or at events. People want to meet you and be associated with you. 

You get to be invited to anchor events and stuff. You are well liked in your locality and neighborhood because they hear your voice on air and feel the need to 'associate'. Then, you also get tons of messages from people daily, on how your show makes them feel great and how they eagerly look forward to it. The greatest positive though, is the fact that God has been gracious enough to let you do what you love for a living. To get paid to do what you love, is amazing. There is no greater feeling!

Negatives? E plenty ooo. As much as you have those who love what you do and appreciate you, there are those who genuinely dislike you and will stop at nothing to pull you down.

Then, as glamorous as our job may appear, media houses can sometimes have the problem of delayed salaries. So, its best to have a side hustle to augment, if not, wahala dey o, especially for those that have families.

Then you meet entitled friends or fans, who feel as a public figure, you suppose get money na. So when they reach out and you 'lock up' or explain you don't have, they pick offence and call you all sorts, But we move!

. HAVE YOU EVER MADE A MISTAKE ON AIR?

Oh yes! Especially with facts and figures sometimes. We are humans after all. 

The greatest mistake (that I hope never to repeat again, ever!), was a day I had just finished talking on air, and then I got a call from the guy who was supposed to paint my house that day. So, I picked up the call, without realizing I hadn't dropped my mic fader. Meaning, my mic was still on, I was live, and I was facing the mic. 

Na so I begin dey talk with Chijioke for phone o. He was explaining that I needed to add more money for paint and I was telling him where and where to paint in the house. The entire Kano state and beyond, was listening to this conversation.

God! 

People were calling my line, and I was like "una see say I dey on call, una still dey call me". The call lasted like 5 minutes. As call end, I saw lots of messages telling me I was on air and they could hear the conversation. Omoh, e just be like say make ground open. Jeez!!

What if it was a crazy conversation I was having with a friend that was very sensitive or somewhat offensive? Na so I for cast for Kano. But thank God. I just went downstairs and apologized to my boss and he warned me to be very careful.

This happened in 2019.

. HAS BEING AN ON AIR PERSONALITY BEEN A BLESSING TO YOU?

Oh yes it has! It's a blessing to do what I LOVE for a living. And then just to meet people who eagerly await your presence on air, because they genuinely love listening to you, is another big blessing. And then the gift of meeting people daily, inspiring them, learning from them and listening to their stories, is another blessing I don't take for granted.
God put me in this world to inform, inspire, educate and entertain. When I die, I wanna go empty!

132 comments:

1. Our very own Ali B! We applaud you sir. πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½ I love your radio station by the way. But you sabi aproko sha.

2. Miss Ess: Thanks alot sis. God bless you.

Anon: Oh wow. Thanks alot. Aproko? Comes with the job. How we go do? But it is legit, godly aproko. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. πŸ‘ πŸ‘ God will continually enlarge your coast AliB

3. More grease to your elbow our very own OAP AliπŸ‘πŸ‘

1. Amen my Fab Mama. Thanks alot

2. The Original ShugarGirl31 October 2022 at 15:28

We celebrate you, Ali B.
      To greater achievements

4. Is this Bv Ali b?

1. Na him ooo. I no too fine, but I try na. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. Awww see our own Alli B, may God bless the work of your hands. My regards to your beautiful family.

3. Thanks alot. God bless you. ❤️

1. Na him oooo. Dis ur emoji, abeg show mercy! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

6. Replies
    1. Ali B , well done πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘.

Anik

7. πŸ‘ πŸ‘ πŸ‘

8. Is this our very own Ali B? May God continue to bless your hustles nwoke oma πŸ’ž

1. Osundi: Amen and amen. Thanks alot. God bless you.

2. Daalu Osundi. Imela. God bless you.

9. Ahead ahead home boy. Best wishes.

10. This is our own bro, ALi B. Well done, bro.

1. Cynthia, my wife's namesake. Thanks alot. God bless you.

11. Ali πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘Thumbs up

12. Calabar-hausa. Ali d Ali. Weldone on your job

1. LoL. No mind my Akwa Ibom Popsy wey marry Fulani woman ooo. And me sef con go marry Igbo woman. Laidis, the blood wey dey flow for my shidren body, choke! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

