Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Sprinter Tobi Amusan Narrates How Her Mum Supported Her But Her Dad Burnt Her Training Gear...

Thursday, July 28, 2022

Nigerian Sprinter Tobi Amusan Narrates How Her Mum Supported Her But Her Dad Burnt Her Training Gear...

39 comments:

1. Why are some parents like this,even educated ones!
    I'm glad she persisted and now she's winning big big.

1. Reminds me of my father that walked my husband out of the sitting room on their first meeting because i was still in school and didnt want to see me with any man. At a point when marriage wasnt coming when i was older he was the one that started asking how far with that young man. Now they are best of friends he even walks into my fathers room to gist .

2. I wish we can turn this into a discussion about African dads n how their tough love can be detrimental sometimes

3. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

2. He did what he thought was best at the time. Thank God for both of them and take care of them now that you can
    OMEH

1. Exactly. He didn't know any better. If he saw the future, he wouldn't deny his child that.

2. OMEH,

Exactly!!!!

If it hadn't gone this way, the story would have been different.
      Only a small percentage of stories end up this way.

If, when she lied using the house of GOD, or studies, something terrible had happened at the practice venue or enroute, the mother would have blamed herself. Or the father may have blamed himself for not openly approving etc.

If sports didn't pay, and she becomes a miscreant with no education.Or leverages on other body parts to earn a living etc etc, the resulting effects would have ruined the home.

For most "normal" parents, our prayer is that, may our actions have positive results.

Thank GOD for your family Tobi. GOD bless your parents. And congratulations again!

3. Parents who want to truncate destiny still feel entitled to be taken care of without an apology.

3. i am sure he will be shouting that is my daughter, she took after her father when it wasn't so.

4. Nigerian parents are toxic bullies. watch this arsehole now expect to be praised for her accomplishments

1. Haba! it's not as bad as that, why qualify her dad with such word. He did what he thought would be the best for her, probably he invested her education.
      I'm not really a fan of speaking or granting interviews at ones high moment except if you've practiced what to say, otherwise, you end up giving out some information out of control. If there's a need to grant interview, speak to professionals and think twice before talking, the media outlet are out to make profit from your story they don't care about your feeling or the outcome afterwards.

Felicity

2. Easy o. Take it easy, please. Our parents did what they thought was best at that point. Nobody knows everything.

3. @11:08
      Are your parents American parents?

4. Wao, you would be surprised in years to come, your children and grand children would cringe at your parenting style. The man did what he taught was best for her, he didn't know any better.

5. I am raising my children as humanely as possible. The Golden Rule reigns supreme in my house. What's there to cringe about? And miss me with "he didn't know any better"..I believe in calling out all/any bad behavior whether recent or in 1603. Now that he supposedly knows better do you think he apologised?

6. @13;55
      You are judging even the ones you haven't been told and that is in your last sentence.

7. 11:08,

I don't know what your experience/s was like, but please seek help.

This, is so that you will at least do better than they did( since you you feel like they didn't do enough).

8. 15:50 all the help you've sought has clearly not done you any good so leave me be. I'm good right here.

9. There is no excuse for torturing your child to the point of burning her clothes for doing nothing wrong. The earliest schools (Greek gymnasiums) were very big on physical fitness. You require a healthy body for a healthy mind. How fellow PhD holders or well educated people are managing chronic stress, hypertension or other chronic diseases due to poor lifestyle choices? How many with degrees can think outside the box?

The dad may hold degrees but school didn't pass through him as he lacks a reformed mind.

He didn't consult professionals before burning her clothes so why should she walk on eggshells and downplay a hurt that has clearly not healed?

10. I'm telling you. We need to as a society discuss how to to improve toxic parenting because all this rubbish we see in African countries is a result of such bad parenting. But no we are supposed to blindly forget the abuse we received as some kind of a yeye sign of respect

5. Wao! See life! Thank God for your mum

6. Wow ThankGod for you..papa will be soooo proud now .

7. Thank God for your determination. It has paid off. Now the world knows your name. Congratulations once again.

8. Atleast, he wasn't a dead beat father. He invested in what he thought was the best for you. He did no wrong. Thank God everything turned out well. Appreciate them both

1. You’re correct, his only fault was that he didn’t support her sport activities because he thought going to school was the only way to become successful.

2. Instead of projecting your excuses, apologize to your kids and make amends now.

9. Sob and pity story don start. Enjoy your win in peace abeg

10. A lot of Nigerian fathers don't even make the effort to get to know their kid. It's really sad.
    I thank God she came out victorious in the end.

1. Because more often than not, especially back then, most fathers worried more about putting food on the table. Whilst leaving the running of the home to the woman.

It worked in a good number of homes. The man did what he knew best. The mother did her part.

11. Replies
    1. Toxic, for wanting her to have an education? Interesting!

2. 15:52 his behavior was toxic. i don't know why you people have such a prob;lem with calling out problematic behavior. no wonder this country has gone to the dogs

3. They struggle to see the humanity of children because they are those kinds of parents themselves and are allergic to apologizing.

If this girl has ended up as an ophthalmologist with a drug problem and then went to jail for driving under the influence and lost her license, what they would say is "after all her father did for her".

I'm glad she had a mother with insight who broke the cycle of toxicity to an extent.

12. Lol. Me too. Especially if she's spending the money here.

13. For her to say this, she most likely doesn’t have a good relationship with her father. A lot of us don’t and it’s sad. I tell my husband all the time we need to be conscious parents and be emotionally present. It goes a long way in a child’s life especially in their formative years. That love is important.

1. Thank you and may God bless you. Don't mind these one's here who are determined to tow the same path they know wasn't good

2. My dad complains about how we are all closer to our mother n only tell her things. Yet he does this exact type of thing! No emotional support just complaints and lecture. Parenting is not just about mindlessly criticising every non academic interest your kid takes a liking to. Sometimes try to understand them as human beings. Listen to understand not to react. That's the result there
      No emotional bond.

14. Enough of the excuses for this Dad. Instead of victimizing her again the same way you dismiss your children's gifts and talents, make amends now and raise well rounded children in accordance with how they are gifted.