Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: HURIWA Carpets Nigerian Police For Assigning 5 Policemen To Crooner Burna Boy

Monday, June 13, 2022

HURIWA Carpets Nigerian Police For Assigning 5 Policemen To Crooner Burna Boy

Human Rights Writers Association of Nigeria, HURIWA, has carpeted the Lagos State Police command and the Inspector-General of Police, IGP, Usman Alkali Baba, for assigning five operatives of the Force to protect musician Burna Boy.

The rights group said this sort of deployment which is absolutely irregular, has become the norm in the police force of Nigeria.

The rights group said that explains why there is absence of preemptive actions in times of critical needs because the few operatives are all sent for private commercial jobs by their Area Commanders and Commissioners and probably by approval of the Inspector-General.

HURIWA said this following a recent incident at a Lagos night club, where Burna Boy’s police escorts shot at a man after the musician allegedly made passes at the man’s wife.

The Lagos State Police Commissioner’s Special Squad has since detained the five policemen attached to the singer for attempted murder.

One of the policemen was said to have shot at two fun seekers— Irebami Lawrence and another identified simply as Tolu, at Club Cubana on Victoria Island, Lagos, on Wednesday June 8, 2022.

According to a preliminary report by the Bar Beach Police Division, the trouble started when the Burna Boy and his five police escorts entered the nightclub around 4:am on June 8.

While about four policemen waited outside, one of them, identified as Inspector Ibrahim, who was in mufti, accompanied the Grammy-Award-winning artiste into the club.

The singer was in the VIP section with three women when he allegedly spotted another woman.

However, the lady’s husband was said to have lambasted the singer, insisting that it was disrespectful for any man to make advances at his wife.

After some minutes, Burna Boy reportedly made fresh advances at the woman. This infuriated her husband further and his friends who had gathered at the club.

“As things were getting heated, Ibrahim brought out his service pistol and shot multiple times while Burna Boy was laughing,” said a senior policeman.

HURIWA quoted a media report as stating that in the process, 27-year-old Lawrence was shot in the thigh, while his friend, Tolu, was hit in the head by a bullet and this caused a commotion in the club.

It was learnt that Burna Boy and his crew then drove off to one of his properties at the Elegushi end of the Lekki-Epe Expressway before leaving for Lekki Phase 1.

Aware of what he had done, Burna Boy took the next flight out without even informing the policemen. He only made a video call to them to inform them that he had travelled to Spain.

HURIWA apportioned a greater blame to the Inspector-General of Police, Usman Alkali Baba, accusing him of allowing five whole policemen to embark on such an illegal duty.

The group called on President Muhammadu Buhari to unbundle the Police Service Commission, PSC, and sack the Chairman of the Police Service Commission, adding that the Chairman has displayed gross incompetence and unwillingness to provide leadership to the commission.

It also called on the Lagos State Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice to bring the musician, Burna Boy and his killer police squad to justice to demonstrate that in a democracy no one is above the law.

From dailypost

40 comments:

1. Can't them get these non governmental security agency instead of police that is not even enough to guide Nigeria.

1. That should be the proper thing. But I think too the force men want the extra cash too

2. Grace people don’t get it
      The force wants and needs the extra cash which they can then use for other purposes (hopefully for the common good)
      They didn’t give him a freebie

3. I don't think private security outfits are legally allowed to bear fire arms in Nigeria.

2. someone should sue Nigerian police abeg maybe that will stop them from assigning officers to idiots like burna boy.

1. I guess going from your insult also Davido , Obi cuban, Wizkid , e money and so on

2. 11:45
      Davido doesn't use the Nigerian police as body guards, his security details re from a private firm.
      By the way, We are talking about burna boy and his madness, leave Davido and Wizkid outta this.

3. You don’t know whether the private are mixed in. After all they wear mufti so they don’t stand out

3. If it were to be an ordinary citizen, they would have arrested them,now it's damini they are inviting.

4. Imagine what they have turned the Nigerian Police into.From carrying handbags to carrying food and drinks at weddings and burials to shooting people in clubs order to have their wives.God have mercy

5. vybz kartel the world boss with all his influence in Jamaica is in jail, ninja man is also in jail, buju banton was just released recently..lil Wayne also had his jail time, meek mill etc etc

My point- whether you're a celebrity or not, when you go against the law, you should face the punishment. We can't continue excusing our celebrities while they constitute nuisance, if we want this country to move forward..

BTW, I still maintain that Buena boy knows the kind of people he messes with, him dey look face,. Person like me and my niggaz go dey club and you go won invite chic from our table to yours? Lol na laff I dey laff.. na that day you go know the difference between gangstalisious of boondocks animation and real life game

1. Young daddy can take sha.. Okiroyalty

2. Burna did nothing wrong.
      It's the policemen that comitted the crime.

3. Abeg leave talk, blog talk easy. When u see the armed men wey surround am, wetin you wan do? As long as e no come your table drag your girl... na your woman you go caution from looking at his direction with smiles or lust.
      If burna consider a woman respectful, them no born am well to call her out.

4. 12:40 only one police man was actually with him and he was in civilian clothes

5. Someone asked yesterday how my husband would handle ish like this. He over looks single advance but when you become persistent, he will send you a drink. There's never been a time he does this that the person wouldn't either come over to greet him or send us another drink as peace offering. He even sees it as a compliment.

Dante, I think these young men acted exactly as you and your friends would and see where it landed them. This particular outcome actually benefits them because I expect them to sue those rotten gold teeth off Burna's mouth but what if the bullet hit wrongly and a life or two were lost? My brother, it's not worth it. Meanwhile, the woman you and your guys are 'provoking' for is a whole human adult with a mind of her own even if she is your wife, she is not an object.

