Ms Odume was discharged on Thursday, January 13, 2022, by Justice Bassey Nkanang after it was established that she acted in self-defense.
It could be recalled that Ms Odume was said to have killed Akwaowo in cold blood during an altercation between them on January 10, 2022, at the deceased’s Abak Road residence in Uyo.
However, police preliminary investigations, according to the Public Relations Officer, Odiko Macdon, revealed that the “deceased (Akwaowo) took the accused (Ms Odume) to his house and while in the house, Akwaowo Japhet in a bid to rape her, picked up a machete and attempted to kill her.
Odume said the accused dispossessed him of the knife and used same on him, which led to his death.”
It was gathered that the family of the deceased never showed up in the court at least once despite several calls to them to come for their son’s death.
It was further gathered that the deceased had several pending records of rape cases against him.
However, the Presiding judge, Justice Nkanang, in his ruling struck out the case and discharged the accused person following the Nolle Prosequi (formal notice of discontinuation of the prosecution without a conviction) entered by the Attorney General of the State, dated January 10, 2022.
The court noted that the action was pursuant to section 211 (1) (c) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Section 71 of the Criminal Code Procedure Law of Akwa Ibom.
from daily post..
What is it with Chidinmas and murders?
ReplyDeleteDid you even read the article?
DeleteYes I did, it was a murder case even though she was acquitted.
DeleteAnonymous at 22:56 Big Fat Olodo like you. It cannot be murder. It was not premeditated. It was self defence. Highest manslaughter. But the werey was a known rapist even his family rejected him in death. What fuckery are you talking about? The court did the right thing.
Delete06:44 please don't burst a vein, or is your name Chidinma?? Murder CASE but she was acquitted. Duh!!
DeleteWow!! It was January 10 2021 not 2022 while we were still serving
ReplyDeleteInasmuch as I really do not trust the justice system in Nigeria but if this guy really did have some pending rape charges against him then it's a no brainer that the lady did it in self defence
ReplyDeleteHmmm 🤔🤔💭💭
ReplyDeleteStella, when that guy died, the whole street celebrated, like they threw mad party. I heard he was a terror. He raped girls up and down. And the whole street and above were ready to defend the girl. So it is a well deserve justice. She is free to go. So happy for her
ReplyDelete"if the whole Street celebrated", how come I saw a video where the girl was stripped naked and beaten by some guys for trying to escape after she killed the guy.🤔
DeleteImagine 😡
DeleteWow!!
DeleteKidjo because even the devil get fans. Of course his fellow rapists would be there to attack her.
DeleteHis family didn't even show up in court, not one. What does that say about the dead rapist? He should rot in hell where he belongs.
Really
DeleteThe only thing is says is the family was paid off! No judge will easily let you go when there's no evidence of you defending yourself.
DeleteNobody celebrated, the mob almost killed the girl. Please get your facts right.
How strange it is that the family never showed up? Even a devil has family that will support him. They were paid off. Simple. Case settled out of court.
He had 'pending rape cases' Omo...
ReplyDeleteFirst time in Nigeria that a murder case is concluded within a year.
ReplyDeleteIn 2019 there was a similar case between a female corp member and an indigene in Abak. What's with Abak corp members and murder cases like this? God save them from bad people.
ReplyDeleteThe end of his evil
ReplyDeleteHe finally met his waterloo.
ReplyDeleteYes !
DeleteI still dont get how someone would indulge in the act of rape, What is the arousal in a lady struggling and screaming? He must have been Possessed with the demon of lust.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmm
ReplyDeletePunch online: The incident occured on the 10th of January, 2021 along Abak Road, Uyo
ReplyDeleteNot 2022 as reported above. It was last year, not this year.
Hmmmmmm
ReplyDeleteIt is well