13. Omoh!!! When a global blog interviews you, you don blow ooo. πŸ•ΊπŸ•Ί
    Stellz, you are a MAJOR inspiration for me. I have carefully followed your career from waaaaay back, and your charisma, bluntness and modus operandi, has given some of us wings to fly! Loved you then. Love you now. Love you always. Thanks for making this blog a family. Thanks for giving. Thanks for sharing from your pool of knowledge. God bless and keep you. This feels surreal. Thanks alot. ❤️

1. Well done bro, na una wey dey hustle while helping out with your families be the real men.

2. Well done Ali
      Stella come take flowers πŸŒΉπŸŒΉπŸŒΉπŸ’πŸ’

3. U are doing well Mr Ali..
      All the best

4. Good Job Ali a greater you i pray

5. Weldone Ali B, I love your responses. Keep it up.

6. Thanks everyone. God bless una for me abeg. ❤️❤️

7. Well done AliB. Enjoyed reading the interview

8. You are doing well Ali.
      May God bless you.

14. Beautiful piece.
    Well done AliB!

15. Oh wow! Nice one Ali B. All the best.

1. Dear Castle: God bless you. Thanks alot. ❤️

16. Our very own Ali B, well done !

17. Kudos to our very own Ali B. Nice putting a face to your post.

1. Make una manage the face ooo. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Thanks alot dear sister. ❤️

2. Welldone Ali. God continue to bless you.

18. Well done bro πŸ‘

19. Alibee!!!! Honestly I had no idea ur d same Ali b oh!!! Uve always been a personal fav since my kano days.ur so funny.# unagoodmorning oh!!!!! Ur doing great my guy.more wins I pray.very soon na CNN we go dey see u oh!!!!Stellz God bless u.

1. Lyrix: Oh wow! Amen and amen.
      This is so humbling! Thanks alot. Abeg if you enter Kano again, holla ooo. Sai godiya! ❤️

2. Used to see him in some functions not knowing he's one of us.
      Glory!
      Jisie ike ogo anyi nwoke. (Our in law)

3. Lyrix: Oh my! Amen and amen. Thanks alot. God bless you. Please I'd you find yourself in Kano again, holla. God bless you.

Mao: Omoh! Abeg anywhere you 'catch' me again, make we relate Biko. Thanks alot.

20. Wow...I was just smilling as I was reading through... beautiful interview.All the best.

21. Great job! You are doing well Ali. I wish you more heights and success.

22. Lovely response to the questions...Best wishes bro.
    My sister is also an OAP in lag here and my son feels it's cool to be a journalist.He has been to the studio lots of time and also likes to put his thoughts in writing and love public speaking.
    I read your comments here and I am just thinking,I watch him some more instead of pushing for sciences because he is intelligent.
    My regards to your family.

1. Awwwww please dear mother, your child is already showing signs of greatest, please give him your support.

2. Thanks alot. ❤️
      Please, let the boy be whatever God has planned for him to be. I studied Political Science and have a masters in public administration, but see where I ended up? I have always wanted to work on radio and tv. My dad is a Professor of Biology (a lecturer), but he didn't impose. He is also not surprised about where I ended up, cos he knows where my heartbeat is. I may not make all the millions, but I am TRULY happy doing what I do for a living. I am doing what I was born to do, and nothing trumps that. Please encourage your boy to pursue his dreams. He will be better off for it in the end.
      God bless you.

