Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FRIDAY IN HOUSE NEWS....

Friday, October 14, 2022

FRIDAY IN HOUSE NEWS....

I salute oh

IN HOUSE MEMO

Shout out to everyone!...I seem to be forgetting something but cant remember right now due to my state of mind...... I feel so sad about a lot of things circulating on the social media.... Any hope for Naija and the citizens!

Do you need a hug? Here is one!

PS- The face on in house news competition is still open, please send your entry of two photos with different postures if you are Interested....

Send in your good or bad chronicles...
Omugwo stories? send them in!

What else? send them in!

INSIDE THE MIND OF A WOMAN GOING THROUGH MOTHERHOOD.

My first son's birthday is barely three weeks away and I am excited for him. I love birthdays so much, because Its a day to be pampered and feel loved.

I haven’t been able to decide on the theme for his birthday, because he loves so many things and I am trying to figure out how to put it all together.

His past birthdays has being about all I want and imagine for my child’s birthday but this year, I am going to make it strictly about what he wants.

As young as he is, I don’t think he really knows what he wants but this time around I am willing to wait and listen to him no matter how silly his request might be.

Hopefully before the day, I will put my thoughts together and come up with something solid that is all about the boy and not me. My fingers are crossed that I won't try to take over.

My Dear let us know exactly when his birthday is so that we can wish him a happy birthday, we Germans dont wish happy birthday in advance....
Back then the birthday cakes were all about me, now they dont even want cake, just eat out in Restaurants with good food and extended family around.

IJAYS GIST CORNER

EGWUJI
Egwuji means new yam festival. It's usually done in the Ember months especially in the month of November. The six clans usually take turns to celebrate the Egwuji. Each clans has about 10 or more communities, so when it's clan A's turn, the communities involved share or also take turns to mark the Egwuji.

The Egwuji is usually kicked off with an inter community football match competitions and there's always a 'compulsory rain' to remind people about it ( says our elder though we've witnessed this said rain countless times)

In the time past, the community harvests the new yam, each household and takes the fatlings to the village gods, the priest make sacrifices and launches the new yam, then the festival can take place.

Few days to the festival, plenty preparations are made. People go to the farm to harvest cassava which is processed garri or 'white man' ( loiloi or figure), cleaning the home and cutting surrounding bushes. The women go to the market, sell their products and use the money realized to get food things (this kind of shopping is always different from the previous markets), and new clothes for the family.

Normally, some households don't eat good meals except there's an occasion or a festival. So the festival the festival gives some households the opportunity to eat 'rice' prepared with ' tomatoes' and 'meat'. It also gives the children an opportunity to own new clothes.

Some mothers will go to the market and purchase oversized clothes for the kids. Infact the slogan/reason is 'as they grow, it will size them' and they don't have to buy new ones during Christmas which is just a month away. About the shoes, they use broomstick to measure each child and when they get to the market, they'll still buy bigger shoes for the kids. On the festival day, you'll see kids in oversized clothes and shoes feeling uncomfortable and dragging their feet about.

One can actually tell where a child went to just by following the shoe lines on the ground.

People are usually very happy, at least one will rest from farm work for some days. On the D day, there's plenty 'kpokpo kpokpo ' , people pounding from each household. The men gather in the 'obiri' chatting at the top of their voices, drinking palmie with 'ora' (ugba or oil bean famished with meat or stockfish). The kids will never agree to eat breakfast, they must wait till when the festival food is ready before they wack, abi who want eat leftover na. Neighbors exchange food till there's no space or stomach to store the meals.

At 12 noon prompt, someone will beat the village gong from the square. That first beat is to remind people hasten up with whatever they're doing. Then by 1:30 - 2pm, the gong will sound again, this time continuously with the gong and flutes making beautiful tones and at this point, people start heading to the square. The children are always before time just to showcase their new clothes, gbazaquine tablets. 

The youths heads to the square with their wrappers round their waists and singlets ( e be like sey na from here, African magic get their inspiration sef). The elderly men wear their ishiagu or gorge outfits. Don't know why they always choose gorge wrapper for native occasions. 

Mothers tie their expensive wrappers (they're always competing amongst themselves, trying to outdo the other). While the young babes dress to kill, ehen na as husband fit come from the festival cos plenty visitors from neighbouring communities will attend. As they attend our own, we also return the favour during theirs.

