Who do you think are Nollywood's new generation actresses?
The ones set to make big names like the Veterans Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Ekeinde, Rita Dominic, Monalisa Coker et al..
Who do you think are Nollywood's new generation actresses?
The ones set to make big names like the Veterans Genevieve Nnaji, Omotola Ekeinde, Rita Dominic, Monalisa Coker et al..
1. Bolaji Ogunmola - she gets it right every single time.
ReplyDelete2. Bimbo Ademoye - sometimes over acts, but she is good!
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
DeleteBimbo is not really a good actress to me. She has same personality in all the movies I have seen her in. She’s always that bubbly friend. I think that’s just her personality. She still hasn’t learned how to step out of herself and step into a different character and become it till people can’t separate ‘you’ from the character in the movie.
Delete14.01 shame on you for being tribalistic. I'm not yoruba for your information. And whilst you are it, what stopped you dropping your own comment? Rubbish
DeleteYvonne, have you seen her in Looking for Baami, and Backup wife? Those were very local roles but she delivered.
Delete3. Nancy Isime - is also quite versatile but I don't see her in so many movies, probably because she has other side gigs.
DeleteThank you Yvonne
DeleteThank God someone said it.
I totally love tope olowoniyan
Watched her for a long time and she has totally improved
She takes her craft so seriously.
Thank God she's getting the recognition she deserves.
She reminds me of a young Omotola
Push up, would anyone have beaten you if you said it? Why una dey fear.
DeletePhonetics will not allow them to bring out the real acting in them
ReplyDeletePhonetics overshadows the acting
DeleteThat's not true. Mention names if you are referring to someone specific, don't just lump them all together.
DeleteLinda Osifo
ReplyDeleteNancy Osime
Bimbo Ademoye
Beverly Osu
🤗🤗
DeleteOmowunmi Dada
ReplyDeleteBolaji Ogunmola
Jemima Osunde
Sharon Ooja
Felicity
Oversabi and copy copy.
ReplyDeleteGood afternoon Stella.. No new generation actress will ever be as big as Genevieve or Omotola... You know why?
ReplyDeleteNollywood has divided. We now have Asaba Nollywood and Lekki/Cinema Nollywood. Asaba Nollywood controls 70% of the movie market in Nigeria while Cinema Nollywood controls 30% of the movie market.
The only new generation Nollywood actress that has the star power currently is Destiny Etiko.. She's talented and very controversial. She literally owns the Africa Magic Epic channel on DSTV/Gotv... Africa Magic Epic is the most lucrative DSTV channel, it is everywhere. Asaba Nollywood movies might be below quality but they are the movies moving in the market.
Zubby Michael is the most popular Nollywood actor in Nigeria currently. No Cinema Nollywood actor comes close.
The Cinema Nollywood actresses are only popular in Lekki, that's where the popularity ends... Destiny Etiko beats all of them in star power.
Deatiny etiko, welcome ma. No be only beats all of them in star power, this is about acting ma not yansh.
DeleteYou are right. Zubby and Destiny will surely replace those ones. Cinema Actress and Actors are for some class of people. Asaba Nollywood Actors are more accessible to low income families, and is widely viewed than the former.
DeleteThis comment is the truth in a way.
Delete14:17 jealousy no go kill you. What 14:01 said is the truth. You think is by copying foreign actress in mannerism will bring out the best in them, let them continue with their fake accent.
DeleteBolaji Ogunmola and Somkhele for me are a delight to watch.
Lovelace
I have seen Destiny etiko in some ROK movies, she is good but there are better ones in my opinion.
DeleteLol this is true.
DeleteAfrica magic epic that just shows village village films. Very boring to me.
DeleteYou couldn't have said it any better. 🍾🥂
DeleteTrue that! Asaba controls the market. Once anything is out from Asaba stable, see people rush and by the time you count 1, 2, 3 ,,,,you will get about 5 hundred thousand views in few days from all a over the world.. It all tells me that people are tired of watching all these so called foreign accents and "sophisticated" actors. They find those village movies thrilling, especially Nigerians who live abroad and are home sick and people from other countries who are interested in learning other cultures. It's Destiny for me. Destiny and co are grilling it.
DeletePlease give me Destiny, Etiko and Uju okolie, anytime any day
ReplyDeleteSharon Ooja
ReplyDeleteJemima osunde
Somkele
Somkele and jemima are naturals
DeleteEven mis dsf is a good actress ...it comes effortless.
I can't say same for Sharon sha, she doesn't fit into every role
Efe,bimbo and the rest
ReplyDeleteAdesua
ReplyDeleteI dont even know any of them except on blogs..
ReplyDeleteEveryone is now an actress ma oke ma ngwere..umu dorty!
Hahahahaha you don't disappoint. Which one is umu dorty.
DeleteYou and Droyalty are just my favorite
If those are your favorites,Yori Yori I put it to you that you're not a Christian.
