Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Bread Makers Begin A 4 Day Warning Strike Over High Cost Of Baking Materials..

Thursday, July 21, 2022

Nigerian Bread Makers Begin A 4 Day Warning Strike Over High Cost Of Baking Materials..

Wahala dey!

The sudden increase might be connected to the Russian war in Ukraine... Ukraine has not been able to export wheat and this is a big problem for many Countries..

39 comments:

1. Hmmmm my son and bread is 5&6.. My sis inlaw dat owned a bakery has long closed shop and relocated with her kids. All her profit she used in payn salary,nothn to take home. This was once a thriving biz for her.

2. Ok ooo, bread munchas, over to you!!!!, I don't eat bread no more

1. Typical African mentality. You don't eat bread, so it doesn't concern you.

Newsflash, it will have a direct effect on whatever else you eat, as there will be demand pressure on alternatives darling!

2. It has nothing to do with African mentality, my family adjusted initially when the price increased. Since then I have no need for bread. There are lots of alternatives, do research. Man does not live on bread alone.

3. Lyndy this isn’t the first anon.
      Ladies like this are why some men like Ceasar say all women bring to the table is sex. Women like you bring insult upon the intellectual capacity of women in general. Do you know how shallow you sounded?

Even when the anon tried to politely school you, you still hardworkingly went further to show how lightly brained you are. This is why women should learn to read books or watch educational and enlightening documentaries. Everything no end for instagram slay video or pr!ck and totoh matter.

4. You need some lessons on manners and etiquette , what part of Nigerian constitution did I violate by saying that I DON'T EAT BREAD to warrant this venom from you?. Every fashion in this world will come and go but for people to have different opinions on issues have come to stay. Deal with it. If it is only me, bread would have gone out of existence, tey tey!!!

3. Nothing dey shock me again for this country.. one tuber of yam now is 1k and one 4litre of fufu is 2400.

Abeg,,make we dey drink garri dey go

1. Yours is good. I bought one small tuber for 2,500 in iponri. God go still provide

2. Habamana one tuber of yam 1k and you are complaining! Fear God oh. In Ph, a tuber of yam is 4500.

3. I bought 5 tubers of yam for 7k in warri.

4. Believe me when I tell you that you got it very cheap😣

4. Leaving this country don dey hungry me.How can bread people be on strike bikonu?

1. Did you all read Stellas notes?

It's expensive everywhere! And places like UK where almost every breakfast/snack is dependent on flour, go figure!

2. Bread is 60pence here. Wholemeal, normal any u choose is about 60pence not up to 1pound. Thank God

5. Stella Nnem, this one no be Ukraine situation. Honestly, I believe the Federal government is now purposely allowing the hike of everything. They want to deal with the masses through the economy. I thought the likes of Dangote manufactures flour and wheat, why are we still importing it? This is to show that thus current government never had a progressive intentions for the nation. They are as clueless as can be. Soon this country will be on lockdown as everything is slowly grinding to a stop. They in government still imports everything they need but refuse to grow the economy. They steal from the nation to spend and grown other developed countries thereby continually growing their economy.

This is pure wickedness on so many levels.

1. God bless you. It is not about Ukraine war anything. This government is bent on suffering the masses that voted them. Open a business in Abuja. If you are not strong. You will close business in few months. Different kinds of incorporated and unhindered taskforce. They don't just want to see you smile or survive

2. 10:13,

Please stop. It's valid for us to air our opinions, but it's important that we do not expose our ignorance.

3. Wheat is grown, not manufactured. Ukraine is one of the worlds largest exporters of wheat. Wheat is what is processed into flour. Russians are dropping bombs on wheat farms and blocking sea routes for wheat export.

Do we have commercial wheat grown in Naija? Will bandits allow these farms thrive?

4. At shinning, Ukraine is not causing the 15% development fee the government is imposing
      Which fee is that again
      Have they reduced the 50% tariff on imported used cars
      They keep finding ways to make things harder

5. It has nothing to do with Ukraine, what do we ascribe to increase of prices of other commodities, like, Red oil, vegetables, tomatoes, yams, potatoes even my good old banga

6. Nigerian govt are completely tone deaf and disconnected from the people. As long as they can still eat their Shoprite bought bread at home the people can starve. Their families live abroad. Beasts.

7. Bread has been sustaining alot of us since 1900.
    The warning strike might not change anything,They should increase the bread price alil, instead of going on indefinite strike💔💔💔

1. You Gerrit@KrytiQ,the whole essence of the warning strike is to highly increase the price, just go ahead and increase, people will still buy, after all they quietly added#100 after awhile another,#50 was added, but this increment this time is gonna be quiet high,so for people to accept it,they need to make it scarce.

