Tuesday, May 31, 2022

Nigerian Lady Reportedly Commits Suicide After Suffering Severe Depression...

A 45 year old Lagos accountant named Folake Abiola has committed suicide at her residence at Osapa London, in the Lekki area of Lagos State.

She reportedly ingested insecticide at home on Friday May, 27, 2022....

She was said to have died shortly after, as her family members, friends, and men of the Nigeria Police Force met her lying motionless.

A colleague of the deceased, said Abiola had been suffering from depression for years, adding that the news of her death was; shocking.

Contrary to claims online that Abiola committed suicide due to loneliness, and lack of a husband, among others, the colleague said her associates knew that she had been; in romantic relationships, adding that she ended them due to depression.

The source said, “She had been; suffering from depression for years and her death has nothing to do with loneliness or lack of a husband or sex. Within the last seven years, I know she was in a relationship twice.
“Folake ended those relationships on her own because of depression. She said she did not want to bring someone else into her life when she could; not take care of herself. She was going through extreme depression, but people that did not know what she was going through have been; posting rubbish online.

“Abiola was a senior accountant at a telecoms firm and we are colleagues. She took her life herself and was buried that same Friday as she was the only Christian in her family.”

The colleague described Abiola as an angel, a conscientious accountant, and a lover of Christ, who was liberal in giving, adding that she had been saying she wanted to end it all before she took her life.

“In Nigeria, we don’t pay attention to mental health; a lot of people are going through depression and it is not necessary that it has to be caused by anything,” 
She recently celebrated her 45th birthday. She was not talking to people and always kept to herself,” the source added.

The state Police Public Relations Officer, Benjamin Hundeyin, said the police visited Abiola’s house and met; her lifeless body on the floor.

“The family members that were there officially wrote to the divisional police officer requesting for the release of the corpse to enable them to bury her in accordance with Islamic rites and the corpse was; released to the family on compassionate grounds.”

from 1st news.

*OH MY GOD!!!....May her soul rest in peace

61 comments:

1. She was beautiful. May her soul Rest In Peace…

Karen

2. "“In Nigeria, we don’t pay attention to mental health; a lot of people are going through depression".... who no de go through depression for this country? In one form or the other?
    Have we paid attention to more pressing and dire circumstances finish? Abeg who get suicidal tendencies should talk to someone, hiding and smiling wont cure depression.

1. You lack empathy, stop forming Voltron . your comments sometimes sounds mean and inhumane

2. Your lack of empathy is pathetic! You should try swallowing some opinions.

3. At Giftmoesha and HRH
      What part of Anon 8.35 is insensitive? Just asking! Because as far as I’m concerned, the comment was on point about the country take the stigma out on mental health and also on people with depression.

4. If you had empathy, you wouldn't need to ask that question 17.50. Just saying.

3. Is it Nigeria that doesn’t have good and assessable health insurance sceme?we always feel like we have more important issues bothering us other than our health but fail to realize that if u die today,all that you’ve labored for will be enjoyed by someone else

1. Pls 8:40, do not blame this on Nigeria, for once, let people take responsibility of their actions. They said she was a top accountant in a telecommunications firm, that should tell you she had one of the best insurance covers. Companies do not joke with health insurance. Even if the company didn’t pay, she was comfortable enough to have done it herself. Ur answer lies in ur second sentence.

4. May her soul rest in peace. Let's take our mental health seriously. Reach out to friends and family. Just call for no reason, just say hi, alot of people need just a "Hi, how are you doing" phone call. It could be what they need at that time to help them. Show little kindness.

1. If you just start showing small kindness, bam! Them don beg you money

2. Anonymous, then GIVE! Giving shows the extent you can go just to solve someone's need. Give! It's more blessed to give than...

3. My problem with this act Mark is that they take you for granted when you do it.

A childhood friend was once posting depressing stuff on her status oneday like that back to back. I have psychic abilities and knew she was drowning

I reached out and asked her if she was all right. Guess her response *yes, of course*! Then went ahead to start splashing old party pictures.

I murmured *poor child * and equally felt bad for fooling myself.

You try to be there for them; they will mock you and call you names like u want them down.

Humans are hard 2please; trust me!

5. May her soul rest in peace. People are going through a lot these days.

6. Depression is real.
    Let's learn to season our words with kindness and consideration especially in this online space.

Lots of folks are going through stuff they can't even talk about, wetting their pillows at night and hoping for a change.

