Justice Oyindamola Ogala of the Lagos State High Court, Ikeja, found the Nwankwos guilty of conspiracy and manslaughter in the killing which happened in April 2020 in Lagos
The judge delivered judgment in police suit no ID/13178C/20 against the husband and wife.
Justice Ogala held that the prosecution proved the charges of manslaughter, conspiracy and attempt to pervert justice and misconduct beyond doubt.
The judge said the testimonies of the prosecution witnesses were strong and corroborated the fact that the maid died due to the beating by Fortune.
The first defendant, according to Justice Ogala, assaulted Joy which caused her death as she had not been feeling well before that day.
The court deplored that the convicts did not inform or call the family of the deceased from 5am when they found out she had died.
It was until noon that Steve called Joy’s sister to request her full name and other personal information before her embalming in the morgue.
Justice Ogala said Steve, having found out that his wife “had killed the deceased due to the beating, assisted her in perverting the course of justice by hanging the body”.
“The hanging was staged, the deceased was hanged by a rope and the position the police found her body did not depict suicide as her feet were on the floor”, she noted.
The defendants tampered with evidence when they embalmed the body, which made it difficult for the toxicologist to carry out an autopsy”, the judge added.
Fortune was sentenced to 14 years in prison, while Steve bagged two years imprisonment.
from dailypost
Good...I hope other heartless people will learn from this.
ReplyDeleteThey won't learn nada cos their conscience have been taken over by the devil! How can you maltreate someone else's child to the point of killing? Kai! The sentence is too small as far as I'm concerned...it should be 6000yrs for them . wicked couples
DeleteThank God justice prevailed.i know it won't bring back the dead girl but at least they must pay for their wickedness...the judge should have given them life sentence,so it will serve as example to others not to maltreat other people children
ReplyDeleteThis whole thing is out of hand
ReplyDeleteWhy would an accomplice be sentenced to just 2years imprisonment??
Can the law of banning underage maids be ordered already??!
I'm tired of hearing the same news all the time without solution.
Will the parents of these girls hear?
Delete3 problems
DeletePoor foolish people who breed children without plan setting them up to be menial workers
Nasty employers feeling like GOD
Economic problems nayionwide
*nationwide
DeleteProbably cos they have kids. In America if the couple have kids they won't serve their sentences concurrently so one parent can stay and care for the kids... but that's if their lawyer pleads with the judge for this arrangement. It also reduces the cost the state would have had to bear via child care services for kids whose parents are jailed
DeleteThe heart of some men is desperately wicked. Maybe they have their own children and decided to.kill another man's child. May peace be far from that woman. Amen
ReplyDeleteEvil, disgusting couple.
ReplyDeleteBut why’s it almost always Igbo women that brutalize their helps??? Anytime I hear news like this, it’s almost always an Igbo woman. So disgusting
Honestly so annoying and sad 😔 . In btw, I’m Igbo
DeleteBe cleaning down. Wickedness does not have tribe.
DeleteAlways my tribe women (igbos). Maybe most of them were abused maids because I cant really understand them anymore. When I just got married, my local neighbors were urging me to take a maid underage preferably- I told the no way! Just because I got married. I rather employ a cleaner if I want one. Wicked Igbo women everywhere.so ashamed of you guys really
DeleteZaram tell yourself the truth abeg! Let's start calling them out, so they can change.
DeleteI think they grew up seeing their parents doing same to maids and poor wards living with them in the East, so to them its normal.
DeleteEven the ones that were going to remove someone else's kidneys in the UK are from the same tribe. Wicked, desperate people.
DeleteIt is beginning to look like this particular kind of crime has a tribe. I believe it's an abused abuser thing. Many especially in the east were raised like this even by their own parents. My Coz's wife does not have a maid but when she descends on her daughters ehn, you will doubt if she actually birthed them herself. And that is how she too was raised. Same goes to my stepmother, though my dad never tolerated beating in the family, but when she tells you what she would have done or how her mother own mother would handle some issues, you will understand this. I believe this kind of beating/treatment is mostly on female children to "train" them. Almost like a preparation to accept it from future husbands.
