The former minister of finance beat her last standing rival, Yoo Myung Hee, by a wide margin. She got the support of over 100 member states and her long-standing career in trade elevated her chances.
Sources from the European Union dropped the news but the WTO will officially announce her new status later in the day.
Congratulations to our powerful woman
ReplyDeleteCongratulations to you Ma.
DeleteSuper proud of you 💪
She try.
ReplyDeleteYassss
DeleteRelevant and useful woman
The true slay queen not these self acclaimed charlatans all over the place
Congratulations! I'm super proud of this woman
ReplyDeleteCongrats ma'am. More wins!
DeleteCongratulations!!!! My role model. This is the kind of grounds I want to break. These are the kind of people the youths should emulate.
ReplyDeleteThank you
Delete@Rosie
DeleteAre you following her on social media?
Say that truth.
Hey dear, I don't need to follow her on social media for her to be my role model.
DeleteCongratulations ma. This is the face of feminism. Not those looking for a rich man to marry to escape poverty.
ReplyDeleteUna don come
DeleteYou're so right anon
DeleteWow, congratulations okonjo iweala, 👍👍👍👍
ReplyDeleteSee as I dey happy 💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃
ReplyDeleteYou no happy reach me, i even put am for prayer. We Nigerians will do great things all over the world and Nigeria will be great again.
DeleteCongrats !goals!
ReplyDeleteYayyyyy, big congratulations to her.
ReplyDeleteWhy am I having goosebumps reading this like I know her personally. Congratulations mama you deserve it.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Ngoo baby
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Ma'am, you deserve it. May your appointment bring you Grace , favour and strength before men and God.
ReplyDeleteAmen.
DeleteI feel so proud of her like I know her personally.
Congratulations Prof, more wins madam . I tap into this one in Jesus name.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Ma'am. This is the result you get when you push competent people and not like the so called "judge" they pushed that came last in the exam in Hague. And they were not ashamed the "judge" disgraced them. And like the so called minister of justice that was imposed on us that read Islamic studies. That one can not even travel out of Nigeria for conference or seminar, always sending representatives. This country sef.
ReplyDelete@ Baltika! My God you're such an ethnic and religious bigot, congratulate the woman and move on!
Delete@Baltika said the plain truth. We are in a country where mediocrity is the order of the day
DeleteAnon 14.57, God will punish you for insulting Baltika for saying the truth! If we return to meritocracy, the North would not smell any appointment/position in this country and you know it!
DeleteI am patiently waiting in the comments for you to come and prove me wrong.
Just so you know, I don't shy away from intelligent engagement so you can start the comparison/competition with you and I...
Educationally backward on paper, backwards in real life
DeleteEnough said
Hearty congratulations to you ma'am
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Mama.
ReplyDeleteGod answered my prayer!!!!! Congrats ma!
ReplyDeleteCongrats to her. Oya buhari put it as your achievement in October
ReplyDeleteHahahahahahaha...Lol
DeleteFinally!!! Congratulations ma
ReplyDeleteCongratulations!!!!!!!!
ReplyDeleteWoooooow this is good .
Congrat to her,such a strong woman..someone said this woman is an Igbo woman.i do not think so.. i think she is a Deltan.
ReplyDeleteShe is Delta (Igbo), married to Abia.
DeleteUgwashi kwu
DeleteAnioma
Congratulations ma’am
Congrats to you, Prof.
ReplyDeleteYassssssd!!!! My husband and I were still talking about this yesterday.
ReplyDeleteGod you are wonderful.wow am super proud of you ma
ReplyDeletecongratulations ma
ReplyDeleteWow!! I'm so happy for her
ReplyDeleteCongratulations
Y'all don't understand how much of a big deal this is to me, i'm literally jumping and dancing rn. Congrats, NOI. This is a HUGE win!
ReplyDeleteYES!!! You guys have no idea how excited I am with this great news!
ReplyDeleteLike, I've been following this nomination up like forever. I am very happy for Ms. Ngọzi Iweala.
I am grateful for African Union, European Union and the Carribbean countries for standing by her. The US were on the side of the South Korean woman, but, majority wins the vote and Ngọzi is the better choice and this is a well deserved win.
Congratulations to us all
Yes oo, you forgot to add China. According to EU sources, they lobbied China to back her up and they did tilting the votes in her favour. Soo happy for her. It is a big win for her and us.
DeleteExactly. That the United States supported Lee was enough to turn the tide despite the fact Okonjo Iweala clearly was more qualified.
