Some years back, we (my family and I) had a family event to attend in the East and we needed to make some "aso-ebi." Wifey didn't have a "good" tailor at the time but one of her friends had recommended one and she was full of praise for this lad whom we were yet to meet.
I must concede the fact that this dude came highly recommended. She gave him a call and pronto, he was at my doorstep.
He was a young man and unlike most of the male tailors I had met, he
looked very neat.
From experience, the real good tailors wear rubbish and they can't be bothered, but the "contractors" who pose as tailors have over the years mastered the trick of the game. They dress just the way they want to be addressed. Abc introduced himself in glowing superlatives and I was actually wowed, but only for that "wowing" to be short-lived.
Abc decided to roll out his résumè. He graduated from a Nigerian University and proceeded to the Royal College of Arts in London for a certificate course in tailoring. Wow! He did the course physically (and not online) that is he was physically present in London for one (1) year.
As someone who was/is familiar with London, wifey asked some basic questions about London instinctively. Like where he lived, etc. Dude went deaf and dumb instantly. Alas, "guyman" had never left the shores of Nigeria. I had to come to his rescue by asking wifey to drop the topic and get down to the business of the day. Dude quietly took our respective measurements and left shamefully and quietly.
Don't get it twisted, there is no big deal about travelling abroad or otherwise, but hey do not claim to be what you're not because others will still accord you the requisite respect if you're good at what you do. "Jand or no jand."
You are free to package yourself, but if you must package, please do not include things you cannot defend. The other day, a former Senator of the Federal Republic claimed that he attended a foremost university in the United States of America and only for the said university to have come out to publicly refute the claim.
Just keep it short and simple.
😂😂😂 this is actually funny to me. London kwa not even Ghana oga went to pick it from the top, why the lie?
ReplyDeleteTailoring that it's your work that will speak for you
He ended disgracing himself
ReplyDeleteThank God for the era of modern and educated tailors.
ReplyDeleteTailors then showed us pepper.
Tho modern tailors have their own issues too o.
I remember years ago i gave out a material to ‘aunty tailor’ close to our house. The material has been with her for over a month. 2 weeks to the a thanksgiving sunday in my church, i begged her to please help me make a dress, that i would rock to church on thanksgiving Sunday.
I paid her and she promised to sew it for me. A week to the day, i went to beg her again, she said ‘no wahala na, i wan cut am now’ I said ok, and thanked her.
On the Saturday before the Sunday, i was going to her shop to pick up my dress, so i met her outside, i asked if my dress was ready. And she said ‘yes of course’ but she was yet to iron it. My mind was at peace. I thanked her, and told her i would come pick it up later in the evening.
I couldn't go that Saturday evening.
On Sunday morning, i quickly had my bath, wore a simple dress and set out to pick my dress at the tailor’s as we were just 5/6 houses apart.
When i got there, i met her absence, and proceeded to pick up my dress, to my shock, i saw my material well folded on her machine, uncut! Chai, hot tears rushed down my young face. Lol.
Tailors and Mechanics, I hope Angel Michael knows what to do on the day of judgment. Just create a special line for them o.
DeleteWas the clothes sha fine, abi you had to post under "what I ordered vs what was delivered".
ReplyDeleteSome people would rather die than have you know they're affluent while some other... Ọ well
Be you no need bragging. I hate those that claim to be who they're not. He just disgraced himself
ReplyDeleteWhat was the need to lie??🤣🤣