At the village square, when everyone has gathered, the village priest in company of some selected elders, declares the festival open and the funs begins. The festival has lots of activities lined up like; display of masquerades, wrestling, atilogue dance ( don't know if I got the spelling right). The atilogue dance is one of the best cultural dances. It's actually a dance club, they dress very beautiful and their dresses made of different colors. One can actually notice an atilogue member from afar cos of the colors of their outfit and the sounds from the beads on their legs and ankles. 

The maidens tie small piece round their chests and small wrapper round their waists. The small piece which barely covers thief chests, displays the maidens succulent boobs ( na the motive abi mission sha). The young men a pant and a half/crop top. The leader who's with the flute, makes beautiful tones while some players the local instruments. It's always a beautiful sight cos the parents of those in the dance group comes out to spread them some cash proudly as they display.

I love the atilogue dance. The party continues till night fall and everyone goes home to prepare for the next year. The next day, na to eat the remnants of the previous day and wash the pots. Jolliment over.

Another dance that takes place during the festival is EGWUJAH dance which is mainly done by kids. Maybe an adult or a teenager will organize some kids, tie them small George wrappers round their waists and chests and adorn them with beads and uli ( e reddish substance for beautification). They get the usual ( musical pot) and chaka chaka. They walk round to different households singing and dancing, each household they visits gives them money and treats them to a nice meal. Sometimes they visit neighbouring communities and at the end of the day, they'll have plenty cash in their purse with big tummies from plenty choppings. They share their cash and everyone goes home. The Egwujah is also done during Christmas

One thing about the new yam is that it doesn't have taste, one will have to make it ngwongwo to have a good taste. Though the Egwuji has been scrapped out of my place because of Christianity, it's no longer done like before. No sacrificing of yams to the gods and parade of masquerades. They now recognize it during Christmas when everyone will be home, they party, wrestle, play football matches etc, pray and go home

Very interesting read...I was just seeing it all in front of me.....Beautifully rich tradition.

MEMO TO ALL BLOG VISITORS

Stella it's been very on me and my siblings for days now because our younger brother returned home mentally unstable,  this boy is supposed to pass out with this current corps members cos he's serving at Ogun state..

We took him to a rehabilitation centre because he's been abusing drugs,  from crystal ice to Canadian loud,  my dear it was much, but the thing I saw at that rehab is what is making me so sick....

Stella I saw more than 200 youths both male and female,  all are drugs related cases, in fact the hospital is filled up, no more bed space, so most of them are standing and  they looked hungry and  kept begging for bread and biscuits...

It was a terrible sight to behold,  the reason I'm making this post is to beg our youths, stay away from addiction,  be it drugs ooo, drinks ooo,  tobacco,  whichever one you abuse, please stay away from it and save your family the stress of watching you in chains:::

What I saw this week messed up my whole system and I'm yet to recover,  please use your voice and tell them,  life is too short to waste it in chains.... God bless  

I am so sorry you had to go through... So your brother has messed up his life? Imagine!... Sad story and i pray that he recovers..... do they ever really recover? God abeg!

SMALL AMEBO

Them catch my landlord with one small geh on his matrimonial bed, infact na him wifey catch them red handed. The girl Is about 19 or 20. Them sey him dey carry her go different hotels, already people dey talk cho cho cho sey the man fit follow goat wey wear skate. And him dey do married women too. My plenty Waka no let me observe

Him wifey catch am oh, the quarrel continue into the midnight. Land lady dey quarrel the girl mother ( they're tenants here too), the babe maale sef, tell them to leave her daughter alone. She say 'thunder go fire all the people wey dey gossip her daughter '. Una doooooooooooh

They should be given quit notice, what nonsense!.. How can you allow your daughter mess around with somebody's husband right in the nose of the wife? haba!!!

102 comments:

1. Oya sope otilo, izzzz goodness. The week is gone.
    Una good afternoon.

1. Good afternoon. The drug addicted bro rehabilitating is a really sad story. I pray help comes his way for complete healing. The present youths, especially the teen age group don't understand real life yet. Life is deep indeed. Rico's death should make some reflect back. Its well.

So sorry for the sad feelings stella. Healing is here.
      I pray God heals our land and make Nigeria great again Amen.
      OBIdiently me!!!

2. Divine Health Confessions!!

I magnify the Lord at all times because He has filled my mouth with laughter and my heart with joy. The joy of the Lord strengthens and revitalizes my body. There is no sadness or depression in my life. Worry and fear are dispelled as I radiate joy and peace.