In all let's also cultivate an attitude of gratitude, if you think well, You can thank well, life is sacred.
    A living dog is always better than a dead lion. Keep hope alive.
    The tides can turn in a millisecond.
    God's plan is the ultimate.
    Good morning everyone ๐Ÿ˜˜

1. ๐Ÿ‘

2. Well said Momma ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

Good morning and have an amazing day ❤️❤️

3. Good morning Paris boo๐Ÿ˜

4. You have said it all God bless you.

5. At Shining Well said. I have been going through a big depression for years and sometimes I feel like ending it all and don’t really know where the resistance not to do so comes from. Guess May God still have a purpose for me to still be here. And I have also found out that people both professional ones and close ones aren’t as supportive as they all should and it takes a lot for someone going through depression not to give ve up

7. This is a saner version, one particular somebody was just posting rubbish everywhere, which made me believe he or she had something against this young lady. Mental illness, depression is real just as cancer, diabetes, hypertension etc. It has nothing to do with wealth, status, marriage, kids, sex etc.
    So bad that she couldn't find or get help. May God have Mercy on her and grant her peace.
    Sparkle777

8. Depression is real, may her soul rest in peace

9. Rest in peace to her..
    Have you not seen people that has everything yet they are lonely,depressed and then commit suicide? depression is much More..

10. Sorry, Folake.
    Now you're at peace. Rest well.

11. This life no balance at all.
    Sleep well beautiful woman.

12. She set the ball too high and her expectations/fantasy couldn't be met. That in itself is a veritable source of depression.

1. Hmmmm, you're right in a way

2. Are you sure of what you posted? Do you know her in person; or have you just assumed that’s the reason she wasn’t married?
      Some people can’t be nice, even if they tried. Not even in her death can you spare a good word!

Mystic

3. Doctor welcome

4. Depression is an illness. It was clearly stated up there that she unselfishly left relationships because she didn’t want to be a burden with such serious illness. Let us be showing a little sensitivity abeg.

13. so sad. may her soul RIP. Hope the police are not mistakenly ruling out certain murder cases as suicide. The "source" seems to knw so much about mental health and how depressed the lady was which makes me wonder if she atall tried to help when she was alive. May our loved ones not die right before us not knwing we could have done something to help. ๐Ÿ˜ณ๐Ÿ˜ณ

1. Hmmm. I pray the inefficient & corrupt system isn’t allowing murders to be classified as suicide. Why allow her to be buried without any reports of autopsy? A murder scene can be staged to look like suicide. I really hope murderers aren’t getting off easily in Nigeria because there is no dna database or forensics in law enforcement. Just a thought.

“Family” sometimes are a problem. It’s alleged that her family was scrambling to get her jewelry & possessions after her death. Depression is a sickness made worse when nobody is there for you. Some families milk their successful ones till those ones feel empty like ATMs. We should hustle legitimately so as not to be the ones harassing our successful family members or “using” them till they feel lonely and conclude “family” in our society is transactional & based on what they get from you. I have some “family” who have been “takers” for decades & are so entitled, never giving anything in return. It makes me sad because I feel I’m worth nothing but money to my extended family. It’s not a good feeling no matter how rich you are. You want unconditional love. Reports of “scavenging family members” going after her assets could make anyone withdraw into their shell. Don’t be the reason for anyone’s sadness. Live within your means not your relative’s means. That rich relative may have so much going on while you pile on. Some even jazz family because of money.

14. Oh dear! This is so sad ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ I pray her soul find peace! People are going through a whole lot,mental health is real! I pray we all find strength and courage to surge forward regardless of any situation we find ourselves

15. I remembered when I was leaving alone in Bodija Estate Ibadan ,I was feeling lonely at a point ,the moment I started having suicidal thoughts,I moved back to our house in Lagos.

When I thought of everyone connected to me and my goals ,desires and aspirations ,I rebuked the devil, loneliness is not good for anyone.

16. Very heart breaking ๐Ÿ’”.Rest easy Abiola๐Ÿ•ฏ️๐Ÿ•Š️

17. You see, when I read her story, I was not shocked, truth is; couple of weeks back I was tired of everything! Believe me, I have every reason to be grateful to God almighty, but I was burnt out!
    I am divorced, I felt my ex leaving was an open ticket for escapades, I have done it and literally tired of it, the lady that I am in love with loves me less now cause she has caught me several times with other women.
    I don't have friends cause I switched from an extrovert (nothing out there that I haven't tried, name it, money was and is never a problem)to an introvert, most of the relationships ( Platonic) is parasitic on my side.
    I have done all sorts of wild things in this life, I have had enough sex to last me 2 lifetimes. I just want peace of mind, easy life, friends with mutual benefits, a partner/wifey that's done same and tired of same.
    Depression is real, sometimes you have everything and yet, deep down, you are empty.

