Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Crooner Iyanya Says He Took A Break From Music Because Of His Mental Health

Wednesday, July 20, 2022

Crooner Iyanya Says He Took A Break From Music Because Of His Mental Health

Iyanya Onoyom Mbuka, the Senior Special Assistant on Tourism and Entertainment to Governor Ben Ayade of Cross River State, has revealed that he took a break from the music industry due to the toxicity and the quest to better himself mentally.

The singer made this known while having an interview with Ebuka Obi-Uchendu.

“With hits come pressure; the ups and the downs. Fans don’t see that. But you as an artiste have to tell yourself the truth, take some time off, and do what’s right. It was very intentional for me to leave and come back better.

“For me, I wasn’t ready for all of that. I knew I was going to be famous, but I didn’t realise it was going to be that huge. The effects on me weren’t so good at some point. Yeah, of course. It was a toxic time for me.

“If you’re not careful, it could break you. It was crazy, mentally and otherwise. When you become a version of yourself that you don’t like, you have to take some time away. It was for about three to four years.

“I had to shut down. I lost my mind. Mentally, I was gone. If I didn’t, I won’t be here today. Ubi Franklin and I made up a long time ago, but we didn’t say so on social media. The issues that made us fall apart don’t exist anymore.

“I was young and everything happened so fast. Now I know you have to listen to people, especially those giving you advise for growth. Yeah, I’m in a different headspace. And I’m more mature,” he revealed.

Iyanya rose to fame after winning the first season of Project Fame West Africa and released his debut album in 2011.

from TheWillNigeria..

17 comments:

1. I pray you recover quickly, people are really going through a lot so we all should try to be nice to anyone around us.

1. Excited courtesy,

Please read the post again.

2. Anon 9:20, post drop 8:30 am. E don open comment 8:31am.
      You tink say e read anything?
      Na from headline e construct e own post for head.

2. It is not easy anywhere. God will help us all. The pressure is real.

3. He's got a captivating voice,very sweet,I pray he continues going higher.

1. I love Iyanya and his music. I still have almost all his music on my play list. I still dance to 'all my ladies'. So glad he is back. But this one you are now singing of being choked i don't understand........

4. It's well bro. Fame comes with a lot of baggage. God be with you. You are a great singer!!

5. I wish him a speedy recovery. Its high time Nigerians pay attention to mental health,and to avoid anything that can affect our mental health if we can. The issue of the country sef is not helping matter,may God help us

6. "When you become a version of yourself that you don’t like..." I never credited him with this much substance. Wow! We await your come back. Good to hear from you.

1. Lol. "You never credited him".

And you, are who again?

2. 10:00 lmaoooo na the secret be that. the almighty secret gan gan..🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

7. Thank God you realized on time and took a break.

8. Eeya,it is well with you Iyanya.

9. How about all those married women you don knack finish..all you want is thier waist. Ubi still have your receipts

1. Na im be d mental breakdown thingy na. Shey e don use im mouth talk say e for don dey listen advice.

Wetin no good no good, no matter as any pesin wan twist am. I saw where he was going. Same for Emma Nyra.

No surprise at all.