3. We are all excited about ASUU calling off the strike. 8 months is a long time!
    However, beyond ASUU calling off, let's spare a thought for parents. They'd now have to source funds for transportation, accommodation, feeding and pocket money. These things were done 8 months ago, then strike happened, and the kids returned home. Now, they need to spend all over again in a country where life is HARD! This strike is a loss for lecturers, students and parents. Government no send awa papa! 🥲. ASUU might have to come up with other ways to show their grievance. Strike no favor anybody at all.
    Here's praying for all parents with kids in universities, that God will provide. And may God take all our students back safely to schools. Amen!
    Una Gud Afternoon....#ALiSpeaks

1. Exactly what I was discussing with my neighbor this morning.. My son Don dey request for everything. All the clothes we bought in January can't work again. Na new wardrobe and food .. God I dey your hand like this.

2. Official Prestige: E nor just easy for parents for dis kontri. But God will make a way for you ma'am. 🙏🙏

3. My younger brother has called me this morning, I have told him to go and call his other sister. Kai! I’m in trouble. ASUU for wait till next month na, this month choke

4. Amen 🙏
      Infact my heart is doing me somehow since i heard it. Though it's what we've been praying for. Haaa!! Fada Lawd na your hand i dey o. God is on the throne 🙏

5. Exactly. I pray help comes. The students shouldn't forget to vote out this evil government come February next year. Its our Nigeria and we must take it back!

4. Why is it that y'all ladies when making a selfie video tend to tilt your head left and right then stroke your fake long haired wigs (when una no be oyibo) pout your lips then use that filter that makes y'all look dreamy? 😏 Then after all that when you reach a Bobo's side you yank off that wig then expose that wig cap? Choiiiiiiiiii!!!! Cringe worthy ooooooo! Ikwkwakwakwkwkwakwa, lemme let y'all in a secret, guys don't really fancy this wigs, clean woven Didi with nice earrings and light make up, totally turns a Brova on! Ya dig?... Oya thank me🤔

1. Next time, please use the word "some". You won't catch me doing that selfie thing you described. I don't even like it at allll.
      Also, just as you like didi, some guys like the wigs.
      Learn to use "some". Thank you.

2. Kelvin some guys like their lady slayed up with wig and heavy make up, including some married men. Speak for yourself.

3. So anything girl do na man e do am for?
      Kelvin why do men bounce when they walk?
      Why do they put hands in their trouser pocket?
      Why do they pack their blokos?

Pls allow girls to be girlie.

5. Thank God its finally weekend.

1. Sandra, I humbly come before you to ask again... "So you nor dey really watch See?"
      Chai you dey miss o

Meanwhile, Selina 3>>>>>> I too love Angel😭😭😭

Bimbo is the love of my life of Nollywood ❤️❤️❤️

2. I am currently watching Selina 2 and it has been absolutely amazing sfsg @Fidel
      I am laughing and getting all teary-eyed big time

3. Fidel I'm watching see right now and I love it. I'm in season 2. Very interesting movie @Sandra you should watch it

4. I started Season 1, episode 1 and saw blind people fighting war, abeg how is that even possible? Anyway, lemme try it out again.😁

5. @fidel just reminded me now to download Selina 3. Angel is a whole vibe. Selina's English nor go kill person

6. #chronicle of a bad debtor.

My neighbor sews while I sell materials and Fabrics.. Some times she send her apprentice to come and collect materials on credit with promise to pay.. She won't bother to voluntarily return my money. I have to Ask her about it and sometimes I have ended up using her debts to pay her for sewing my dress..

Last 2weeks, she sent them to collect dazzling stone 400₦. She previously owe balance of 450. I oblige her request. They also picked some items later to add up additional figure..

When I wanted to go to market, I asked for my money, she swear to me that she doesn't have but promised to pay by weekend when clients picked up their clothes.. No wahala.
    By weekend, she didn't pay up. I didn't bother to go to her.

By Sunday evening, I came around the shop to charge my phone. She was doing work too. She sent her sister to come and COLLECT #250 item. I bluntly told her that it's not possible.. She left. I heard madam grumbling in her shop. I don't understand Yoruba so it doesn't matter to me.. My street neighbor entered my shop and pleaded with me to release the goods to her that it's her dress she wants to use it on. The woman is elderly and always jovial to me. I couldn't deny her request..

