Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Catholic Church Disowns Rev. Fr Mbaka For Attacking Presidential Candidate Peter Obi

Friday, June 17, 2022

Catholic Church Disowns Rev. Fr Mbaka For Attacking Presidential Candidate Peter Obi

The Catholic Diocese of Enugu has condemned and dissociated itself from inflammatory political utterances by Rev. Fr. Ejike Mbaka, the Director of Catholic Adoration Ministry Chaplaincy Enugu.

On Wednesday June 15, 2022 Mbaka described Labour Party presidential candidate, Peter Obi as a ‘stingy man’, declaring that unless God ceases to exist, Obi would never smell the seat of the president.

According to him, it was better to have an old man as president than a ‘stingy young man.’

Reacting, the Bishop of Enugu, Rev Ernest Obodo, in a statement on Thursday, June 16, 2022 said Mbaka’s inflammatory political utterances were divisive and they contravene the canon 220 of the 1983 Code of Canon Law which prohibits anyone from illegitimately harming the good name of a person.

He further stated that Mbaka’s views on the matter are entirely personal to him and do not represent the position of the Catholic Diocese of Enugu.

The Bishop, therefore, warned Mbaka to refrain from making further provocative prophecies or utterances capable of heating up the polity.

”We assure the people of God and the general public that the Catholic Diocese of Enugu is taking the due canonical process.

”Finally, we urge all the People of God to continue to pray for peaceful elections and to discharge their civic responsibilities by getting their Permanent Voter’s Card (PVC) and casting their votes in order to elect the right candidates. May Our Lady, Queen of Nigeria, intercede for us,” he added.

from dailypost

38 comments:

1. I'm worried for Fr Mbaka
    Does he have a mental illness because that outburst was so unnecessary.

1. My bro told me yesterday that the man wants them to sack him so that he can go and marry

2. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Ijeoma o

3. Onecea priest, is a priest forever. Even if he is de-robed and stopped from celebrating mass and sacraments to the public, he is still a priest. Ordained and consecrated, there is nothing any man alive can do about it, not even if he himself leaves the Catholic church and marries 50wives, in the order of Melchizedek, he is a priest forever. But his diocese can remove him from the public and contain him (like the lunatic he is) in a church house were he can celebrate mass alone daily.

Very unfortunate but then the way I see this whole brouhaha, it is actually playing out in favour of Peter Obi. All the 'generous' ones including Bubu that greased his hands that he endorsed, we have seen how wonderfully they performed. I hope he is very proud of all the outcome of his past prophesies.

4. How sure are you Buhari greesed is hand.

5. The one he said many times with his mouth b4 2015 elections in donations to the ministry? Or his many visits to Aso rock b4 he 'over visited' his welcome? Long throat man without shame.

2. Mbaka really fall hand i swear

3. Bishop Oyedepo attacking Buhari is a man of God. Mbaka attacking Peter Obi is now a devil 🤡🤡.

1. How do you compare both? The former is right because he deserved it. The question is, Do Peter Obi deserve his?

2. I would have said cry me a river but your dp shows you are already crying. Ntorrrrrrr. Lol.

3. Isa kenan

4. As in ehn.The hypocrisy and double standards of Nigerians is nauseating..

5. Why do most of you think that it's okay for Oyedepo to attack Buhari unprovoked and not okay for Fr.Mbaka to lash out at Peteru? Fill me in

6. Oyedepo has never campaigned for any politician and that is so he can speak up when you misbehave.
      Mbaka is Father Wherebelleface. Mbaka's grudge with Peter Obi is he didn't cash out and he did not hide it and called him stingy. Mbaka has no business in competence or performance so long as you can "share the money".

Honestly, if anyone is unable to see the difference between Mbaka and Oyedepo, the person or persons are either wicked , liers or plain empty headed.

