Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos State Gov Sanwo Olu Suspends Lagos Abortion Guidelines

Friday, July 08, 2022

Lagos State Gov Sanwo Olu Suspends Lagos Abortion Guidelines

Does This mean Abortion is Officially illegal in Lagos?

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu has directed the suspension of the “State Guidelines on Safe Termination of Pregnancy for Legal Indications” issued by the Directorate of Family Health and Nutrition in the Ministry of Health.

This was contained in a statement by the Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, titled, “Retraction on guidelines relating to safe termination of pregnancy for medical reasons in Lagos State’.

Sanwo-Olu said that the new guidelines would not be implemented until adequate deliberation.

The governor added that the suspension would also allow for adequate public sensitization and stakeholder engagement to reach a consensus required for successful guideline development.

from Punch on Instagram

7 comments:

1. Will it stop the dumping of babies on the road side and other places?

2. US wey reverse the ban lost a lot of her population due to COVID-19. But we keep increasing with no planning

3. My own advice to bvs is that people should go back to abstinence. Then if you must, then wrap it up.
    The rate of stds now no be here, herpes , warts and the rest.
    Next 10-20years up the incidence of cervical cancer will likely go up

Make we de wise.

4. Inferiority complex is his problem. America’s 51st unrecognized state. As if reproductive right is the most important problem facing his people. How did these wicked guys get into power? People are hungry you are talking if something else, what is wrong with you? Trying so hard to belong to a different country without a care for your own people who you daily oppress? My state governor here has no entourage, can you, your wife and stooges who live on welfare from the people do the same?

Are the issues facing you the same as the US? How many cops guard governors in the US? Can you copy that? Ever heard of a congressman addressed to as “honorable”? Can you copy that? Our governors make a fraction of the salary your intellectually lazy self makes, can you copy that? Copy good policies, not divisive ones. Your state of 25million people are exposed to bad water, climate change, lack of drainage, electricity, affordable housing, good maternal healthcare or even an accurate record of clinics in your state yet you just wake up & copy 🇺🇸 social politics. Sanwoolu & Tinubu sycophants argue with your keyboard.

5. This is ridiculous actually, it means his team didn't advise as the guideline is a national document. This guideline is for doctors so they know when it is legally permissible to terminate a pregnancy ie when a mother's life is at risk or if she has an ectopic pregnancy etc.Abortion is still illegal in Nigeria.