6. Lol.. Saph

I know your comment is borne out of malice but I'll still respond

1. Did you read the part that he was first cautioned, he stopped and then started again.. you think sending him drink would work, you think everyone can be reasoned with, his intention was to intimidated the guys on that table and nothing else, he already has 3 girls with him, if you like send him drink, e might pour it on the ground or come at you that you're insulting him with your cheap drink..

2. I'm not fighting for a woman, I'm fighting for the disrespect. Like you see me sitting with a girl on date and you walk over to give her your card.. Lol, you must learn a good lesson. And it doesn't have to be immediately, he would get it when he least expect, but definitely before he leaves that club premises.. you dry make me laff sha, you think say na by noise.. what part of Nigeria have you lived? Which universities did you school? The answer to this question would determine if you can understand anything I'm saying ✌️

People don't even fuck with me like that,. Nah.. everybody dey look face before dem do anyhow,. Trust me

7. Dante, I sincerely need you to stop perceiving my comments to you as malicious. How can we achieve that? I disagree with you on many fronts but I think it's fun. Nothing personal.

6. Police weh never reach citizens

1. I think you dey see am so. Police wey never reach Citizens, Burna carry dem go dey toast married woman for Cubana. Hianest!

7. What happened to private security???
    He can you be suing Federal Government policemen to do what????
    As who?
    To do what?
    Everything in this country, top to bottom is senseless.
    So 5 POLICEMEN will escort one singer to NITECLUB??
    As in, is this madness or what???
    When you call the police that there is a robbery in xyz area, they will yarning dust, yarning okpats, yarning absolutely bunkum.
    Talmabout there are are not enough personnel.
    How will they be enough when they are attached to people to carry bags, wipe bum bum and escort to niteclubs to toast women on behalf of their clients?
    Rubbish.
    The height of stupidity and madness.

1. Stop displaying your ignorance,.
      That's how you sue the a police man, you sue the IG of police and the federal government too.

Abeg just go and read, I'm not educating you for free🙄😏

2. This Dante no get single joy aswe! Anon drop comment jeje, Yung Sugar daddy send am stray bullet straight!! Dante change oooo! You too dey worry the kingdom. LMAO.

3. Lol Dante and amebo

4. Dante, so what has she said there that is out of line?

8. Dude will just lay low till this whole thing blows out and go about his business. He knows he lives in Nigeria and nothing will happen. He will grease some palms and they will bury the case.

Not until people like these are used as scape goats, these so called celebs will continue to misbehave.

9. When SARS was committing impunities, we all protested in one way or another, police shot at unarmed protesters, the world arose and spoke against it.
    But SARS never demanded for a man's wife at gunpoint or shoot the man when he refused to hand over his wife. SARS did not run to Spain immediately after their atrocities. And some people were here yesterday defending Burna's actions? 🙄🙄🙄😮Why shouldn't it be #Endburnaboy, #Endatrocities, #Endevil

1. So what are you talking,? Sars is better ABI. Why end burnaboy. Seems a lot are jealous of that boy

2. Lol
      There’s no connection pls

3. This association is speaking in this
      Where is their write up on the Fulani herdsmen

4. End Burna ke, was he the one that sent the police on that wicked mission. I know he is also guilty but the bulk of shame should be on the senseless officer.

5. @13:41
      Burna sent his security to collect the man's wife, that was what I read in the news and here.

10. I don’t understand why 5 police officers should be assigned to one artist.. smh.

11. It is not wrong for 5 policemen to be assigned to a celebrity.If you can afford it,go ahead but sometimes,the attitude of the people around you is a reflection of who you are.Burna is not the only one that has 5 or more policemen assigned to him but this kind of aggressive attitude is because of him.

1. Anon 14:18 your ignorance + the confidence with which you wrote is one of the problems with Nigeria! Nobody but the top government officials in a federation is ENTITLED to personal police! Police funded by oil or tax revenue should never be assigned to Burna, E-Money, Cubans, WIZ, Dangote, Ote$ or Davido or any private citizens. Jay Z, Oprah, Michael Jordan, Jeff Bezos, Elon Musk do not have taxpayer paid police. Everyone hires from security companies!

SM allows everyone to express their views, even wrong ones but those opinions need corrected before some run with it as facts. How many cops are policing the streets when Burna has 4/5? Add up the number of cops deployed to carry wine & suitcases in a country with shallow “self important money-miss-roads” & you get the breakdown of law & order in the country now! I’m sure some folks defending his personal taxpayer cop allocation were crying about the church attack in Owo but they are connected. How many cops are left to serve a whole town when Aketi, his wife, the rich from the state & country have converted them to personal guards.

Fyi, I donated regularly to my city’s police dept though they are well paid & funded. They still needed private help but it doesn’t mean assigning them to individuals. It just makes them police better! Everything must not be from tax payers. There are personal security companies with arms globally even recruiting for Ukraine. I’m sure you know the US doesn’t depend on Nigerian police for the security of some Americans amidst the increasing terror attacks in Nigeria. They wear the country’s uniform, are paid from state or federal revenue & should not be assigned to E money or S money or any money miss road that comes next including this spoilt brat who has allegedly killed before. If you don’t know your rights & how things ought to be it’s no wonder morons keep ruling Nigeria!

2. 18:57, thanks.

U kdn't have said it better.

12. All these people saying that Burna did nothing wrong, Hmm, so
    can we say; Buhari did not do anything wrong, it was SARS
    Sanwo Olu no do anything wrong, it was SARS
    Right?

1. Burna boy definitely has a case to answer.

2. U dey mind dem? Na like so dem mental faculties dey jakpa, go leave once d mata concern yeyebrity.

13. So it is now part of police escort duty to go and collect people's wives for their principals?🤔🤔🤔