They shamelessly came to pick it up. By Monday morning, this lady did not respond to my greeting. 😄😄. Wetin concern me? She sent her girls to other locations to buy materials.. I no send. By Tuesday I sent my son to ask her to bring my money.. She said Wednesday. 😒

Wednesday, she disappeared.. Thursday, I didn't see my money but she couldn't sustain sending them to other vendors. They started coming back to me.. Today is Friday, She is Yet to Pay up. 😑

My elderly friend has pleaded with me to not make trouble but NEVER RELEASE MY GOODS TO HER ON CREDIT.. Na so I see am for this business matter.

Una good afternoon my people 💜.

7. Chilling real life account:

"Got into a lift from the top floor to head down. Lift stopped at fourth floor, door opened, saw people outside standing still, making no attempt to come in despite me being alone inside and there was room for them. The automatic lift door then closed and before it was completely shut, I heard someone outside said 'Why is the lift so full of people?'"

Walahi, entering lift now has a new feeling for me 😭😭

8. IHN
    Cheers to the weekend

9. One babe sighted her man and was shouting hamisu, hamisu, hamisu 🥱 I never knew she was trying to say "I miss you" 🤣😂🤣😂

10. Who loves Friyays like i do?
    T-G-I-F!
    I am hyper pumped and hope you are too?
    Let's have ample fun this weekend
    Shall we?
    Good afternoon to y'all on this blogsphere
    #FunFriyay

1. Friday na for akara and bread abi.

11. Welcome IHN 🧡
    Greetings everyone
    Loaded IHN
    Some mother's though...shake my head

12. Good afternoon everyone🤗
    Do have a fun-filled weekend.

13. Una good afternoon ooh!! How de go dey go? Thank God it's Friday

14. Pls stay away from hard drugs and also avoid friends who are into it inorder not to be tempted.one love people.

15. Good afternoon neighbours. It's a loaded Friday IHN. Stella, I still believe there's hope for Nigeria, though it may not happen soon. It's well with my country.

Make una get beta afternoon oo.

16. Good afternoon everyone
    Thanks bv for sharing your brother's drug story, I hope we will learn from it nd not try drugs and for those that have tried it try and stop now before it's too late. I pray your brother gets better

17. All I see is the sign-out post which resonates with me at this time....Good afternoon beautiful people of SDK....

Ijeoma PH thanks, you brought back wonderful memories...Igbo Amaka....

Motherhood Poster I love birthdays like crazy...My sister's birthday is tomorrow I am happy planning a surprise for her...

Happy Weekend everyone

18. I catch the hug Stella 🤗
    My emotion is messed up,I don't know if I'm happy or sad.
    This life no balance Jare.......

19. Say no to drugs!
    I pray God gives your brother a second chance.

Hello IHN!

20. It's not every hospital with light that is a HOSPITAL.

Many of them are abattoirs.

You are less than meat to them and they only care about your money.

We are now witnessing the 'benefits' of a FAILED state. Failed healthcare, FAILED education, FAILED energy sector etc...your leaders are unconcerned feeding fat like gorillas with their packages.

Next election, if you like go and elect another mannequin, na una sabi.

Me don japa for my life.

1. I know I don't have money so I pray fervently to God that me or any member of my family will have any cause to visit a nigerian hospital for anything. My father never fell sick, the one time he did and went to the hospital, he never came out alive. The negligence and lack of empathy and professionalism is unbelievable.
      That poor guy could have been saved if only

2. 14:35 yeah I believe dats the reason why dat BBN guy death rilly hit hard cause he would be alive if they treat it like emergency. Like somebody had accident and you sat him down as if he ws havin dinner. Like for real? As in me I watch medical dramas, no urgency nothing when every second counts. Just wearing gloves as if you're going to party and shouting and laugh. Na auxiliary nurse dem pack full there and agbero. They dont deserve to even treat plants. Pray nothing carry you go place like that, or own don don be dat.

21. Just finished raining here. Cold Day everyone. Birthday blessings to your son @MHP. Nice one @IJ. Enjoy your weekends lovelies

1. Thank God ,here the heat want to finish us.

22. What a pity!
    This drug issues is so rampant amongst our youth these days..
    May God help Nigerians

1. The case of this drug issues is getting worse day by day

23. i hail everybody oh, hope say our day dey go on fine fine. Make una enjoy weekend.

24. Good afternoon my SDK family.
    Our God is awesome 👍👍

25. Stella whatever happened to that post where people give out things they no longer need and someone who wants it shows interest and pick it, I'm sure it will help one or two persons out here. I have some baby clothes for giveaway here in lagos

26. Drug abuse in my area here is just like drinking water you see mostly the youths are the ones, young boys and girls engaging in drug abuse. Hmm story for another day.