7. Was there any need for your insults and uncouthness @MsSaph?

8. Bishop Oyedepo campaigned for Jonathan in 2015 Ms and he never hide the fact doesn't want Buhari.

4. E reach to disown am. Dude is just too worldly for the cassock.

5. Is he now no longer the director of Adoration ministry? Or it's just the statement they disowned.

1. Adoration ministry is Mbaka’s personal ministry

6. The church have done well in this publication. As a Catholic, I know how the church operates. They first caution and give you a time frame to adjust or amend before they strike.

Fr. Mbaka isn't above the church but I know what the church is trying to avoid. They don't want an uproar that will cause disunity in the Enugu diocese

When I see people write or say Peter Obi is stingy, I asked how? The Peter Obi that gave Bishop Shanahan college 100million not to talk of others he gave millions as well. His issues with Mbaka was that, he told Mbaka, show me the project you want me to donate on and I will be a sponsor to it. Mbaka want the cash and Obi want to see with his eyes first before he gives. Was Peter Obi wrong?

Fr. Mbaka need to understand he's not God and should be careful with his utterances.

1. Seems he likes being controversial or he probably has a mental illness

2. This Fr. Mbaka talks too much Haba!

7. Can't they suspend him? He has made more political statements than spiritual ones since 2015.

He can resign and join politics if he so wishes. I don't take him seriously anymore since 2015, man seems to be overstepping his boundaries recently.

I hope he doesn't end up like that Zimbabwean priest tho.

1. Suspend ke. They are afraid of him. He is mure powerful than them

2. No they shouldn't suspend him, they should derobe and chase him.

3. Yori, you don't understand how the Catholic Church operates so, don't make any assumption.

8. The damage Fr. Mbaka thought his outburst will do to Peter Obi will shocked him that it will make Mr Obi more popular and acceptable to the masses. Peter Obi should just concentrate on his campaign and don't give an ear or response to his utterances.

Peter Obi is a formidable movement. The masses are his structure. His trip to Egypt has a spiritual connotation. Yes you read me clearly.

Joseph went to Egypt.
    Moses was born in Egypt.
    Jesus Christ was taken to Egypt for safety
    Peter Obi is in Egypt.
    Now you get the point. If you don't gerrit for gerrit

1. The same Mbaka that bragged during 20003 election that he will remove his priesthood garment if Chimaroke Nnamani ever win. He’s yet to remove it Mtchewww

2. Fan we will never forget in a hurry.
      For people that don't know that false prophet mbaka prophecy don't hold water, let me brief you about his lies because we Igbos can't forget it.

Mbaka prophesied that Chimaroke Nnamani, the former Governor of Enugu state won't win 2nd tenure, that if he win, he, mbaka will tear his garment and stepdown as Reverend father.
      Chimaroke won 2nd tenure.

Mbaka prophesied again that Chimaroke will die in seat as serving governor.

Chimaroke did not only finish his 2nd tenure as governor alive, he also won Senator for Enugu East Senatorial District 2007 to 2011(immediately after handing over in 2007 as governor of Enugu state) and was re-elected in 2019.

That was when he lost his credibility.

Like phyno told him "mbaka you see nothing"

3. Hahahahaha @mbaka you see NOTHING 😂😂😂

9. This okro is growing or trying to grow taller than the owner.

10. Quoting one of his Tutelage, "The glory has long departed from him (Mbaka)"

11. Kai this man is a disgrace Abeg.

12. Good one from the Catholic Church. I'm a proud Catholic and i know for sure that Peter Obi is not a stingy man. He's the best governor Anambra State has ever had and he donates generously to Unusual Praise and also attends. He's not stingy at all but will bring the positive changes Nigerians, both Christians and muslims are yearning for. He's a good man. I am from Anambra state and i'm talking facts.

13. Good

If he likes he can continue screaming "Ayeyeyeyeyo" or whatever!!

14. I saw this coming. If not for one thing, his adoration ground will have been burnt down. The youths are not smiling.

15. They should take serious action concerning this Mbaka...