DeleteUmu dorty 😂😅😂😂😅
DeleteCan’t remember the last time I heard ds word.
Thank you Linda. I don't know most of these new actresses even on blogs. I only started recognizing Destiny etiko, chizzy Alichi last month July. Never knew them.
DeleteFrom the list I saw from that magazine, it's sha definitely not Beverly Osu
ReplyDeleteChioma Nwosu is my favorite. She delivers any role she plays, from mama to illiterate. She always looks her part or better
ReplyDeleteFrederick Leonard, Ninalowo, Kunle Remi and the likes, all they act and appear in are copy and paste movies lifted from abroad, edited or embellished and straight to our screens in the name of love dramas or films.
ReplyDeleteNatural or near natural scripts are laced with vernacular or out right comedy.
This is why all the Lekki actors have is their posh and Instagram.
Ninalowo is more versatile than the other two.
DeletePicture Perfect (both the movie and series) made me see Ninalowo's talent, very impressive.
DeleteEvan Okoro aka Doctor Maria. That lady is really good. I watched her movie yesterday "Ozioma the dirty girl" and I was blown away by her acting. She's really under rated.
ReplyDeleteAnother good actress is Bolaji Ogunmola. Babe is good
Bolaji is good mehn..
DeleteI may be the odd one out but I personally don't see with Omotola or Genevieve as fantastic actresses. Infact, some of these new generation actresses will beat them hands down.
ReplyDeleteI don't know which generation she falls into but Nse Ikpe-Etim is 👌
ReplyDeleteUche Nwaefuna
ReplyDeleteMary Lazarus
This post will have many actors commenting anons mode.
ReplyDeleteThink Destiny has already dropped hers up there 👆
DeleteChioma Nwosu, Bolaji ogunmola, bimbo ademoye's movies are always as interesting as Genevieve nnaji's
ReplyDeleteChioma Nwosu is very good.
DeleteThis post will have many actors commenting in anons mode.
ReplyDeleteAnd so?
DeleteUche nwaefuna both asabawood and Lagos/cinema section
ReplyDeleteSharon ooja.. she's good though features in mostly 'Lagoswood"
Nancy isime; very versatile actress, in local or polished roles, she's sure to deliver
Bolaji Ogunmola
They are alot of actresses now, we have them in asabawood, instragram
And Lagos
And unfortunately majority of the cinema actresses are only for a particular class of consumers and doesn't have a wide range like the asabawood so would be difficult having another Omotola or Genevieve cos of the disparity
Btw, I heard asabawood pays more than the cinema roles
That the cinema roles gives you the platform to slay and cash other from endorsement or other side gigs
Uche Nwaefuna..that babes acting is top notch. She is a screen goddess indeed.
ReplyDeleteI've seen Uche's movies, she is a pretty girl but I find her acting just okay, that screen appeal is lacking.
DeleteMary Lazarus. I honestly don't keep up with this new actresses because I don't watch movies like I used to.
ReplyDeleteWhat happened to Bola Ige? That lady used to overact but I liked her lips
Mum Glow
Mary Lazarus acts well but she's not a new actress; 'just features in new productions.
ReplyDeleteFor male actors it's in this order
ReplyDeleteYUL EDOCHE
FREDRICK LEONARD
KUNLE REMI
DEYEMI OKALAWON.
FOR FEMALES
JEMIMA OSUINDE
ABISOLA
SOMKELE IDAHLAMA
SHARON OJAH
the ones wen dey try again
Bimbo ademoye and others.
You're right on point with the male category.
DeleteDestiny Etiko
ReplyDeleteChinenye Uba
Nancy Isime
Bimbo Ademoye
Somkele
Beverly Nanya
Zubby Michael
Nina Olowo
Jidekene Achufusi
Stan Nze
There will never be another,
Genevieve
Omotola
Stephanie Okereke Linus
Rita Dominic
Ini Edo
Uche Jumbo in Nollywood. They'd forever be the Nollywood we all know and talk about and the irreplaceable icons of the industry.
There will never be another of any individual including yourself, no one is a god so please stop with this constant idolatry.
DeleteStan Nze 👌
DeleteChinenye Nnebe and Sonia Nnebe
ReplyDeleteRita Dom
ReplyDeleteVictoria inyama
Fibresima
Rita Nzelu
Sandra Achums
Nzeribe
Omotola
Lilian Bach
These ladies delivered like maaaaad especially Nzelu n Inyama,shege jagwa.
The few I know if the new generation,
Destiny Etiko
Osifo
Anita Joseph
Gina Ibeh
Sharon Ooja
Bisola
Linda Ibrahim
Gina Daniels
These ones are trying. They try to deliver but shaaaaaaaaa still de am ☺️.
Ibinabo fibresima,lilian bach......huh??
DeleteJokes.
I follow shock, Lilian bach good Actress? Are we selling soap here
DeleteRachael Okonkwo and Bisola Aiyeola, how did I forget these two amazing acts.
ReplyDeleteQueen Nwokoye