Tuesday, June 07, 2022

APC Govs Reject Senate President Lawan As Consensus Candidate For 2023 Presidency

Governors on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Monday, June 6, 2022 rejected the Senate President, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan as the consensus 2023 presidential candidate.

The governors at a meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday, insisted that there must be a power shift which they noted would be too risky for the APC, if rotation was disallowed.

The National Chairman of the APC Senator Abdullahi Adamu had anointed Lawan as the consensus candidate, a development that is currently causing ripples among the governors and other party stakeholders.

The announcement came a few hours to the National Convention, which was expected to produce the APC’s flag bearer within the next three days.

Earlier in the meeting of the National Working Committee of the APC, which was presided by Senator Abdullahi Adamu, DAILY POST learnt on good authority that some members of the Committee vehemently opposed Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan as consensus candidate.

Those who opposed Lawan argued that the party must respect zoning and allow the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, Asiwaju Ahmed Bola Tinubu and others cleared by the Screening Committee to contest, if APC must keep power at the centre.

Earlier in his brief with the State House correspondents after meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari, Chairman of the Northern Governors’ Forum and incumbent Governor of Plateau State, Barr Simon Lalong, made their position known in the interest of justice, equity and fair play.

Lalong said: “13 of us apologised to the President for receiving the information about our position after it was leaked.”

from Dailypost...

*These people are just traitors, Is Lawan from the South of Nigeria? Or are they deaf? we want power shift!!

22 comments:

1. Which people are you referring to?

1. All I have to say is…
      Our system is rotten, it doesn’t reward honest politicians who work based on their conscience but rewards RATs who are willing to sell their country who are willing to keep their noses in the trough, these RATs are the real parasites on the Nigerian democracy

Push up (original)

2. This is evidently the lords doing,He says he shall turn our enemies against themselves.While they fight, Peter Obi is getting stronger.

3. Please let us all get our PVC. I have never voted before but this year I'm all out for Peter Obi. Think about going through this all for the next 8 years. Your children, yourself, your family. We can't afford to go through this again

1. Truth is, Peter Obi is a social media candidate. Social media is audio. Until the woman selling Ankara at your junction recognises there's a candidate like that, he doesn't stand a chance, regardless of his popularity online.

2. Why are you so threatened by Peter Obi's candidacy? The way you rush under any Peter comments why not make your own comment of who you want? Anon stated who they are voting, and last I checked it is within their constitutional right to vote whoever they want... not even like Peter is a bad candidate, he is a very good one!

3. 12:17, leave them to deceive themselves the save way Sowore and his small following did years back. Educated folk keep forgetting how big, backwards and shallow the Nigerian voting pool is.

4. They just might give it to Amechi or Umahi or any idiot they know will not beat Atiku. God please show up for Nigerians in the final big picture.

5. Truth is that APC will make a huge blunder fielding a northern candidate but that's what I want for them. I want the coast to be cleared for Peter Obi. Let APC and PDP present Northerners so that Southern votes will go in block for Mr Peter Obi.

Let there be confusion in their midst. Osibanjo can't match Atiku abi pastor go share money 😁😁😁😁

1. The same southern vote that pushed him out of PDP and served up Wike? You all are too emotional but it's ok for us to try.

2. There's no confusion anywhere. They are playing the game as it is. They will strike a deal with whoever they choose and he will be their puppet. They will dictate behind the scenes and remain in power. Next elections, they continue with their dealings as being negotiated now.
      This is politics. Keep sentiment aside

3. I seriously don’t know why you guys deceive yourselves by thinking that you would get bloc votes from the south for Obi. The man will not even get bloc votes from his south east region. South easterners will vote Atiku more than Obi. Ojukwu saw the same thing with Obasanjo. The easterners never disappoint. They do what they are known for: betraying themselves. And in your mind, Osinbajo is the only southerner on their list. You think if Osinbajo wins, the party foremost sponsors won’t dole out cash to push for his presidency? Even the Redeemed Church will spend billions for him than what will come out of Obi’s pocket and the Labour Party. You still talk like a baby learning to understand kindergarten politics.

4. Teejay I like you but your political analysis is is very naive you guys think social media speculation is what will win Peter ..I truly desire for him to win and im going to vote him but listen to anon 11.07 thats the reality ..

5. Surprised at his naivety. Even the Lawan candidature is part of the game. It can't and won't fly and they know it, so ask yourself why was he announced as such?. Let's keep watching tho

6. Pls can you guys allow people to freely support and praise their candidate? Is Nigeria not a democracy again? Whenever someone mentions Peter Obi you see them rush under the comments to discourage and put down. He won't win, we've heard, make your own post of whom you support or think will win. Jeeez

6. Obviously all this is planned na, you people should use your brains and THINK critically for once. Lawan will step down for either Tinubu or Osibanjo to leave a clear way for them. 'Win win' for all their long term intrests.
    This is NIGERIAN POLITICS.
    If you are reasoning with the same brain you are using to reason BBN or how Caroline slap Laura, I pity you.
    Especially when it's the only brain you've got.

1. They know what they are doing. They know that by fielding Lawan, the top three contenders will be Atiku, Lawan and Obi. They will not be comfortable with two of their own facing Obi who they now recognize is a force. They, the Northern Governors want a yoruba man from the south so that at election it will be North versus south, a South that is already divided

7. I raise hand for SDK BVs. They posted this Lawan thing even before the primaries. Baba Buhari. May God Almighty judge you.

8. Abeg how can i get my PVC??? the last i did was not verified....

9. "They want you to believe that if the candidate is not from the big two, they don't stand a chance. That's what they want you to believe because they understand that you have the power to put the next person there.

Stay sharp."

Gbam! Young ones stay sharp, stay woke and stay activated. They fear you cos you are young. They fear you cos you are the future. How fearful they must be. How powerful you must be. Do not be discouraged. Vote Peter Obi with your full fleshy chest if he is your candidate. Get your PVC, show up and vote and you would have done your part. You have the legal and moral right to support and vote whichever candidate you want. And your candidate is by no means a bad one, so do not be afraid. Even in the midst of harrowing gut-renching evil and corruption, Have the audacity to hope.