8. Before you know it, it will go for 1k. Now it is 750 in Tastee and other places. God will still provide

1. I bought family loaf,1k2 in everyday in ph yesterday

9. Bread strike?? Hmmm!
    Which way naiija?

10. Omg!!!

Meaning the price of bread may increase😭😭😭😭😭

11. My son and bread...anyway I will soon start making my bread at home,their own is too much. I learnt pastry sef.

1. That's good.👍

Any lady that has a cooker with an oven,non stick pots and a gas cylinder should buy the ingredients and make home made bread fa. Kilode?

Or at most,use your toaster,cut dough in small patterns and bake with electricity.
      What's all the quarrel about?
      It gets ready in few hours. Bread is bread.

We prefer homemade brioche sef.
      Food is expensive everywhere,trolleys are fewer at the tills now.

Ukraine and Russia will be at it till December, they're following a process,just buckle up,that's all.
      That's what the world has gotten to.

12. Cabin biscuits to the rescue.

13. It’s better to buy half, quarter or full bag

14. This bread thing have started since on Monday, we were late for sch Tues and Wednesday because of bread my kids are used to bread breakfast and wouldn't accept anything in the morning

What helped us today was that hubby bought bread yesterday when he went to town

15. How some spew their ignorance confidently is mind boggling. There are micro & macro economic issues involved. Someone rightly mentioned the war in Ukraine. There is global recession, the pandemic & the WAR in Ukraine is partly to blame for the price of wheat products, fuel & food globally. Gas prices are like $7/liter here and you need over $100 to fill your tank! Yet someone reduced it all to task force activities in Abuja.

Ukraine is the wheat basket of the world. Dangote, overrated as his “manufacturing” activities are, does not produce wheat. Which farms grow mass produced wheat in Nigeria?

Half of what some think are “made” in Nigeria are just packaged or assembled in Nigeria. Very little production takes place in Nigeria, the reason for few jobs and opportunities. Trading, packaging, assembling are NOT manufacturing. Those of us in the west eat more wheat based products than you, we feel it more.
    As for Yam, don’t even complain. Some of us send food to relatives that we can’t eat as often as they do. We buy yam at $12/$15 per tuber so do not even eat it more than twice a month at best while entitled, ungrateful relations complain if they feel it’s not enough.

Stop attributing everything to the useless government you are too timid to protest against. You are under mass hypnosis, if 30 million people troop out all over to protest, how many soldiers are there? Keep suffering and smiling while small Sri Lanka is fighting for better governance while some pressure tired diaspora relatives like they don’t need to eat or pay their own bills too. Don’t ask me to protest, I did from undergrad days to June 12 1993 annulment.

All this generation is about is butt, s*x,SM and bbn while the real brains who gave you Instagram protest bad policies daily until their government responds. Buses are now free in Spain.

I get food delivered to some entitled relatives who are not grateful. Some of us here feel used by our people after all we are security & economic refugees of a failed state. Why can’t you try to fight government again instead of complaining. ASUU on strike for months, ever heard of late Kunle Adepeju & University Student Unions back then? They were the pillars of protests in the country but the kids aren't even trying to follow the student union tradition of protests again! The military governments were more brutal yet students led society in protesting!
    I have taken care of extended family who refuse to move to cheaper towns outside Lagos for over 30 years yet “jazz” & wish you evil if you dare not give all they want. They don’t even care how you are faring. I’m tired of paying “mafia jazz protection”.
    Face your oppressors or relocate to Lesotho, Botswana or Rwanda. I hope my entitled wicked witch relatives see this as 30 years is too much to make your relative slave to care for you & your brood when you are not disabled, especially when I’m now older, too tired to work as much as I used to while you never sent me ordinary dry fish or Garri! Some Nigerians deserve their wicked government given how wicked, transactional & entitled some “relatives” are with those who tried to find their way elsewhere. If you are one of those who always take, with no desire to build yourself up to become a giver, those who visit dark places giving names of innocent relatives out of laziness, wickedness & uninformed envy, you deserve your wicked government as you are as wicked. May God deliver all innocent Nigerians though.

Bread, gas, food is expensive everywhere so protest in front of Alausa, your governor’s house or Aso. Apologies to those who genuinely care for their relatives in the US. You are a gem if you do.

16. Amen in Jesus Mighty Name🙏🏾