27. Good afternoon beautiful people
    TGIF ✌🏻✌🏻

28. I wonder what right thinking person will be excited about ASUU calling off the strike.
    What was deliberated and agreed upon?
    Are you aware?
    Has a communique been shared?
    What are the timelines?
    What was resolved?
    You are shaking buttocks in joy till when?
    When will be the next strike?
    Imagine going to work no knowing if that day will be your last day.

Is that something to celebrate.

As a parent paying schools, there is information you should be privy of.

You must hold these people accountable.

By now you should know your educational sector, like your health sector is NOTHING to wrote home about.

They are dead, completely dead.

It is those of you borning like ra.ts that I pity the most.

1. Appeal Court told ASUU to 'obey before complain" that is, call off the strike then come for "appeal". So, it's court order they ate obeying. We have not see the last of the strike.

2. People have decided to effect a change by voting next year or what would you rather have parents do since it isn’t in their hands to either continue or end the strike?

Una go just come online they type type/direct BS to people wey una no dey feed.

Now after the whole query and whatever it is you typed, what solution or measures did you proffer?? Only to come online and type like you’re talking to your junior siblings.
      FO!

3. @Baltika, I absolutely agree you. Its definitely not the end of the strike. Congratulations to those who made best use of the time.

@Numerous whatever, you don't sound mentally stable going by your comment. Pele. If you cannot converse without using foul words and foaming at the mouth, that's your business.

29. Please what's Gods Made

Heard it somewhere and the person said thank God she is not an addict

30. Abi make I send my picture for foihn ni🤔, I fit win o, emi omodara o di case.make I go arrange my olori aso(best outfit wey dey stay bottom of box) use better perfume enter studio joo.

1. Go ahead, I will vote for you if you use your blog ID to enter.

2. You can send a picture of your best game to represent you .🏃‍♀️

31. Good afternoon everyone, thank God is Friday💃💃💃💃.

32. Shebi, few years ago an ND one student had his girlfriend coming over. Young man decided to take drugs (I've forgotten the name they called it), so that he could "perform very well". Only for him to be killed by the drugs.
    I couldn't help but wonder at an ND one student already doing drugs, already taking drugs to enhance his sexual performance, already bothered about sex!
    I felt for the parents abeg.

33. Good afternoon everyone,God, please save this country

34. Afternoon school run under the sun enh, e no easy at all. I wish I know how to drive

1. Stay there nau,no go learn how to drive stay dey do nwunye oga.

35. See gist! Thank God ASUU strike is over.

36. Good afternoon Jewelu and bvs,God protect our kids from drug abuse and its inherent dangers,its not only in Nigeria,its a global pandemic.

37. All these drug aducts no even dey get shame.
    One in my compound does not pay for any house bills, always owing. Begs for food because all she does with her money is to buy smoke and drugs.

Pls you guys shouldn't let your brother stay there for long. That place makes them real mad.

38. Goodafternoon my blog family.
    It's getting cloudy here...
    Omo this mental issue is getting out of hand, I saw an aboki bike rider this afternoon just jump down from his bike and started displaying on the main road, next thing he fell to the floor and started rolling round, I was just pitying him

39. This harmattan,the case of drugs addiction will be massive
    God abeg ooooo

Intervene

40. What's with Alex and Ifu talking nonsense and blasphemy all in the name of mourning,we should be very careful with our words and not let the devil use us no matter what...by the grace of God Rico is in a better place,he's flying with the Angels👼,we should take our pain to God and not at HIM,if HE can comfort me then HE can do same for you!!🙏🙏

1. Kpele o...God's mouthpiece.
      Eleribu Holiness 1of God.😏

2. What you don't know my dear is that God understands what they are going through...Did you hear how Martha approached Jesus when Lazarus died that he even weep...You don't know the conversation she had...So my dear allow them to grieve, it is painful and it is not right to tell people how to grieve...

41. Stelikoko dnt feel bad, e go better for we naija
    Ijay your description have me thirsting for festive food
    Una gudafternoon

42. Ihn.....late as usual, serious hug is needed here,may good Lord heal those in pains, Rico"s death shattered me,got to know about it late when I'm almost setting to rest.....and the rest i coudnt find again.
    Motherhood.....we wish your little one a good memories as he comes up with something great.
    Gist..... Traditions are great event for unity.
    Amebo Gist.......things fall apart
    Memo.... it's sad to know almost young men now indulge in drugs....may your brother get needed help.