DeleteA clear representation of a role model...congrats ma'am
Ms A, you now see what I meant when I said Buhari was just using that tweet to chase clout? Because he was the least person she needed on her side...
DeleteMama to the world!!!! This woman is too much. Chai. Congratulations Prof. You're the real face of feminism. I love this woman eh
ReplyDeleteWow this just left me in tears.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations ma..
Super proud of this, good news
ReplyDeleteCongratulations 🍾
ReplyDeleteTop notch. Congratulations once again to you dear NOI the great. At times i wonder how her children feels or what goes through their heads knowing that this extraordinary human is their mother, Most be a beautiful feeling.
ReplyDeleteShe's an entire asset to the world at large.
They'll feel proud and happy, but the downside is they may not attain her heights and it may make them feel they are 'failures' and lead to self consciousness. Their mother's name will always overshadow theirs.
DeleteJust my humble opinion 🤷♀️
Shove it up your ass.. The kids will be alright being exactly what they were predestined to be whether enough to be compared to their mum or not. Worry about yourself squaredly.
DeleteHer son Uzo wrote the book beast of no nation that was made into a movie. You can't have a mom like NOI and be dulling
DeleteTwins squared, her kids are doing very well in their respective fields
Delete@Twin Squared, I understand your point. Most of this extremely great people always have this funny way of overshadowing their children but NIO's kids are trying. By and by, They'd get to fill up their mother's giant shoe.
Delete@Anon15:56, Please learn to be calming down as everything isn't fight, quarrel or insults. Calm your aggressive vains down will you?!
*Must.
DeleteChisom baaby, the GODDESS has done it again💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃...
DeleteYes oo my darling baby girl, @ Mama mia. The walking goddess has yet again, done it so effortlessly. I just love how she intelligently completely ignored the attention seeking old man that wanted to drag her glorious name to the mud. She's five times a goddess.
DeleteCongratulations woman of Grace
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Prof! Great woman, great character. Tested, Tried and True! 🎖️🍾🥂💃
ReplyDeleteThis here is the role model every African girl-child should aspire to become and surpass❗👩🎓💪✔️
Wow... Congratulations ma!! Well deserved... I am so proud of you.
ReplyDeleteThis news made my day!
ReplyDeleteCongratulations and l hope it will reflect on her country's image.
ReplyDeleteGreat News.. Congratulations Ma.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations ma'am, whom God has bless no man can course.
ReplyDeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteI'm super proud of this woman.
ReplyDeleteBig congratulations to you ma.
Wow... A very big congratulations Ma'am
ReplyDeleteCongratulations ma
ReplyDeleteAbeg,put her face on two thousand naira note.. she's a super woman.. congratulations ma'am
ReplyDeleteWow !!! Congrats
ReplyDeleteCongratulations mama. Well deserved
ReplyDelete🤔🤔You see them; hypocrites. That was how you ladies were hailing Oby Ezekwesili and she believed you all and vied for presidency. You all abandoned her and
ReplyDeletevoted for Buhari. Are you not all reaping the fruits of your labor now? 😜😜😜😜😜😜
Hahaha lol @anon 16:00 your papa hahaha
DeleteOmg this is such a huge win for women all over. Ever since it was narrowed own to the two of them, I've been on edge cos i wanted her to win so bad. Now I am beyond delayed! Congrats NOI baayi
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Ma'am on your appointment as the Director General of the World Trade Organization.
ReplyDeleteThrough you, we beam Nigeria to the world. We celebrate your resilience and integrity.
Congratulations ma'am, this news made my day,e sweet my Belle .
ReplyDeletePhenomenal woman 😍😍👌 with her unique gele style
Congratulations Ma'am on your new appointment.
ReplyDeleteHa congratulation ma. U r truly blessing and a sort of inspiration to us being a woman
ReplyDeleteCongratulations Ma'am
ReplyDeleteI wish you all the best
Congratulations NOI.. It's a well deserved one.
ReplyDeleteA big congratulations to you ma'am.am so happy hearing this news
ReplyDeleteCongratulations ma.
ReplyDeleteThe election is in November. She hasn't won ooooo
ReplyDeleteI am so happy reading this, congratulations to her. More wins to her and all women too.
ReplyDeleteShe is not yet, election is in November
ReplyDeleteCongratulations ma. Keep breaking limits... We are super proud of you...
ReplyDeleteOur very own super Momma ...
Congratulations ma'am