Vicky Umodu, a Nigerian grandma based in California, United States of America who received a couch from a stranger online for free has returned the sum of $36,000 she found inside the couch.
Vicky, a resident of San Bernardino County, said she was looking through Craigslist to purchase furniture for her new home when she found some pieces that someone was giving away for free.
“I said, ‘Maybe it’s a gimmick.’ ‘Let me call them,'” Umodu said to herself
The woman later learned the family was giving away the furniture due to the recent passing of a loved one, according to the report.
“I just moved in, and I don’t have anything in my house. I was so excited, so we picked it up and brought it in,” Umodu added
Stashed underneath the cushion was $36,000 in cash, Umodu revealed to reporters.
The California woman notified the family, offering to return the sum, and she was rewarded for her generosity.
The family said they were not sure why so much cash was in the couch and they later discovered hundreds of dollars stashed away in their home, per the report.
from Mawlif TV
*Well done woman, you did the right thing!
A very noble woman
ReplyDeleteImagine if the couch was exported to Naija with all that money in it. *whistles*
DeleteShe did well..this could also be a set up tho! Who leaves that amount of money in a couch??
ReplyDeleteYou are right Paris.. it could actually be a set up..
DeleteSometimes just see the win, don't taint it with your bad experience. Set up or not the moral of the story remains that she returned what she found, she didn't keep it becos it wasn't hers.
DeleteIt's not. Most elderly people keep their pension at home. They just keep them in safe places and most times the money is discovered during clearing up after their demise.
DeleteThen what about the one stashed away in their home?hope the money doesn't belong to a family member who is pretending to be broke or the late "loved one"🤔
DeleteThis woman has integrity.
DeleteAwwww I wish I could give her a hug. She paid back the kindness she received. God bless you, woman.
ReplyDeleteAwwww!!
ReplyDeleteNice one Ma
Good stuff, well done ma'am.
ReplyDeleteNice one
ReplyDeleteVery nice and noble gesture. Many won't do the same, intact some will claim it as 'God'
ReplyDeleteThis woman deserves to be in Guinness Book of Records for this awesome deed.
ReplyDeleteWow,I'm so proud of this lady
ReplyDeleteBest believe she will be rewarded for than she returned in heaven and earth.
God bless you ma'am
ReplyDeleteYou're a good woman. God bless you
ReplyDeleteGod bless mama
ReplyDeleteHeaven is the goal.
ReplyDeleteApparently she got $2000 as a reward for returning the money.
ReplyDeleteHmm..The IRS will be wanting to have a "chat" with that family
ReplyDeletewelldone ma'am ...IRS how? the family member might have been an old person who was saving money in the couch. a lot of them old schoolers did and still do stuff like that. except if they can trace the deceased to drugs or something then it was just plain old money saving in a couch
DeleteNice one Maami