DeleteAs in ,Sapphire you nailed it. Igbo girls are raised to believe they are worthless without a " rich" hubby and to endure anything they jam for marriage. Infact , girl child if not for chores, abuses, they are not needed
DeleteSapphire you right that's how my uncle's wife try it with me years ago but I didn't let.imagine asking me to brush her rug which I told her I have never done that and then again my heart will start paining if I stress it ,she was angry but only reason she asked to do it was because the woman she did maid used brushing of rug to punish hmmmm I refused oooo I rather go home than suffer because of what your madam did to you years ago,we are igbo
DeleteAs someone who used to keep Igbo friends, I can categorically tell you that: Igbos are very ab*sive people. Why do you think they marry one another? It is because they are the ones who can cope with their inconsistencies and survive for long. I don’t blame them, though. There is something called inter generational trauma. When you’ve seen your forefathers speak in slave / freeborn terms - to people who look exactly like them, come from the same place and speak the same language; how can you see people who are a little different from you as normal? They do this even to other tribes; they always want to dominate and show power - as if! Then they complain when you keep them out your space. To many igbos, this is normal. The girl in Q is a “slave” and deserves no respect from her “master”.
DeleteRIP young lady. Nigeria failed you, my dear.
Justice served!
ReplyDeleteThis is very sad. Maltreating bothers daughter
ReplyDeleteWicked much
ReplyDeleteOnly?
ReplyDeleteEvil couple.
Both should be killed the same way they killed poor innocent maid. People are so wicked lately that they no longer consider others feeling.
ReplyDeleteJoy may your soul Rest In Peace and may you deal with your Oga and his wife before your soul will rest.
Thank God, justice was served
ReplyDeleteGood news 👏👏👏
ReplyDeleteSome women are just from HELL...and for men, never u keep quiet when u see maltreatment in ur home. It will eventually affect u and ur peace.
ReplyDeleteI'm forwarding this message to my neighbor, advanced lady always beating her maid, we have warned her several times, na prison she go end soon.
ReplyDeleteThe one in my compound, hmm. Its hard to go and report to the police cos she might know them and then bribe them. This Nyanya police no be here.
DeleteThis should be a lesson to all the wicked madams on this blog. A day of reckoning is coming. Mend your ways, stop maltreating your maids. Thank you.
ReplyDeleteThis kind of sentence for killing a child? When someone steals biscuit now they will give him 70 years.
ReplyDeletePlease let the review this case and hand them better life sentence so that other madams will learn
I remember this story!!
ReplyDeleteJustice at last.
Treat your maids right, they are human beings.
16 years is not enough, but at least its a start.
ReplyDeleteI Hooe others start to learn, you touch any child or adult working or living with you, you pay for it with your freedom or life.
Very good. Serves them right
ReplyDeleteMany are condescending towards their maids and folks they feel are “beneath” them. The horrors many “maids” go through in the hands of frustrated madams & ogas is better left to the imagination. Domestic Violence definition includes beating maids and mistreating them. A lot of Nigerian women transfer their aggression to their helps.
ReplyDeleteTreat everyone the way you would love to be treated. If something happens to you & your kid lives with another family, will you like them to treat the maid the way you treat another person’s child? May God help us as a people.
Her parents failed her when they sent her out to be a maid. Evil employers, failure as parents did this girl bad.
ReplyDeleteIf you are on this blog and treat your maids this way, this too shall be your lot in no distant time if you don't change!
ReplyDelete16 years imprisonment for manslaughter is way too lenient, hope the case was not compromised, what happened to life imprisonment. Even oga got only 2 years imprisonment as an accomplice
ReplyDeleteGod forgive me, just the headline alone, I know say na Ibo woman.
ReplyDeleteHow does a woman and mother beat a girl child to death?my mind cannot comprehend such brutality
ReplyDeleteThat girl was not well and I am sure she thought maybe she was pretending and flogged her well..?some helps are evil and some are truly mischevious that is why you should be more mature and hold your emotions with them...don't beat somebody's child if you can afford it.....all these ones commenting here are just liars, they beat their helps too but because she never die they won't learn..it is a common thing with Igbo women, so sorry no apologies oh because it is what I have seen with my own eyes
DeleteServes them right ..
ReplyDeleteFortune was my classmate in secondary school, Evangel College. Such a nice a calm lady then. Her parents are also rich. Omo this one shock me o! Fortune kill person? Ha!!! No one is safe o
ReplyDeleteShe did not mean to kill her I believe... Her mistake was beating her when she was sick..I beat my maid when she is stubborn but I just give her a few lashes and that is all. I am always conscious of the fact that she is not my child and I don't want anything to happen and put me in trouble...If she tells me even headache I tell her to go and lie down and I take her to hospital if the headache persists... God knows I also do work myself and I don't let my kids talk to her anyhow... of them commenting her you will be surprised at the beating they give their maids..
DeleteLeave what other people are doing to their maids and focus your snout on yours. First I hope that your own maid is not underaged. Secondly continue beating her, whatever you see, take it like that.