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

23. Is this our very own Ali B? I'm glad I read everything, I didn't know it was hi until I got to the comment section. May God help you to keep growing in your career, Amen

1. Amen Jaz. Thanks alot. God bless you.

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

24. Replies
    1. Jos shopper: thanks alot ma'am. Abeg greet Jos people ooo. God bless you

25. Yooo Mehn😁!!!
    That's My Correct Blog Bros
    Carry go🀞🀞🀞 Nwanne😁
    Wishing you the very best in all your endeavors πŸ™

1. My Darling sister! Thanks alot. God bless you. ❤️

2. My darling sister. Thanks alot. God bless you. ❤️

26. Ali d manya maza.
    Keep doing the good work. Will try listen to your show. You will get there one day. #BBC #CNN. All the πŸ‘Œ

1. Mazaaaaa!! Sai godiya. Please tune in. 12pm daily. CorrectFM 100.7. God bless you! ❤️

27. Stella, that was a nice one. πŸ‘Œ

1. Beyond this blog, Stella is a woman I have the utmost respect for and for her interview me, is truly an outstanding moment in my career and an honor I'd take to the grave. Good woman!!

28. Wow!
    Nice one Ali B best wishes

29. Our one and only Ali B. Kudos to you

1. Asia of laive! Thanks alot. God bless you

30. Weldone Ali B. You have done well , i also look forward to your daily gist.
    Thank God for Stell and her sweet Soul πŸ™ πŸ™Œ ❤.

1. Thank you so much ma'am. Truly appreciate this. God bless you. ❤️

31. 🀣🀣🀭

32. wow! nice reading about you and seeing your replies. so good of you... God bless you hustle and home

33. It was an entertaining interview..

Well done Ali-B..more grace and blessing.

@MARTINS

1. Martins Baba: Thanks alot Baba. It's all love from this end. God bless you. Regards to your family bro. ❤️

34. Na now I open this post oh. I can imagine how u felt after that slip πŸ˜‚

1. My sister!!! The mata choke me that day. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I am just glad it wasn't an ungodly or unpleasant conversation. Na anoda mata we for dey talk now. Thank God!!
      How you dey? Kisses to baby and love to Oga. God bless you. ❤️

35. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘weldone Ali B more gracw

36. AliB weldone!!πŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ
    I smiled all through,cute smart man.

1. Awwwnnnn. See me dey blush like Hausa Bride wey the family confirm say the dowry complete. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Thank you Krytiq. God bless you Big!!

37. I am so glad to see this... Thank you mama Stell's for this interview. Congrats Ali B... BBC will be the next to interview you. I love your responses. Your mantra is exactly mine! I love to educate, entertain, inform and inspire people.

1. Great to see like minds. Thanks alot dear sister. God bless you.

38. Nice one Ali B. Greater heights in Jesus name Amen.

39. Nice interview. Well done Ali BπŸ‘. That call eh, thank God no be another thing o. 🀣

1. My sister, I dey tell you ooo!! I for cast finish. Thank God. πŸ™
      Thanks alot. ❤️

40. Yeeeeeee Ali B. Papa Zaram. Receive wisdom for greater heights in Jesus name. You are not only a domesticated man. You also love God. What a great combination. Keep enjoying God's favour.

1. Amen and Amen. God bless you abundantly my son's namesy. Thanks alot. ❤️

41. Lol! Lucky you, it wasn't a more private conversation you had on air o! Good luck !

42. I smiled reading through the interview, now I can put a face to the name. Stella thanks for all that you do. My brother got a big break in his career through this platform. God bless you Stella.

43. Wow wow,lol,don't mind sounding like a siren😊lovely interview, may God crown all your effort with good success.

1. Amen oooo. Thanks alot. God bless you. ❤️

44. Kudos to you Alli πŸ‘πŸΏπŸ‘πŸΏkeep soaring. God bless you.

Sluttychic.

45. Am so proud of you Ali.may God bless your hustle

1. Amen Ross. Thanks. God bless you. ❤️

46. Nice one Ali BπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

Greater height I πŸ™

Reading this with a smile πŸ˜ƒ 😊

1. Thanks alot Stella. God bless you. ❤️

47. Kudos Ali B I enjoyed your interview

48. Weldone Ali B. You're a champ!

Neesolah