1. Who asked you for all these personal lamentations?

2. Anon 10:22 can you just allow him ???? Dont be a bully !!

3. Anon 9.59, please talk to a therapist. Please. So that going forward you would be able to make life choices solely based on your peace of mind.

Anon 10.22, you also should talk to a therapist because you seem to have lost all sense of humanity.

4. May Her soul RIP. I and so many others can relate.
      As in, I have these periods where I feel so much anxiety and despair. It gets so bad that getting out of bed feels like carrying a mountain. Public holidays are the worst. The period i get to experience joy and try to spread it, someone will point out that am only smiling to console myself. People in society will just assume the worst and judge based on that lie. People can be harsh.
      I have never had any interest in sexcapades though. My interest is in a caring patient matured man who is not easily carried away with vanities. I pray that God can send a true life partner. Just that one person or companion to go through life with.

5. Anon 10.22 who begged u to read it? Let ppl pour out their heart in peace.

6. @09:59 Thank God you have gotten to the level that you now know exactly what you want; PEACE. The interesting part is that PEACE is a personality and HE is readily available to come to you. Please read Revelations 3 vs 20 (Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.)

JESUS CHRIST is the Prince of Peace. Ask Him into your heart today, right there where you are and accept him. You will have inexplainable peace. Then enroll in a BIBLE BELIEVING CHURCH for growth, also listen to Apostle Joshua Selman's Message on youtube "What seekest Thou?"

God bless you.

7. Anno 9:59 the Bible says coke onto me all ye that labour and are heavy laden and I will give you rest. God’s yoke is light, He gives perfect peace not as the world gives. Accept Jesus as your Lord and personal saviour and He will bring peace. I pray that Christ will start a new thing in your life in Jesus Name. Slalom He cares.

June 27th

8. Please see a therapist. Wish you well

18. One idiot on my status was posting that it was lack of husband that killed her.

19. May her soul Rest In Peace..

20. May her soul rest in peace.She should have reached out to her family.Some rich people are lonely and depressed but you find people laughing it off once they mention it in conversations,God help us all.

21. So sad!
    May her soul rest in peace.

22. So sad! May her soul rest in peace. Amen.

23. Chai see beautiful woman.
    This life no balance at all.
    May her soul rest in peace.

24. May your soul find the rest you need ....

25. If she didn't leave a suicide note how they know all this. I am sorry she found no peace in life, hopefully she finds peace on the other side.

Being an accountant does seem like a lonely career that could be depressing. Check in on your people. Sometimes force some of those so-called homebodies to come out and socialize. Teach your children that peace comes from within and help them to develop their creative side so they will always have an outlet of calm and expression when life gets rough. So many ppl no longer have a hobby, scrolling social media and watching Netflix is not a hobby.

26. Rest welll
    My prayer is more people will get the help and support they need๐Ÿ™

That person who wrote that described her as a lover of christ and Christian too. I know her family are Muslims but they should have accorded her a Christian burial at least. She lived that way.

27. Excessive rumination/thought is harmful to the body when it become somatic, lack of exercise, unhealthy diet which affect the gut microbiom and as we age our hormone mitigation during monopause leads to depression

28. Depression is realooo, I have been there. I prayed, begged God to deliver me. For three months I cried every morning and night. My family even abandoned me, saying that I am lazy. But thank God I am healing.

1. Thank God for you ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

29. In life, there are voices. Especially when one is going through a time of loss, heart break, joblessness, death of a loved one, terminal disease or any sad situation.

In such situations, voices will pop up, negative and positive voices. The negative is always loud, trying to drown the positive voice and we have to consciously shut up those negative voices for our own good, because if one doesn't do that, they in turn drown the voice of reason and push the person to, as seen in this case suicide, murder, theft, cheating, lying, maiming, back stabbing... the list is endless.`

No wonder it was written; "casting down imaginations and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of Christ and putting into subjection every though into obedience.."

It is an intentional effort that every individual needs to take to drown and eliminate negative voices.

Also, be with loved ones, don't stay alone or in the environment that triggers the anxiety or depression.

Most importantly PRAY and ask for the help of God. HE readily hears and answers our heart cries.
    It is well..

1. Best comment.

It was up to her to make conscious effort to receive help. Talk to ppl - they said she kept to herself. Seek professional help - she apparently had the wherewithal. Above all, pray - we keep chanting 'what God cannot do doesn't exist'. No be for mouth. Suicide is not fair to those who love u; moreso when u leave them with no idea of what the problem was. Suicide is never an option.

30. RIP......I hope she finds peace. I dont even know what to type. Lets just be sensitive in our approach to ppl that take dis route, they must have been goin through hell to feel dis is d only way out.